Problem finding Archos HDD cylinder size (Ubuntu 12.04)

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
itm
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:12 pm

Problem finding Archos HDD cylinder size (Ubuntu 12.04)

Post by itm »

I have an Archos 5 IMT (Gen6) with patched firmware v1.6.54 and a 750Gb HDD upgrade. I want to get access to the plugins, so am following the instructions for applying the GF hack. The problem is that my fdisk output doesn't show the cylinder size (see below), so I can't locate the hidden partition.

Can anyone suggest a way around this?

Code: Select all

Disk /dev/sda: 8589 MB, 8589934592 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1044 cylinders, total 16777216 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000eabdd

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048    12582911     6290432   83  Linux
/dev/sda2        12584958    16775167     2095105    5  Extended
/dev/sda5        12584960    16775167     2095104   82  Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 750.2 GB, 750156374016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders, total 1465149168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x73ff41cc

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1              63  1463553629   731776783+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Problem finding Archos HDD cylinder size (Ubuntu 12.04)

Post by Junior »

Well, you need the original hard drive to make this work anyway. Do you still have it?
itm
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Problem finding Archos HDD cylinder size (Ubuntu 12.04)

Post by itm »

Junior wrote:Well, you need the original hard drive to make this work anyway. Do you still have it?
I've been unable to locate the original drive. What's the reason for needing this?
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”