1st solution for the market on Froyo

General Gen8 Archos Tablet discussions
czesiu
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by czesiu »

mothy wrote:
czesiu wrote:
mothy wrote:

do you already have the sdk installed?

If so go to your sdk folder\usb driver folder and open that file in notepad.


I did.
I have Android Composite ADB Interface in device manager but nothing is displayed after 'adb devices'


Well we are in the same boat then, I guess Ill wait for the apk complied for me.


hah, why did you write that it works ?! :D
voidunknown
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by voidunknown »

Worked perfectly for me. It's actually pretty easy to do.

Just installed Flash 10.1 from the market, now I'm on my way to complete android bliss.
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

voidunknown wrote:Worked perfectly for me. It's actually pretty easy to do.

Just installed Flash 10.1 from the market, now I'm on my way to complete android bliss.


Did this work on Windows or Linux/iOS, etc?
czesiu
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by czesiu »

nz wrote:or on Windows:

Code: Select all

echo 0x0e79 >> "%USERPROFILE%\.android\adb_usb.ini"



viewtopic.php?p=251294#p251294
Last edited by czesiu on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
voidunknown
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by voidunknown »

Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit

I used the Archos 5 IT drivers with no modification, as suggested in the first post.
oomatter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:33 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by oomatter »

ADB wasn't working for me so I just got the z4root app from xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953 and temp rooted my A70.

Then I used root explorer to copy all the apks from the google apps into the /data/test/froyo/system/app
folder.

I rebooted and everything seems to be working fine. No computer needed. I'm downloading an app off the market as I type this.

Ok, not perfect, little bit of force closing, but the app installed fine.

Downloading flash now :)
czesiu
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by czesiu »

another problem - I have FCs from market all the time...
any ideas?
elmerohueso
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by elmerohueso »

jondaviskorn wrote:seems like alot of **** to do will this be the only way of doing it or will someone come up with a simpler way

Putting the Google Apps on the Archos is a hack. It is not something supported by Archos. By definition, hacking is not meant to be easy, but the non-programmers/hackers think that it is because the programmers/hackers provide simpler ways for others to do it (eg. providing an APK that does all the work). So yeah, it is a lot of work, and someone will have to do all that work.
If you want an easier way to do it you can either 1) wait patiently to reap the rewards of someone else's hard work, or 2) learn programming for the Android and help create an easier way (which others will of course benefit from).

Sorry to go off, and this isn't just directed at you, but I deal with people all day who just want to hit an Easy button to get things done.
SFO
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by SFO »

Anybody has a mirror for market.rar files? Can't download ffrom dl.free.fr
czesiu
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by czesiu »

czesiu wrote:another problem - I have FCs from market all the time...
any ideas?


FC after each installation from the market to be precise :(
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

The market.rar download contains the 2.1 gApps it looks. This is why the Market is FC'ing. If you look at the dates of those files, they're like 2008. Maybe it's just a glitch or maybe the person who made these has a computer with a bad time (=.. i dunno
asphxia
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by asphxia »

fixed.
Last edited by asphxia on Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
digibucc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:40 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by digibucc »

kenyu73 wrote:The market.rar download contains the 2.1 gApps it looks. This is why the Market is FC'ing. If you look at the dates of those files, they're like 2008. Maybe it's just a glitch or maybe the person who made these has a computer with a bad time (=.. i dunno

i used method 2, not the one in this thread - but i just copied my vending.apk out of my 2.2 evo into my A70, now it works with froyo no crashes.
pcm2a
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:54 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by pcm2a »

Can you upload the apk file that we need to stop the crashes?
accountessa
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:31 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by accountessa »

I used digibucc's suggestion (vending). Works great...thank you!
digibucc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:40 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by digibucc »

pcm2a wrote:Can you upload the apk file that we need to stop the crashes?


digibucc wrote:the market force closes because it is actually the eclair version hacked for froyo, replacing the vending.apk with a froyo version fixes the crashes.

i copied the vending.apk out of my 2.2 Evo and followed the directions again, this time only copying that specific apk after deleting the existing one. now browsing downloading installing from the market no crashes, so a new vending.apk is your solution.

well whaddaya know , it seems some nice fella uploaded the proper vending.apk here:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7d7j8z

definitely wasn't me, just replace the one from your existing "market" folder. it should be 900+kb(new) vs 600+kb(old)


the quote was from the other thread.

@accountessa

no problem! I am just happy i actually figured out something useful for everyone!
Sylph
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:33 am

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by Sylph »

Thanks for the market.rar and vending file. It was kinda funny how only the outdated adb.exe from archos works with the device, and i have to use only the adb.exe. Having the other files from the archos adb site on the adb folder actually makes it not work. I also used the device driver from android sdk, using the tips someone mentioned (Adding the 5-6 lines for archos).

The bat file is silly though, all that lines can be cut to one line "for /r %%i in (*.apk) do adb push %%i /data/test/froyo/system/app"
Gerke
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by Gerke »

oomatter wrote:ADB wasn't working for me so I just got the z4root app from xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953 and temp rooted my A70.

Then I used root explorer to copy all the apks from the google apps into the /data/test/froyo/system/app
folder.

I rebooted and everything seems to be working fine. No computer needed. I'm downloading an app off the market as I type this.

Ok, not perfect, little bit of force closing, but the app installed fine.

Downloading flash now :)


You are fantastic, it now works, and with the earlier mentioned vending.apk, it now is stable, no crashes anymore =D> \:D/
june99
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:19 am

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Post by june99 »

logichoops wrote:im using Windows 7 64 bit and cant get the driver to work, my PC sees the device but drivers wont install
Try to install them again or to update them:
I found this page via Google, it's a french page but still understandable :)
www.pilotes-driver.fr
Good luck and CU 8)
Post Reply

Return to “General Archos Gen8: Archos 28, 32, 43, 70 and 101 Internet Tablets”