Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

New Rockchip RK2918 ARM Cortex-A8 capacitive Android 2.3 capacitive tablets
Post Reply
david1806
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:14 am

Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by david1806 »

Hi all
I've seen that my 10 G2 [4gb] can be upgraded to the ICS platform. Thanks to you guys, I've already got Market installed on my tablet, so what are (if any) the benefits of installing ICS?
Thx in advance
David :)
Dinosaur
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:19 pm
Location: England

Re: Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by Dinosaur »

ICS - Ice Cream Sandwich - equates to Firmware Issue 4.0.x. Read these threads 4.0.5 and 4.0.6 and form your own opinion as to "benefits".

This thread is also relevant.

As a final point, try looking around the forum for what is already here (361150 posts in 52129 topics) before adding yet another topic.
A101 G9 16Gb Turbo|An 10 G2
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by viking »

Ics on arnova is a different kettle of fish than on archos with its firmware.

Op doesnt give references... dont they say ics breaks half the functions of arnova? In general i would be very sceptical of ics on arnova until it gets a ton of happy reports.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
david1806
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:14 am

Re: Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by david1806 »

Thanks for the replies.
And dinosaur, sorry buddy, but that's a bit unnecessary. Yes, I could trawl through the forum, or I could submit a post which asks exactly what I need and is more helpful. I've only just bought my tablet, so yes, I am making a few posts. But so what....it's a post...this is a forum. You don't HAVE to read it, you don't HAVE to reply, and this isn't the busiest forum in the world. Plus the fact it helps out other new users aswell. My posts are polite, unoffensive, and how they can bother someone is truely beyond me. It makes me laugh....they bother you so much but rather than just ignoring them, you then waste your time to write comments like that. But thanks for the help anyway...

I'll continue to post here as and when I want to...and I'll help out others if I can with good grace and a smile...

:roll: :D :D

Thx again for help
David
david1806
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:14 am

Re: Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by david1806 »

Hi
Mmm, I think I'll give it a miss. My Arnova is working fine, it can browse, I can use Spotify (yesss, just love that application...I've got the premium addition - it's like having the worlds largest record collection!) and now I've got Market, it's all good... :D

And dinosaur, I'm not here to piss anyone off, and I do appreciate your help, I really do......

David
Dinosaur
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:19 pm
Location: England

Re: Ice Cream Sandwich, anyone? :)

Post by Dinosaur »

David - that isn't "a bit unnecessary" - it's part of the forum rules, which you accepted and agreed to when you joined the forum! I quote:
Topics and Posts:
- Search the boards before you post to see if your question has already been asked/answered.
- Stay in one Topic - until your problem is resolved. This will help us to help you.
etc.
And yes, you are always polite and inoffensive.

Otoh, viking made the very valid point that the ICS on the arnova is different to ICS on the Archos G9 and the links I posted were all about the G9 - mea culpa :cry: :cry: .

I am somewhat amused that you infer that your posts bother me, but I'm glad that thought makes you laugh. I am here to glean whatever I can from others and to help whenever I can - my post to you in reply to your query about the Philly version was an attempt to show you (and others who read it) that there are other ways of finding things out than just posting queries on a forum, and my previous post in this thread merely amounts to common sense - plus a gentle reminder of what is explicitly stated in the Forum Rules!
A101 G9 16Gb Turbo|An 10 G2
Post Reply

Return to “Arnova 10 G2, Arnova 9 G2, Arnova 8 G2, Arnova 7 G2”