Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
cryptyk
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm

Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by cryptyk »

I documented everything I did to get Angstrom building for the A5, from scratch. It doesn't really explain what each step does, but it's a step-by-step you can follow if you want to get up to speed quickly. It uses a virtual machine running Ubuntu, so it should be easy to follow regardless of which OS you're running on your computer.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/387849/wiki.html
Knorreworst
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by Knorreworst »

THANK YOU!!!

Great job, this helps us significantly :D
barragan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:36 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by barragan »

HI WHAT IS THIS? WHAT WILL IT DO AN MY ARCHOS 5?DO I HAVE TO DOWNLOAD IT ?
kooga1
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by kooga1 »

Hello, thanks for the step by step.
Sorry for my bad english.

I've errors

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
bash: /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf: Permission denied
and

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ cd ${OETREE}
[email protected]:~/OE$ source source-me.txt
bash: source-me.txt: No such file or directory
[email protected]:~/OE$ cd ${OETREE}/openembedded 
[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ bitbake base-image ; bitbake console-image x11-image 
/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/bb/COW.py:29: DeprecationWarning: the sets module is deprecated
  import types, sets
ERROR: Please set the 'PERSISTENT_DIR' or 'CACHE' variable.
/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/bb/COW.py:29: DeprecationWarning: the sets module is deprecated
  import types, sets
ERROR: Please set the 'PERSISTENT_DIR' or 'CACHE' variable.
thanks for your help
cryptyk
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by cryptyk »

kooga1 wrote:Hello, thanks for the step by step.
Sorry for my bad english.

I've errors

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
bash: /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf: Permission denied
This should be

Code: Select all

sudo echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
kooga1 wrote: and

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ cd ${OETREE}
[email protected]:~/OE$ source source-me.txt
bash: source-me.txt: No such file or directory
[email protected]:~/OE$ cd ${OETREE}/openembedded 
[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ bitbake base-image ; bitbake console-image x11-image 
/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/bb/COW.py:29: DeprecationWarning: the sets module is deprecated
  import types, sets
ERROR: Please set the 'PERSISTENT_DIR' or 'CACHE' variable.
/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/bb/COW.py:29: DeprecationWarning: the sets module is deprecated
  import types, sets
ERROR: Please set the 'PERSISTENT_DIR' or 'CACHE' variable.
thanks for your help
Did you download the source-me.txt file? It's the wget command in the second code-box of Step 2 of the tutorial.
kooga1
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by kooga1 »

cryptyk wrote:This should be


Code:
sudo echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
I've test and it's the same errors

Yes source-me.txt is download.
kooga1
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by kooga1 »

for the source-me.txt errors, it's the last

Code: Select all

cd ${OETREE}
who's wrong
cryptyk
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by cryptyk »

I bet I know what happened. Once you've run export {{{ OETREE="${HOME}/OE" }}}, you need to use that same console window without closing it.

Try this:
sudo echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
This should ask you for your password - you shouldn't get a permission denied unless you put the wrong password in...
Then delete the OE directory {{{ rm -rf ~/OE }}}
Then start at Step 2 again, running each command individually, all in the same console window.
kooga1
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by kooga1 »

the same error :(

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$ sudo echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
bash: /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf: Permission denied
[email protected]:~/OE/openembedded$
cryptyk
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:42 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by cryptyk »

That's weird. Try this:
sudo su -
echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
exit
Raingna
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:14 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by Raingna »

Nice tutorial. I might give it a shot.

Just a question... Since you used Ubuntu over Virtualbox (all free software), would be requesting the .vdi of your already set-up environment asking too much? :P
dbn045
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:59 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by dbn045 »

What exactly does this do? I don't get it
papygeek
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by papygeek »

Hello,

I make all what it describe, but the compilation is during also.
I compile during 48 hours and it is not finish....

Is it normal ?

Then another question : how can we install this compilation on the archos, it is not describe anywhere ?

Thnak you very much for your works ...
grond
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by grond »

papygeek wrote:I compile during 48 hours and it is not finish....

Is it normal ?
I think somebody reported that it took a week to compile...
openAOS
papygeek
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by papygeek »

Done !
All compilation takes 55 hours !

And now how can i install this compilation ?
I suppose i must run the aos tools for unpack and repack the firmware ?
In the new "open firmware" which archos gived when you unpack you have the following folders :
Init and recovery
they contain : initramfs(folder) zImage(file)
and in initramfs :
bin dev etc init(file) lib mnt new-root proc sbin sys usr

Question : may i replace this directory by my rootfs crosscompilation ?
and then i repack the firmware for update my archos ?
r_o_e_e
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:54 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by r_o_e_e »

Hi
Have you figured out how to perform the flash ?
When I place both files (initramfs and zImage) on the device it says if flushed successfully but every things works as if nothing happend.

How do I make the switch ?

Cheers
Roee
rishid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:12 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by rishid »

cryptyk: have you been able to take the image that gets built and run it on the A05?

If so can we complete the tutorial? It has been a great resource.
ptaffs
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:24 pm

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by ptaffs »

cryptyk wrote:That's weird. Try this:
sudo su -
echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf
exit
it's not weird.

sudo echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf

will only run the echo with elevated privilege, the redirect ">" runs with user privilege and can't write to the file.

This should also work, running the command in a subshell (sh), but is not universal as people use different shells (sh, bash, ksh), and quotes need thought since they don't nest well.

sudo sh -c 'echo "vm.mmap_min_addr = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf'

sudo sh -c "echo vm.mmap_min_addr = 0 > /etc/sysctl.d/mmap_min_addr.conf"

"sudo su -" is a bad habit.
bakhanbeigi
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 10:09 am

Re: Step-by-step for building Angstrom for the A5

Post by bakhanbeigi »

Is it available for Archos 7c home ?
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”