Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

4GB, 30GB, 160GB...
abc_123
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:39 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by abc_123 »

I downloaded the free version of Fairuse and tried to use it with the movie Slap shot. The process completed but when I tried to view the movie in WMP 11 all I got was a green screen with sound. Any suggestions. Thanks!!
Monicab1979
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by Monicab1979 »

Have you tried to put the one completed file on your archos and view it? I don't have an AVI viewer, so i can only view them on my archos. But remember to only copy over the ONE AVI file. Let me know if that works.
abc_123
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:39 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by abc_123 »

Guess I'm a real video newbie. It worked perfectly. Thanks for the help. I'm sure I'll be spending a lot of time on this board to learn the ropes.
Monicab1979
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by Monicab1979 »

Oh dont sweat it. When i got my archos a year ago, i spent HOURS AND HOURS AND HOURS on here. We all became a family....its nice to have people around who can help.
lazydaisy
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:14 am

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by lazydaisy »

Thanks for this programme. It's brilliant. I've been recording directly on the 405 but all the dvd's come up at about 1gb so to be able to record them at 500mb is great - so easy and hardly any difference in quality. Only noticeable when playing back to a 32" screen! So back to recording and getting twice as many dvd's onto the 16gb card as before! :lol:
M120
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:32 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by M120 »

What can I say - this post is superb! I had already downloaded FUW though hadn't got to grips with it at all.... until I read the 'Tour for Dummies'! I have now successfully converted some of my DVD's with fantastic results!

THANK YOU!

ps, Just to add - I'm an Archos/forum newbie so hello everyone!
ebby
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:34 am

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by ebby »

works good for me on most dvds but i tried the dark night and it gets stuck at 50% while parsing the IFO files. Is it some new protection or something?
carheex316
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by carheex316 »

I've tried this on 2 DVDs and my archos won't play either. I've followed the instructions exactly as above but created an x264 at 900mb. any suggestions as to why it won't work.I have all available plug ins....
Monicab1979
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by Monicab1979 »

Hey guys. Lots of movies wont work on FUW. 21 was my first one that didnt work. (FUW doesn't remove all of the copyright) If you have all available plug ins then try downloading this program. Its MUCH quicker, but it doesnt compress your files. I have not had a problem converting any DVD's on this program as of yet. FUW is a good program if you don't have the plug in, and want smaller files. DVD Fab 5 works greats if you have the plug in.

http://www.dvdfab.com/free.htm
hucifer
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like Me

Post by hucifer »

Ok. I've followed the post. Great job explaining I might add. However, I have yet to be able to make it work. The first time I tried it everything was going just fine, when my damn laptop overheated and shutdown. Nothing to do with anything other than bad design on HP's part. Anyway, I wwent back to continue the project, and all of a sudden, I get the error message "The DVD could not be Converted >>>>Could Not Load Codec Settings". So I went to get the DVD43 decrypter as someone said earlier. That didn't work. I'm using Vista, so I tried running DVD43 in compatibility mode that didn't work. I shut everything down last night and came back this morning and tried again without the DVD43 and again same problem.
Any thoughts out there??
mmgala
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: Converting via FairUse Wizard: A Tour for Dummies Like

Post by mmgala »

Hi

i hope that some one is still active in this thread as i am just starting up using the fair use wizzard.

i´m ripping a episode dvd (jake and the pirates) for my son, and i would like it to rip in one file (with all the episodes), is this possible. as for now it is ripping and converting the files individualy, which is not in my interest.

can some one please help
Post Reply

Return to “605 WiFi”