Deep sleep or what?

General topics about the Archos G9 series if those topics don't fit in a specific model category below. Also discuss your ideas, suggestions, hopes, wishes, rumors, informations in here.
Post Reply
Marco
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:47 am

Deep sleep or what?

Post by Marco »

Hi,

Each time my Archos G8 is not used for some time (say 30 mins. to ... ) it shutdowns or goes into deep sleep... After I press the power button it then boots again taking the normal booting time. Is this a normal behavior? How can I configure the amount of time before the device goes into this mode? Trying to find this in settings but nothing points to this explicit. And I don't have deep sleep activated in the battery settings.

Not that I don't like this; sometimes is best then really completely discharge and then having to wait a long time while it charges back again into life.


Thanks.
Agj_h
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Deep sleep or what?

Post by Agj_h »

shutting down and going into deep sleep are 2 different things. if it is booting up every time from scratch then I would say that compared to mine this is not normal behaviour.

if mine times out, a press of the power button brings it up quickly (like a standby setting). if I put it into deep sleep by longer press of pwr button and then bring it out of this via short press of pwr button it comes out just as quickly (unless I have a USB stick in the 3g port and have the 3g port powered up - in which case it takes about 30 seconds to power up. this is well documented and is not like a complete reboot).

mind you - I'm still not sure what the diff is between deep sleep and quick press of the power button to put into standby (unless its the same thing.....).
Andrew
500gb a5a
G9 80 16gb 4.0.28
Marco
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:47 am

Re: Deep sleep or what?

Post by Marco »

Agj_h wrote:shutting down and going into deep sleep are 2 different things. if it is booting up every time from scratch then I would say that compared to mine this is not normal behaviour.

if mine times out, a press of the power button brings it up quickly (like a standby setting). if I put it into deep sleep by longer press of pwr button and then bring it out of this via short press of pwr button it comes out just as quickly (unless I have a USB stick in the 3g port and have the 3g port powered up - in which case it takes about 30 seconds to power up. this is well documented and is not like a complete reboot).

mind you - I'm still not sure what the diff is between deep sleep and quick press of the power button to put into standby (unless its the same thing.....).
Well, in "that state" / not sure what, I need to press the power button for a couple of secs and then I get Archos screen (1st just "ARCHOS" then "ARCHOS" with the letter shining effect). It takes 1 to 2 minutes to start again. This doesn't happen when the device is power plugged so I assume it's something of a power setting. And it always did this in each firmware version I got on the device (4.x.x).
mls
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:05 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Deep sleep or what?

Post by mls »

Marco wrote:Hi,

Each time my Archos G8 is not used for some time (say 30 mins. to ... ) it shutdowns or goes into deep sleep... After I press the power button it then boots again taking the normal booting time. Is this a normal behavior? How can I configure the amount of time before the device goes into this mode? Trying to find this in settings but nothing points to this explicit. And I don't have deep sleep activated in the battery settings.

Not that I don't like this; sometimes is best then really completely discharge and then having to wait a long time while it charges back again into life.


Thanks.
If you have upgraded to 4.0.24, or 4.0.25... those are both complete garbage and do not work at all correctly.

If you have upgraded to 4.0.26... although some things have been fixed, there are still MANY PROBLEMS with it that need to be fixed in a future firmware upgrade (including shutting down for no reason, not charging properly, and a bunch of other things).

On the other hand, if you were already having this problem with earlier firmware (only good ones were 3.2.80 and 4.0.7), then there is either a hardware problem with your device... or maybe you have installed some bad software app (like a task killer for example) that is causing it to totally crash and turn off.

As for how the power button works and sleep/standby verses deep sleep...

Normally, if the device is up and running, a short tap on the power button will just turn off the screen backlighting. However, you can change it to always go into deep sleep instead if you want in the Settings options.

If you hold the power button for a couple of seconds it will pop up a box with options for Deep sleep, Reboot, or Power off.

If you hold the power button for tens seconds it will reset and totally turn off the device.

What Deep sleep does is not only turn off the screen, but also throttle down the CPU to a very slow speed to use far less power (it also disables Notifications because the CPU is running far to slow to handle that extra stuff, so no Alarms will work either).

As a side note, there are other options in Settings for if/when it should turn off Wi-fi or the 3G Stick when the screen turns off.
Archos 101 G9 8G classic (512M RAM)
jpcjpc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:28 pm

Re: Deep sleep or what?

Post by jpcjpc »

I had this on my 101 G9 Turbo. Recently did a factory reset and the problem has gone away. Possibly it's an app that I haven't reinstalled. My hunch is HD Widgets but it may just be coincidence.
Post Reply

Return to “General G9 discussions”