Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

New Rockchip RK2918 ARM Cortex-A8 capacitive Android 2.3 capacitive tablets
Post Reply
davehull
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:36 pm

Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by davehull »

I Just bought the Arnova 7 G2 this morning, i let the battery charge fully beforee i turned on the device. The first screen i see is the calibration screen.

After 5-6 seconds of auto calibration and been told to not touch the screen a pop up states the calibration is successful and to press 'ok' how it does not recognize my touch at all, almost as if the screen is 'locked' (which it isnt, the top switch is not on hold)

After a few seconds the device auto calibrates again and once again i am told calibration was a success and i am prompted to press ok. I have tried soft taps, hard taps, taps with a DS stylus, master reset button, trying with on charge and off charge but nothing.

please help! the device is 10 hours old and i already want to smash it :(
gucci_dre
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by gucci_dre »

Did you tried to reset it?
Arnova 10 G2
davehull
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by davehull »

Yeah, the little button at the back? Many times. I've only just managed to get into the main menu but the calibration is still way off, is there a way to manually calibrate the screen. Otherwise I'm thinking the screen may be damaged and may take it back to the store and replace
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by viking »

There is a tiny pinhole for a hardware reset - see the enclosed manual for location so I don't have to broadcast it here. But I had a similar screen problem with an archos vision (rebadged from someone like arnova rather than a true archos, I think) and I had to exchange it.

EDIT: oops, that pinhole is on the 10 inch G2; not sure if 7g2 has one.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Daskwartelkanon
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:26 pm
Location: Drachten (Netherlands)

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by Daskwartelkanon »

I have had the same problem with a Archos 7c home tablet, I got a new one, then it happens again!
Then I got my money back.
davehull
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by davehull »

Think I'm gonna have to do the same fella, looked all over the net, no solutions at all. Will exchange it tomorrow and give that a go
Sams0m
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:27 am

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by Sams0m »

Forgive me for wages google translete.
I have a similar problem. 2 cm on the left is not sensitive to touch. And what a demo firmware with us?
t3mujin
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:32 am

Re: Just bought the 'Arnova 7 G2' and problems already!

Post by t3mujin »

Same problem here: region on the left without touch
Post Reply

Return to “Arnova 10 G2, Arnova 9 G2, Arnova 8 G2, Arnova 7 G2”