Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

General topics about the Archos G9 series if those topics don't fit in a specific model category below. Also discuss your ideas, suggestions, hopes, wishes, rumors, informations in here.
a32quaeler
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:43 am

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by a32quaeler »

I am perfectly happy with the upgrade on my 80G9 Turbo (1.2GHz, 16GB flash, 512MB RAM, not-rooted)!
I didn't reformat, just updated from the downloaded aos file. Before doing that, i stopped all other running tasks and did a file system check from the recovery menue. I have >100 apps installed which were all correctly "optimized" (whatever that means) on first start up after update. No hang-ups and no reboots. System is very responsive. I have no issues with WiFi - very stable with my own router and some free spots tested so far - the compass works good in OSMand, StarChart,... & my email account was preserved over the update. I can however confirm that my kindle Id settings were lost.

Unlike many here, I actually didn't expect very much from the ICS update apart from some look&feel / UI improvements BUT I am extremely happy that one of the most annoying issues I had with the 80G9 and Honeycomb seems to be solved: finally the simultaneous use of bluetooth audio equipment and (WiFi streamed) movie watching is possible without any stuttering. There were sometimes some slight timing issues with video playback with the archos media center - also solved. The second big benefit is the enabling of the USB-Tethering with a SAMBA server. The USB-MTP-Transfer protocol did not work correctly with my Ubuntu-PC (worked always well with Win-Systems) and now I can plug it in, switch on the tethering and see the SAMBA shares ("media" and "sdcard" for the external card) directly in the network shares. Great job Archos!

EDIT:
I found an issue with HDMI output: Previously, I could hotplug the cable and had the Archos screen on my LCD. Now, the HDMI-Display has to be connected during (re)boot time to be correctly used as output... that is bad! But I can wait for a fix ...
Last edited by a32quaeler on Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
thorstenarqm
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:13 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by thorstenarqm »

Hi Guys,

Can somebody tell me, if i reformat the Archos that also the apps are gone?

I have a lot of configiuration done (on diffrent apps) on the system before.

Are the will be installed automatic after log in again in the google account?

Best regards from Austria.

GOOD JOB ARCHOS!!!!! :D :D :D
dblake
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by dblake »

So I reformat from the Power/Vol Down menu..
Then how do i Get ICS on it? Do i let it reset to the 3.2 that it orgininally came with and then upgrade? Or is there an option to put on the ICS AOS onto the device and it installs is instead.
:?:
yohojones
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:32 am
Location: Sask, Canada

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by yohojones »

I disabled power save in the wifi settings and my 80 G9 stayed connected all night to the wifi. That might be a temporary solution to those with wifi problems. Of course your device will be dead by morning if you don't have it plugged in.
bluebull
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:41 am
Location: uk

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by bluebull »

101 g9
Update went fine, only has tab for week and very light on apps.
No gaming.
Post upgrade things look ok except
YouTube, web page videos won't run, keep buffering as though connection speed too slow.
Updating flash player took 5+ minutes to download 6 meg file so it looks like something in the wifi connection is broken.
Update - connection sped was nothing to do with upgrade, a sods law coincidence. Therefore auto upgrade went fine and v v happy with ics and tablet.
Last edited by bluebull on Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ChrisL1977
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by ChrisL1977 »

When on reformat screen it won't let me select anything.
dblake
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by dblake »

ChrisL1977 wrote:When on reformat screen it won't let me select anything.
Are you using Vol Up/Down to navigate and Power to select?
ChrisL1977
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by ChrisL1977 »

Have managed to reformat with ICS, its now running slower than it was before.
ChrisL1977
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by ChrisL1977 »

dblake wrote:
ChrisL1977 wrote:When on reformat screen it won't let me select anything.
Are you using Vol Up/Down to navigate and Power to select?

