LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

General topics about the Archos G9 series if those topics don't fit in a specific model category below. Also discuss your ideas, suggestions, hopes, wishes, rumors, informations in here.
Post Reply
sper56
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm

LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by sper56 »

Version 4.0.7 - June 19th, 2012

Applications: fix no audio when launching video capture impacting applications like Skype
Display: graphics performance enhancements
Hard drive based products: avoid potential loss of hard drive when 3G USB port is switched on with no peripheral attached
Wi-Fi: fix some more disconnect cases happening on some access points

Download: Download Archos 80/101 G9 OS v 4.0.7 (190674Kb)
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig
sper56
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by sper56 »

Some personal notes...

Just did full format now testing 4.0.7...results soon

seems like..home screen scrolling is smooth
Webpage scrolling...seems must smoother! People should test and see
Wifi is...good
Tabs on google chrome...easier to close (no weird touchscreen issue)


Stock OMAP4460 - 1.5ghz
Quadrant test 1 - 2476
Quadrant test 2 - 2533
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by exelletor »

That's all?
Yeah that's all. Stop screaming, get your stuff and go back to work.

(From David Guetta - Love is Gone)

Anyways - thanks, Archos.
Marco
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:47 am

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Marco »

Done the upgrade a couple of minutes ago, went smoothly. 1st impression, browser is faster loading pages and scrolling... Way much faster... Just me or anyone else notices this?


And thanks Archos!!! Hope that we still receive ICS 4.0.4 or even 4.0.5 in the next months ;) Before Jelly arrives...
mn555
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:59 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by mn555 »

just instaled and for the first time i can say...
the best firmware ever!!!! yeah they did it yahoo check this out =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>
Image
all of these web-pages and no slowdowns or delays just awesome
no wifi problems so far :D :D :D :D :D :D
Goner
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Goner »

Just tried the update from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7

Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?! :?

So I connected the cable, it said something about a checksum and then I got :
Unfortunately, firmware update has stopped

Now what ?
This is on a brand-new G9 80 upgraded on-line (without a cable) to 4.0.6 a couple of days ago ..

EDIT: where does it keep the .aos file that was downloaded ??
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB
sper56
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by sper56 »

Goner wrote:Just tried the update from 4.0.6 to 4.0.7

Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?! :?

So I connected the cable, it said something about a checksum and then I got :
Unfortunately, firmware update has stopped

Now what ?
This is on a brand-new G9 80 upgraded on-line (without a cable) to 4.0.6 a couple of days ago ..

EDIT: where does it keep the .aos file that was downloaded ??


Just download it from their website, go into recovery, update firmware there
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig
Goner
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Goner »

sper56 wrote: go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...
Downloaded firmware on my PC, attached Archos by USB cable, copied over the firmware file. From there the instructions are useless ; while the cable was still attached, the Archos detected the file and asked to upgrade. So - as instructed - I detached the cable ... tablet then instructs to connect the cable !!
Anyway, the upgrade started this time (optimizing appllication .. of 53) and I'm now on 4.0.7
I hope the next upgrade will go as smoothly as 4.0.6 (from Android 3.2 to 4.0.3)
Last edited by Goner on Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB
sper56
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by sper56 »

Goner wrote:
sper56 wrote: go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...


turn your tablet off, hold volume down and power button at the same time, then update firmware
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig
IpadFan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by IpadFan »

Download went OK, but when I told it to install, I got a prompt to connect a USB cable ?!


Yes, you need usb cable for dc-in while the update is done, you can unplug it as soon as the update has started.
IpadFan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:27 am

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by IpadFan »

sper56 wrote:
Goner wrote:
sper56 wrote: go into recovery, update firmware there

Where is 'recovery' ??

I now followed the How to install a firmware. instructions ...


turn your tablet off, hold volume down and power button at the same time, then update firmware


Not needed if the tablet run Android, Recovery mode must be used only when the system is damaged (very few cases) I rarely use it.
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by viking »

A simple install thru wifi appeared to work fine for me, without reformat ect. Now i am back on the wonderful dolphin browser without wifi or scroll glitches so far.

