How do I get jellybean on it without or with root?

8" 4:3 1024x768 Rockchip RK3066 sub-$149
Post Reply
ultma
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 10:36 am

How do I get jellybean on it without or with root?

Post by ultma »

It has been ages, android 4.04 ice cream sandwich is out of date. Jelly bean is in date now 4.1 and 4.2. How do I get it? Even Key Lime pie android 5 is about to come out. How do I get jellybean without rooting my Archos 80 cobalt?
Last edited by ultma on Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
the_leander
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:41 am

Re: How do I get jellybean on it without root?

Post by the_leander »

ultma wrote:It has been ages, android 4.04 ice cream sandwich is out of date. Jelly bean is in date now 4.1 and 4.2. How do I get it? Even Key Lime pie android 5 is about to come out. How do I get jellybean without rooting my Archos 80 cobalt?
Unless Archos release an updated firmware, you're stuck at 4.0.4. That being said, given the experience of many on here of the train wreck that was the G9, I would strongly urge you to leave it alone unless you have a specific issue that JB would fix given Archos track record with iffy firmwares. Other than that, root is likely the only other alternative open to you.

Sorry.
ultma
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 10:36 am

Re: How do I get jellybean on it without root?

Post by ultma »

But the problem is that there were no compatible jb ROMs that I know of. Not even cynagen
the_leander
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:41 am

Re: How do I get jellybean on it without or with root?

Post by the_leander »

ultma wrote:But the problem is that there were no compatible jb ROMs that I know of. Not even cynagen
Then the answer to your original question is "you don't".

If your device is working and stable I'd just be happy with it - it's more than many of Archos customer base can say.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos Cobalt”