3G dongle connection.?

New Rockchip RK2918 ARM Cortex-A8 capacitive Android 2.3 capacitive tablets
Post Reply
Rodders1969
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:37 am

3G dongle connection.?

Post by Rodders1969 »

Arnova 10 G2. is it possible to connect to internet other than wifi, ie. an internet sim dongle via the usb port. Orange do a Wi Fi type portable box which connects like wifi.
IpadFan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by IpadFan »

Not with the orange dongle, but with the Archos 3g key yes.
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by exelletor »

Now go and tell this to Archos. :badgrin:
elevener
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by elevener »

Really? I wonder if it will be possible to use any 3G dongle like the oh-so-common Huawei┬┤s to connect to the internet. It shouldn┬┤t be too hard with a good driver, right?
hubu
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by hubu »

Only with archos 3G key :-)
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by exelletor »

Who says that Archos thing will work?
hubu
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by hubu »

exelletor wrote:Who says that Archos thing will work?


Exelletor if you open pdf product information from arnova website there is information about "3G ready"
http://arnovatech.com/products/g2/arn_9 ... pl&lang=en
Harnova
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:15 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by Harnova »

@hubu

The link in your post is the documentation about the Arnova 9 G2. The question from Rodders1969 is about the Arnova10 G2!?

By the way, i do have de same questions about the 8 G2, and i asked Cajl at http://www.jbmm.fr/2011/11/et-puis-cell ... nova-8-g2/

I looked through all specs and for the 8 G2, 9 G2 en 10 G2. For all models you can read in the chapter "Connected" the following info: "With the integrated microSD card reader you can transfer files easily or even plug in a USB flash drive in the USB host slot / via the USB host cable."

So we have a HOST-function, the first step......

When you read the PDF-files (not available for the 10 G2) you will find out that only the 9 G2 has a 3G option: "3G Ready
The ARNOVA 9 G2 is fully compatible with the ARCHOS G9 3G Stick**. This USB Stick brings the
3G connectivity to your ARNOVA 9 G2 tablet via the USB port.
All you have to do is to put a data Sim card into the stick, plug it to your tablet and start surfing at
3G speed. Stay connected wherever you are!
"

I hope that owners of the 10,8 an 9 G2 models can test/confirm that the host function is supported so you can plug in a flash/hard drive or even a 3G stick.....
hubu
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by hubu »

@Harnova

sorry, I just saw title "3G dongle connection.?" has not read firts post.
As for Arnova 9G2 it can be different then with 8 & 10 models because 9G2 will get full size USB 2.0 port.

Check this thread about usb storage / hard drive posibilities:
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=59129
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by exelletor »

10G2 also has a full-size usb... May be the support for 3G came with the latest firmware upgrade?
cajl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Location: La varenne / France
Contact:

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by cajl »

the 3g dongle works on Arnova 8 G2
for another Arnova g2
Archos working .....
CORSE' WEB
przemke
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:57 am

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by przemke »

hi,
on a different forum one user reprted HUAWEI E160G HSDPA stick to be working with no probs on 10 G2 and HUAWEI E367 HSPA+ to be NOT working

by the way if anybody thinks of buying 10b G2 model (newest), it does NOT have an usb host-prt
thommo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by thommo »

i presume most of you have an android mobile phone aswell? in that case just create a virtual wifi spot with your phone and then connect using your tablet.

tablet then uses your mobiles data plan.


its basically wifi tethering. (i couldnt get usb tethering to work probably same issues as the dongles).


i think most andriod phones have the option to create a virtual wifi spot, if yours does then you dont need a dongle just make sure your phone is with you while your out of a range of a wifi spot then you can connect to your phones virtual wifi and as stated use your mobiles data plan.
icemonkey
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by icemonkey »

thx thommo i have bought a dongle but with no luck however tethering wont work either but i did manage to create a wifi hot spot with the touch of a button , i feel such an idiot for not knowing that ive been trying for ages to get an outside connection lol . oh well , anybody want to buy a 3.5g dongle then ha ha :lol:
DBurrin
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:51 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by DBurrin »

I have an unlocked 3mifi and it works perfectly.

Damian
DBurrin
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:51 pm

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by DBurrin »

Harnova wrote:@hubu

The link in your post is the documentation about the Arnova 9 G2. The question from Rodders1969 is about the Arnova10 G2!?


3G connectivity to your ARNOVA 9 G2 tablet via the USB port.
All you have to do is to put a data Sim card into the stick, plug it to your tablet and start surfing at
3G speed. Stay connected wherever you are![/i]"

I hope that owners of the 10,8 an 9 G2 models can test/confirm that the host function is supported so you can plug in a flash/hard drive or even a 3G stick.....



The box for my 10g2 says 3g ready and its an available accessory online
burman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:06 am

Re: 3G dongle connection.?

Post by burman »

Hi

In my arnova10g2 with original firmware and also with the EZ firmware that the arctool instals to root and instal the google play market

Those 3g modems work fine:
ZTE MF688
ZTE k3765z

But those ones don't work:
huawei e367
huawei k3765
Post Reply

Return to “Arnova 10 G2, Arnova 9 G2, Arnova 8 G2, Arnova 7 G2”