Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Open Development of Android, dual-booting other Linux OS and other hacks
Post Reply
L0stS0ul
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:41 pm

Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by L0stS0ul »

If you have a rooted device with the SDE method so you can change system files you can "fix" the camera by changing a boot parameter

In the init file for your device you can change this line

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped yes

to

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped no

and then restart and it should no longer be flipped

The init files are all in the root / directory and are named
init.A101IT.rc, init.A70H.rc, init.A70S.rc, etc

You only need to change the config file for your device.
FZelle
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by FZelle »

Or you add

ro.board.camera_hflipped=yes

Into /system/build.prop
NickD
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:39 am

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by NickD »

Nice find! Although BarcodeScanner 3.53 also seems to work now with front-faced cameras.
jakkrith
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:32 am

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by jakkrith »

Thank you very much to all above post for sharing.
ARCHOS101-16GB/16GB MicroSD-2.3.20
fuzzer
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:57 pm

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by fuzzer »

There is a setting in the latest version of Barcode Scanner that will auto reverse....

If you use this barcode scanner:

http://www.appbrain.com/app/barcode-sca ... nt.android

you can reverse the "camera image" and it does scan....
Last edited by fuzzer on Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
liutszho
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by liutszho »

Which camera app did you use? I can only find Shop Saavy but it does not have flip image:

EDIT: found it in appslib, but even with flip image turned on, the image isnt' flipped and I can't scan anything.
EVPowers
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Location: Madison, WI. USA

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by EVPowers »

L0stS0ul wrote:If you have a rooted device with the SDE method so you can change system files you can "fix" the camera by changing a boot parameter

In the init file for your device you can change this line

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped yes

to

setprop ro.board.camera_hflipped no

and then restart and it should no longer be flipped

The init files are all in the root / directory and are named
init.A101IT.rc, init.A70H.rc, init.A70S.rc, etc

You only need to change the config file for your device.
I apologize in advance if this seems like something obvious but...
How exactly do you view the init file? Any links to a quick "how to" would be appreciated.

I booted up my Archos in developer mode, connected it to my computer with the USB cable. (Choosing the option to mount it.)
I expected to see the init.A101IT.rc file at the root directory when I used my Windows file explorer to look at the Archos's drive, but although I see other things (like the rootfs.img.gz), I do not see the init file.

I tried searching the forum for a dummies guide for accessing the init file and didn't come across anything.

Thanks in advance for the help.
FZelle
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by FZelle »

What you see from the computer is not the root of the device.

You need a fileexplorer that has root privilegs like rootexplorer.
EVPowers
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Location: Madison, WI. USA

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by EVPowers »

FZelle wrote:What you see from the computer is not the root of the device.

You need a fileexplorer that has root privilegs like rootexplorer.
I downloaded rootexplorer to my tablet.
Rebooted using SDE then launched rootexplorer to browse the root directory.
I see..
ini.golfish.rc
init.rc
I still don't see a file named init.A101IT.rc ?

Could it located somewhere else on the tablet? (I have a 101 internet tablet.)

edit: the two init files I found (noted above) are readable in my text editor.
There is another file in the root directory named "init" but that one is not readable in a text editor. It is 109.29k
EVPowers
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:15 am
Location: Madison, WI. USA

Re: Fix reversed camera so barcode apps work

Post by EVPowers »

Found the file.

etc/init/init.A101IT.rc
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Hacking and Open Development”