Autohide menubar made easy!

Discuss cool Apps for the Gen8 Tablets
Post Reply
zandoli
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4

Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by zandoli »

The Button Savior (Root) app just shows how easy it is for Archos to implement on their devices.

I have tried on my A5IT and now there is no need to long press power button to exit 'fullscreen' apps.

Really hope Archos implements soon 8)
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by Harfainx »

This actually gives me an interesting idea.

Now there is work to be done! :badgrin:
zandoli
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by zandoli »

Do you care to spill the beans Harfainx?
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by Harfainx »

I'm going to try to either remove, or hide the soft-buttons that are located in the /system/framework/framework-res.apk, then we can use a hidden soft-key set (the one you linked to).

Of course it would be a sloppy fix, but it would allow us to use the full screen, and not have the soft-buttons on the side all the time.

Unfortunately, it's Christmas so I won't be working on anything today. :lol:
zandoli
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by zandoli »

Sounds great! =D>
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1
gottahavit
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by gottahavit »

Harfainx wrote:I'm going to try to either remove, or hide the soft-buttons that are located in the /system/framework/framework-res.apk, then we can use a hidden soft-key set (the one you linked to).

Of course it would be a sloppy fix, but it would allow us to use the full screen, and not have the soft-buttons on the side all the time.

Unfortunately, it's Christmas so I won't be working on anything today. :lol:
I assume you are doing this with the rooted sde based fw from xda?
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by Harfainx »

I tried a few methods, but I always end up in a boot-loop. It doesn't seem to want to take a framework modification.

I'll have to attempt other methods of getting rid of the soft-keys.
fuzzer
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:57 pm

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by fuzzer »

Anyone try this with either the SDK root or the Archangel root?
sdho
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by sdho »

looks like there's a hidden setting for your rooted Achos101 to hide your soft keys....check out the thread at XDA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=940198
darkzkishiro
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:10 am

Re: Autohide menubar made easy!

Post by darkzkishiro »

Try 'Buttons for RW Rooted Archos' app from the market.
Buttons for RW Rooted Archos
Description:
This application for advanced users requires an Archos 43 / 70 / 101 with an rw rooted ROM (search the web for: rw root gen8), but NOT Urukdroid. If you have Urukdroid or a non-rw root, this application will not work--the changes you make will not stick.
Buttons for Archos will let you change the width of the buttons on the bottom or right of the screen (or remove them entirely if you wish, by setting the width to zero) as well as to rearrange the contents of the buttons.
You can even add new buttons with contents like "Camera" or "Volume +". These buttons should work, but they will have no icons due to limitations in the OS.
It says will not work on urukdroid.It works fine on my Urukdroid 1.5(A70S 8gb) .Change the width to '0' and the soft key button menu bar will disappear after reboot.I reboot several time the changes is still there.

Image

Image
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Apps”