AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Worlds cheapest 1.8" color 8GB MicroSD Mp3 player: $48 on Amazon.com
Post Reply
coolstrutter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm

AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by coolstrutter »

I have the Archos 2 Vision but i cannot convert any of the video's that i have on my laptop with the AVIConverter 5.1.6 software which was included with the player that you HAVE to use to convert your video files.
Everytime i try to convert anything the "Status Bar" just says "Ready" all the time plus the "Progress Bar" remains empty.....what am i missing does anyone know please ?
saneonymous
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: Canada

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by saneonymous »

Sometimes the converter will not update the status until it is finished with compression. I hope they fix this regrettable bug in the next version. All I can say is that you should be patient - a 22 minute, 720x1280, mp4 file will take over half an hour to convert on a 2.4GHz PC with 1GB of RAM.
A2V A3V
coolstrutter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by coolstrutter »

saneonymous wrote:Sometimes the converter will not update the status until it is finished with compression. I hope they fix this regrettable bug in the next version. All I can say is that you should be patient - a 22 minute, 720x1280, mp4 file will take over half an hour to convert on a 2.4GHz PC with 1GB of RAM.
Many thanks for your reply saneonymous i will give it another go while having my fingers crossed.
coolstrutter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by coolstrutter »

Well alas still no luck i have had the converter running now for almost 2 hours for a 9 second video and still nothing.*pulls hair out while weeping*
saneonymous
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: Canada

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by saneonymous »

That's too bad. What OS are you using? It works okay in XP.

It's probably time to contact Archos tech support.
A2V A3V
LuciferTengu
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: California

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by LuciferTengu »

Just try a different converter, there's quite a few out there. The one Archos includes, I imagine has a pretty narrow scope of what it will be able to convert.
-LT
coolstrutter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by coolstrutter »

Thanks for the help peeps...It states that you are "supposed" to use the converter that was includded with the player but i have tried another converter which worked fine until it was transferred onto the Archos 2 Vision as it wouldn't play it just said "unsupported file."
saneonymous
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: Canada

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by saneonymous »

You can't just use any converter software, or you'll get an error. You need a converter that has .avi output and allows you to control most of the settings, like older versions of HandBrake. VideoHelp.com has a number of converters for you to try.

The app that comes with the 2 Vision makes the avi file: 18 fps, mirror-flipped, rotated 90' ccw, sets the bitrate @600kbps, 12 bit sample size, FFDS compression, with an audio bit rate of 64kpbs. You will also need to resize for the 220x176px screen, preferably preserving the original aspect ratio - bring a calculator.

These are the settings you need to replicate in order to convert videos for use with your Archos 2 Vision.
A2V A3V
CHim
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by CHim »

I have compared different converters and I recommend MelodyCan.
It converts music and movies, and also can remove drm protection. The converter is easy to install and use.
saneonymous
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: Canada

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by saneonymous »

MelodyCan doesn't work for Archos 2 Vision uesrs. Don't waste your time, folks. You need a converter with more control.
A2V A3V
TL_
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:43 am

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by TL_ »

I am having the EXACT same problem. Very frustrating. I downloaded a short video clip to 'test the waters' but the converter just sits and does nothing, even after an hour (for a 3 minute video clip).

The video clip came from iTunes, TV show webisode. Where should I be finding TV shows, songs and other video? Is this the problem?

T
mfdc1969
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:42 am

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by mfdc1969 »

For any of you running Linux use this procedure which I found on this web site:

http://www.linuxformat.co.uk/forums/vie ... hp?p=83649

If you want to use Linux to re-scale video for the above player, save the following string into a text file (say called archos_video) and give it executable permissions:
Code:

mencoder -noodml "$1" -of avi -o "$2" -ofps 18 -vf-add scale=220:176, -vf-add expand=220:176:-1:-1:1,rotate=2,flip -srate 44100 -ovc xvid -xvidencopts bitrate=550:max_bframes=0:quant_type=h263:me_quality=0 -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=64

Then execute the script using:
Code:

./archos_video original_video_filename rescaled_video.avi

It's not Windows but it sure works!
coolstrutter
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by coolstrutter »

I eventually sent mine back not because i couldn't get the video converter to work i returned it to QVC because the player completely died on me but thanks for all the peeps that tried to help.
evan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:06 am

Re: AVI Converter Just Does NOTHING...

Post by evan »

You can try other video converter.like bvcsoft archos video converter.very good.also support volume normalizer. :badgrin:
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 2”