HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Discuss cool Apps for the Gen8 Tablets
Post Reply
ArchosFaninNC
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 6:35 am

HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by ArchosFaninNC »

Hey,

Anyone know how to get the new HBO GO onto our devices? I tried a Market search from my 101 and it didn't show up, so I went to the web version and it says it's not compatible with my device. I had no problem getting it on my HTC Thunderbolt.

Any help will be appreciated.
ArchosFaninNC
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 6:35 am

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by ArchosFaninNC »

Ok, didn't know there was a website for this, but I can't seem to get the pop-ups to not be blocked even though I have the block pop-ups unchecked. Is it because I'm using the stock browser? I can see the log in screen if I switch between screens, but I can't seem to get it to become active so I can input my information.

Help again is appreciated.
eagle1
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 pm

So... anyone tried the HBO GO app yet?!?

Post by eagle1 »

Hi Guys.

For some reason, I have never gotten the "full" market app to work correctly in my Archos 70
so when I look for the HBO app (or any other app such as CoPilot, bla bla bla) I cannot find it.
I read that the HBO Go app was released today and I wanted to know if anyone else
in the community has tried it on the Archos, and if it works A-Ok.!


Thanks.
jimijam28
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by jimijam28 »

not having luck either, i got the apk. file it installed but keep getting force close error when i try too sign in- guess wont work until they come up with other file for tablets.
my02vr6
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by my02vr6 »

ArchosFaninNC wrote:Hey,

Anyone know how to get the new HBO GO onto our devices? I tried a Market search from my 101 and it didn't show up, so I went to the web version and it says it's not compatible with my device. I had no problem getting it on my HTC Thunderbolt.

Any help will be appreciated.
Install it on your phone, back up with an app installer, then side load to Archos. If it is compatible, it will install.
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb
eagle1
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by eagle1 »

don't have an Android phone...

#GOSYMBIAN!!! ;)
eagle1
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by eagle1 »

So... I downloaded the HBO Go app from somewhere but it seems it's not the latest version though?!? It's only 4MB, the one one their page/market says 9MB?!?!

Anyway, the app starts but when you try to sign in, the application Force Closes!!!!!

:(

Anyone got it to work?

Thanks.
Last edited by Harfainx on Tue Jul 05, 2011 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Language
eagle1
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by eagle1 »

I didn't understand what you meant, but it seems the HBO Go app is trying to locate the IMEI (this is a phone Id.) Since the tablet doesn't have one, the application Force Closes.

So basically we are out of luck...


Thanks.
gte105u
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by gte105u »

Anyone know of anything done to help us Archos Fans be able to access HBO Go?
A70 250GB|Acer A500|HTC Thunderbolt
Ach
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:29 am

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by Ach »

No new updates yet for us. Freaking sucks!

But we're not alone - Motorola Xoom owners still haven't found a solution, same with other tablets.


Surprised there isn't more development on XDA to hack this and get it working! Guess we just have to wait.
gte105u
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by gte105u »

Surprised that HBO is willing to put out such limitations on Android devices. Tablets are the ideal medium to watch the service they are offering and there are a lot that don't support it.
A70 250GB|Acer A500|HTC Thunderbolt
Ach
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:29 am

Re: HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by Ach »

UPDATE:

Install the new version of HBO GO from the market, IT WORKS!

(make sure to uninstall whatever old version you have before you install this new one)
GiseleSer
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:02 am

HBO GO on Gen8/A101

Post by GiseleSer »

The Gen1s are as rare as hens teath. I hardly ever see one and dont even know which ones are active it the Lightning community.

I can PM gen2 guys all day long.

Anyone have any ideas that will work without stepping on toes.

This all started with them and now they have disappeared????
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Apps”