I want to root my A32

Open Development of Android, dual-booting other Linux OS and other hacks
Post Reply
n1nj4ofshr3d
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am

I want to root my A32

Post by n1nj4ofshr3d »

I am getting pretty mad at my baby, because it is extremely slow nowadays and is so limited in terms of the Android Market. I constantly run out of app space, things that start at boot are unnecessary, and I would like to further customize my Android experience.
Can rooting do these actions:
1. Overclock to over 1Ghz
2. Control what starts at boot
3. Change fingerprint (or whatever it's called) to an Android device for more compatibility
4. Change the partition for apps space
5. Other ways to use more RAM than what is provided (probably a pipe dream)

Also, do I need a new ROM or is it direct, or can I stick with my stock ROM?
I know this is a lot to ask, but this needs some more life.
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by Harfainx »

1-4 yes, 5 no.

You can use a rooted stock ROM, you don't have to use a custom one.
aaronmy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:46 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by aaronmy »

n1nj4ofshr3d wrote:I am getting pretty mad at my baby, because it is extremely slow nowadays and is so limited in terms of the Android Market. I constantly run out of app space, things that start at boot are unnecessary, and I would like to further customize my Android experience.
Can rooting do these actions:
1. Overclock to over 1GHz
(a.)Yes with SetCPU on a stock, or UrukDroid customized kernels (The max is 1GHz but some people have stable devices with 1.2GHz kernels, (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1205134).
2. Control what starts at boot
(b.)yes
3. Change fingerprint (or whatever it's called) to an Android device for more compatibility
(c.)yes
4. Change the partition for apps space
(d.)Yes with UrukDroid, you have a choice of 512mb, 1gb, and 1.5gb.
or with Harfainx's stock rom way. (viewtopic.php?f=76&t=54637)
5. Other ways to use more RAM than what is provided (probably a pipe dream)
(e.)UrukDroid increases the free memory space, or memory swap but prefer you not to unless you have an sd card that you don't need. Memory Swap uses the external memory as virtual memory but since sd cards aren't built for read and writing like ram does it can kill your external memory device faster. Or with stock rom root you can use Swapper 2.

Also, do I need a new ROM or is it direct, or can I stick with my stock ROM?
(f.)Yes you can use a stock rom. I heard that Archangel still works after a few tries (which doesn't need SDE), but Archos gave a Dual-Boot support for Archos Gen-8 Devices. This is with SDE (http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... us&lang=en) that can be used to install stock Rom root (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=930197). Also UrukDroid. (http://code.google.com/p/urukdroid/).
BUT TO LET YOU KNOW ONCE SDE IS INSTALLED IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY SO IF YOUR DEVICE BREAKS YOU WON'T BE GETTING A REPLACEMENT.
I know this is a lot to ask, but this needs some more life.
(g.)Juice Defender is the best I've known.

To find more info on urukdroid or stock root is here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=930197
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=895599
n1nj4ofshr3d
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by n1nj4ofshr3d »

Another question, may sound dumb:
Can the resistive touchscreen be turned to multi-touch?
Is the multiple touching of the screen hardware or software?

[EDIT]: I didn't want to use another reply for this:
I've decided to use UrukDroid, and I need help finding the latest version and kernel and other files.
I'm driving myself crazy figuring out what to do. I had this aggravation when I was installing Linux on my Dingoo A320.
Also, I don't know where to start. I'm not very smart with Android hacking :x
n1nj4ofshr3d
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by n1nj4ofshr3d »

Is there a full-blown tutorial for installing UrukDroid somewhere?
If anyone can tell me how to do this, that would be great.
MarcusMarcus
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 973
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by MarcusMarcus »

Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0
n1nj4ofshr3d
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by n1nj4ofshr3d »

I just installed UrukDroid, and now I'm having a pretty bad issue.
Whenever the multimedia scan finishes, everything goes insane and the screen goes black except the notification bar and I have to reboot. What happened?
n1nj4ofshr3d
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:24 am

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by n1nj4ofshr3d »

I've finally got UrukDroid up, but I don't like it. There are so little options that can be changed, and they are useless to me. The only one is that with Uruk, my 32 is a lot faster, but that's only because of the overclock from an app. The extra app memory is a little much, and basically split my storage space in half.
So, I'm just going to stock root.
my02vr6
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am

Re: I want to root my A32

Post by my02vr6 »

n1nj4ofshr3d wrote:Another question, may sound dumb:
Can the resistive touchscreen be turned to multi-touch?
Is the multiple touching of the screen hardware or software?

No.
Hardware.
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Hacking and Open Development”