Yes. Got it working eventually, needed 3 or 4 attempts though
mrjambo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by mrjambo »

Installed firmware with no problems, everything now seems a lot smoother. Only problems I have noticed so far are that my email settings had to be re-set and Google Play Movies says "failed to fetch licence" (previously with Honeycomb it would force close) when trying to play, also the library within Google Play Movies is offset to the left. Anybody got any ideas about this. Everything else looks really good.
Zaratustra
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by Zaratustra »

ICS is a lot smoother. My 80 G9 is working better than ever. Love the UI.
However, i'm having the Wi-Fi issue, with weaker signal and disconnecting from time to time.
Besides that, so far, ICS seems awesome. :)
Archos 80 G9 ICS 4.0.25
BenMars
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:36 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by BenMars »

Do you know how to take screenshots ?
With ICS it's supposed to be ON+Vol but it doesn't work.
Do you think this native function had been removed ?
letsgoo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:58 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by letsgoo »

Since I have upgraded it, the connection the internet(W-Lan at home) is really slow...
I don't understand why...

The browser takes really long to show me the Google Search Results and also all the apps, which need internet takes relaly long to load.
Even the Market(Now Playing?!) needs really long to load pictures and symbols of the apps.

I hope these gonna be fixed really quickly.
tarcus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by tarcus »

HDMI output no longer works, I did get it to work once by rebooting while HDMI was connected but there was no sound on any video I tried when I did it that way. Since that one time I haven't managed to get HDMI video to work at all even if it is connected during boot.
Last edited by tarcus on Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Archos G9 8GB
libritium
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:31 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by libritium »

after i updated the firmware i can't power the device(80 g9 1.2 16gb) for 7 hours now, it always freeze than crashes in the logo screen or a few seconds after powering :evil:
tarcus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by tarcus »

BenMars wrote:Do you know how to take screenshots ?
With ICS it's supposed to be ON+Vol but it doesn't work.
Do you think this native function had been removed ?
Screenshots work with power and volume down, although the first time I tried it the tablet locked up and had to be rebooted, the second time it worked fine. You do have to press both buttons at almost exactly the same time though, it doesn't work if you're not precise enough. I've taken about 6 now without it crashing.
Archos G9 8GB
Misterdeman
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by Misterdeman »

Screen doesn't turn to landscape mode after unlocking.
mark
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:24 pm
Location: uk

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by mark »

Hope someone can help me, I have the 80g9 classic and I have never been able to play flash videos without the tablet freezing but since the update they play great with no crashes except that on every video I try like bbc iplayer , 4 OD, and tv catchup the video and sound are very out of sync.

I did format before installing the update and i am on the latest flash player.

Apart from this the tablet is working so much smoother and quicker.

Thanks Mark.
rumanuu
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:25 am

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by rumanuu »

tarcus wrote:
BenMars wrote:Do you know how to take screenshots ?
With ICS it's supposed to be ON+Vol but it doesn't work.
Do you think this native function had been removed ?
Screenshots work with power and volume down, although the first time I tried it the tablet locked up and had to be rebooted, the second time it worked fine. You do have to press both buttons at almost exactly the same time though, it doesn't work if you're not precise enough. I've taken about 6 now without it crashing.
This!


It took me a few goes to get it right. It does work though
Zaratustra
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: Firmware 4.04 released - report bugs here

Post by Zaratustra »

rumanuu wrote:
tarcus wrote:
BenMars wrote:Do you know how to take screenshots ?
With ICS it's supposed to be ON+Vol but it doesn't work.
Do you think this native function had been removed ?
Screenshots work with power and volume down, although the first time I tried it the tablet locked up and had to be rebooted, the second time it worked fine. You do have to press both buttons at almost exactly the same time though, it doesn't work if you're not precise enough. I've taken about 6 now without it crashing.
This!


It took me a few goes to get it right. It does work though
I still can't do it. :(
Where are the pictures stored, by the way?
Archos 80 G9 ICS 4.0.25
Post Reply

Return to “General G9 discussions”