AV500 and flac

Post Reply
wyatt72
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 9:59 pm

AV500 and flac

Post by wyatt72 »

Hi, would it be possible to update the software in order for the AV500 to read flac files? I wrote to Archos but they never replied.

Regards
fredc
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: AV500 and flac

Post by fredc »

not possible without a re-written operating system, and possibly a waste of time with the internal converters and no digital out? may as well use 320 kbps mp3s?

An open source operation system is available if you search for medios or archopen. A bit fiddly to install if you are not at the correct starting operating system but no support for flac the last time I looked although it does do wavepack.

I use 16 bit wavs on my 160G 504 (because it also can't do flac) for max quality because it has S/PDIF out which goes to an external D/A converter for the hi-fi.
SvenC
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: AV500 and flac

Post by SvenC »

Not possible. In my mind, the 5IT was the first Archos player with FLAC support. :)
Post Reply

Return to “AV500, AV700 and AV700TV”