It did some sort of android app conversion... does that mean this android 4.03 base was upgraded over the last release?
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Ken S
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:17 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Ken S »

Installed and unfortunately there is no improvement in the crippled GPS functionality.
Other than that not seeing any difference yet...good or bad.
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by viking »

Ken S wrote:Installed and unfortunately there is no improvement in the crippled GPS functionality.

Wow, i popped into gps status app and after a minute inside it lit up like an xmas tree with about 5 of 8 sats and tons of data. Never saw that before this release. That said, i got a couple wifi stutters.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Nightsurfer
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:15 am

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Nightsurfer »

viking wrote:Wow, i popped into gps status app and after a minute inside it lit up like an xmas tree with about 5 of 8 sats and tons of data. Never saw that before this release. That said, i got a couple wifi stutters.

Try again tomorrow: GPS always worked for me after a reset, but the next day (after waking up from standby) it did not work any longer.

I also wonder why Archos still based the update on ICS 4.0.3 though 4.0.4 is available since March already?
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by viking »

After a sleep i get even more sats; i have never reset. Only weird thing is pitch... i think it wants me to tilt based on the equator reference instead of local.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Nightsurfer
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:15 am

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Nightsurfer »

Alright, here comes my review for the new firmware version 4.0.7:

1) Fixes mentioned in the change log:
  • Audio Bug (e.g. Skype): Had been fixed in 4.0.6 beta 4 on May 22nd already. Nothing new here.
  • Graphics Performance: Had been improved for 4.0.6 beta on May 22nd already. First impression is that the performance is even a little better now, but this might also be related to rebooting the tablet after the firmware update was installed.
  • Harddrive Issues: Cannot comment, as my tablet contains flash memory.
  • WiFi Disconnects: I had some issues with 4.0.5, but not with 4.0.6 any longer, so I cannot comment on any further improvements.

So is this all Archos has addressed within the last 7 weeks since the official firmware version 4.0.6 was released?
And why not base the updates on Android 4.0.4, but still use 4.0.3 ? :(

2) Problems that still exist for my tablet (Archos 80 G9 Turbo, 1.5GHz, 16GB RAM):
  • No improvement for GPS (major bug): The "GPS status" app finds up to 8 satellites but there is no fix. Then the satellites start to "disappear" again, until none is left.
  • No improvement for the "browser bug": If I set the pre-installed web browser to "open links in new background tab", it crashes for some web sites (like ebay.com) after some second whenever I try to open a link in the background. (Works well for some other web sites, so this seems to depend on the content of the page, maybe related to the use of Java script.)
  • No improvement for the localization (minor bug): My tablet is set to German, but some menu items in the settings and pre-installed apps (like "photo frame") obviously have not been translated and still appear in English. - This is especially annoying for built-in the calendar app, where you get a mixture between German and English for the display (Problem exists also for language setting "French", so developers at Archos should see that, too.)
Goner
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by Goner »

Nightsurfer wrote:
  • No improvement for GPS (major bug): The "GPS status" app finds up to 8 satellites but there is no fix. Then the satellites start to "disappear" again, until none is left.
Is that really a bug in the firmware ?
From what I read on the forum, there seems to be a number of (faulty ?) GPS units that simply do not work as they should ...

For the record : my GPS works fine. I've used it with Cygic navigation in the car and accuracy is great.
A80G9Turbo 1.5GHz - 1GB RAM - 16GB
bunyip
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:31 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by bunyip »

Still has the bug where video audio drops-out \ stutters using bluetooth headphone if you pause and then play the video.
sper56
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: LIVE! - Firmware Update (4.0.7) - Report Bugs

Post by sper56 »

To all with problems with GPS, yes some GPS chips are faulty, however GPS worked on honeycomb for some, so it's obviously not a faulty chip in that case.

I have heard people who have had GPS problems. I have heard two solutions, it's worth a shot:

1) Uninstalling Google Maps > not sure if they just uninstalled updates or if they were rooted and completely removed
2) Reformat > this has helped many people. Especially those who came from honeycomb. If you have not formated since honeycomb, I strongly recommend it if you have problems. It could be a problem with the firmware or a rogue app



GerritRG wrote:I did a clean install (formatted the "disk") of ICS 4.0.6 and then GPS works!

FW 4.0.7 is available now!!!
Visit my thread http://goo.gl/pR9Ig
Post Reply

Return to “General G9 discussions”