Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOLS!!

New Rockchip RK2918 ARM Cortex-A8 capacitive Android 2.3 capacitive tablets
Post Reply
damanmagee
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Location: Hull, United Kingdom

Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOLS!!

Post by damanmagee »

NEW FIRMWARE TO GIVE THE ARNOVA 10G2 ACCESS TO THE FULL ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOLS

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/featured/ ... rket-root/ :D

:D :D :D :D :D :D
gucci_dre
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by gucci_dre »

I better wait for official release.
Arnova 10 G2
IpadFan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by IpadFan »

I'll test it on my 10g2
hvdwolf
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Contact:

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by hvdwolf »

gucci_dre wrote:I better wait for official release.
You will never get an offical arnova release that is rooted and with google apps.
damanmagee
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Location: Hull, United Kingdom

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by damanmagee »

Installed the new firmware onto my Arnova 10G2 and so far so good.

I have installed arctools which has installed the Official Android market.

I have downloaded Gmail, Google Maps, You Tube and I can report they all work fine.

:)
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by viking »

Interesting... I wonder if they based it off the latest Arnova firmware release. So it apparently requires root, and here is a list of pros and cons of rooting http://droidlessons.com/what-is-rooting ... dvantages/
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
hvdwolf
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: Zwolle, Nederland
Contact:

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by hvdwolf »

viking wrote:Interesting... I wonder if they based it off the latest Arnova firmware release.
Yes they did. I unpacked both the original arnova updated rom and the custom rom.
viking wrote:So it apparently requires root, and here is a list of pros and cons of rooting http://droidlessons.com/what-is-rooting ... dvantages/
Google applications as such don't require root access. You could build a custom rom with google apps in it that isn't rooted. Also Arctools doesn't need root access as it also works on standard roms for the Internet tablets. As these are not rooted, I conclude that arctools doesn't need it. The guys/gals from arctools don't mention it either.
gucci_dre
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by gucci_dre »

hvdwolf wrote:
gucci_dre wrote:I better wait for official release.
You will never get an offical arnova release that is rooted and with google apps.
Official = Arctable approved version. They advised to be very careful with this custom firmware, and it isn't fully tested.
Arnova 10 G2
Daskwartelkanon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:26 pm
Location: Drachten (Netherlands)

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by Daskwartelkanon »

It works fine, I haven't notice anything bad on this firmware.
heybob
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by heybob »

Works perfectly for me too - enabled me to download Mobo Video which handles the video files that the default Video Player refuses to play. Also enable me to install Amazon Kindle and SmartApp Protector Free, which is invalueable to lock down my email app and keep it safe from prying eyes. Now if only they'd had a screen lock option built-in :-) I hate it when any of my family can simply pick the thing up and turn it on....grrrr
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by viking »

That's odd; I had just posted why folks are abandoning this current rooted/arctools firmware approach, due to appspace implosion among other things. I had posted an alternate way to get google market (lite) on the Arnova stock firmware (now made into sticky topic).

Also I had just posted the wonders of "mx video player" which has been rated superior to mobo in comparison tests.

Furthermore I had just posted how to get a lock screen (good and bad apps topic),
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Daskwartelkanon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:26 pm
Location: Drachten (Netherlands)

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by Daskwartelkanon »

Well, the app storage is very annoying, but with some other programs, It's ok to me.
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by viking »

Has anyone tried the new rooted firmware that fixes the available appspace problem?
http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/arn ... -htcmania/
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
kaymado
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:09 am

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by kaymado »

Yes, new update works and fixes the issue. (also seems faster somehow, judging by go launcher screen swipes with lots of widgets)

One thing I miss now is the calendar sync with google services.
If anyone has fixed this, please let me know.
Shane-m
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by Shane-m »

how long does it take to update?
damanmagee
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:49 am
Location: Hull, United Kingdom

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by damanmagee »

To flash the tablet it takes about 5 minutes, presuming you already have all the programs and drivers installed
Shane-m
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by Shane-m »

iv had it updating for over 6 hours. the install option remains orange and i cant shut it off
Shane-m
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by Shane-m »

thanks Damanmagee, im new to this, what drivers and programmes do i need to install and where do i get them
jnewt74
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:51 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by jnewt74 »

You know there is a simple way to install the Android market on your tablet? Here is a link I found and tested, worked perfect on the philly and the standard Arnova 10 g2, The market is an older version interface but I like this stype compaired to the new disfuntional interface "My opinion only?

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/arn ... -firmware/

Why install a custom rom?
jnewt74
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:51 pm

Re: Arnova 10 g2 NEW FIRMWARE FOR ANDROID MARKET AND ARCTOOL

Post by jnewt74 »

Well I have installed the custom rom on my Arnova 10 g2 and installed the market without problems. Kindle and Nook apps work perfect. My tablet was a Philly so i saved my apps, my data to the sd card and installed the custom rom... reloaded my apps and the new paper works fine.

Change my screen with LCD Res apk and found myself running a very very nice tablet with great performance. I would say upgrade your rom. feel comfortable because it works and works well. Good luck!
Post Reply

Return to “Arnova 10 G2, Arnova 9 G2, Arnova 8 G2, Arnova 7 G2”