Page 1 of 1

Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:54 pm
by gte105u
OK, so I got Swiftkey Tablet X going on my A70. The sidebar is killing me. I never had an issue with the original Swiftkey, but on the Tablet X version it is blocking several keys. Anyone find a fix? Thanks

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:56 am
by bencordy
Pleased to say we may not have to wait too long for a fix on this issue. :)

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:26 pm
by gte105u
Did you hear something official? Are they releasing an update, or is it a hack from XDA? Thanks for any info you have. I love the new Swiftkey on my phone, and am really wanting to get the Tablet version on my Archos.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:29 pm
by bencordy
I managed to provide some possibly helpful info to the dev team at swiftkey and although they don't have a fix yet they may be able to address the issue in coming releases. Prob not anytime soon but at least it seems they've begun to work on the fault.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:01 pm
by jfmcbrayer
They at least directly mention it in the release notes, which implies that they're taking it seriously.

I don't think it's a real difficult fix, once they dedicate some resources to it: the developer of Hacker's Keyboard fixed the same defect (keys overlapping soft buttons) within 48 hours of it being reported.

That said, this was one of the things that pushed me to root my A70S (via SDE), so I could get rid of the soft buttons.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:47 pm
by gte105u
It shouldn't be hard. they have it working right on the original Swiftkey, and it shifts up fine in Portrait. They just need to tweak it for landscape.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:49 pm
by jfmcbrayer
Well, Swiftkey Tablet X got an update last night, with no fix for this bug. Surprised me, but at least they haven't gone dormant.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:49 am
by Todd6677
Dammit. Wish I had seen this before I bought it. Every time I think I have my archos working the way I want it to, something comes clogging up the works!! I :doubt:

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:57 am
by bencordy
I've now moved the main buttons to the notification bar which fixes the issue. Although I'm hoping for Swiftkeys fix soon. There hasn't been a new beta since I posted on here!

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:48 pm
by gte105u
I got tired of waiting, and went with Thumb Keyboard for my tablets. More flexibility, comparable word correction, works with the tablet now, half the price. Happy with the change. I still use Swiftkey on my phone, but I got tired of waiting for it to make the switch.

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:43 pm
by jfmcbrayer
A little late posting on this, but the latest update on SwiftKey Tablet X does fix the softbuttons issue.

Thumb Keyboard's layouts (especially 7" Tablet Layout 1) are still better on the A70 than SwiftKey, as are its themes and its customization options. But SwiftKey has also added more sources of where it can get samples of your writing to train predictions from, so it really can offer better predictions (especially next-word or rest-of-phrase completion, which Thumb Keyboard doesn't do). Thumb Keyboard 4 seems to be using the prediction/completion from Gingerbread, which is Not Bad.

I've got about five keyboard choices in my rotation, and this update has moved SwiftKey from "out of the running" to "default for now, until I get tired of it or need something else specifically".

Re: Swiftkey Tablet X

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:28 pm
by jfmcbrayer
And, now they've broken it again.