Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Discuss cool Apps for the Gen8 Tablets
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by warlock257 »

I've only been using my 101 for a few hours, but am impressed with ACV (Android comic viewer).
I really like how you can customize the controls.
macemoneta
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by macemoneta »

My apps:

http://www.appbrain.com/user/macemoneta/

I especially like the smooth-scroll reading in Moon+ Reader
Sylph
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:33 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by Sylph »

Nice. I like that better than laputa and aldiko. Much more options and allow scrolling rather than only turning pages.

http://www.appbrain.com/user/sylph82/ is my list.
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by warlock257 »

I was having a lot of trouble with appbrain yesterday
I made this extensive list of apps I wanted, before getting my tablet. After downloading the appbrain market app, I could not find the list I had made. Not sure if I did something wrong, or I wasn't signed in properly, or what.

I've just been using the website as a reference, and getting everything from the google market.
Sylph
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:33 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by Sylph »

You have to sync first. Also, it needed to know where to 'install', so... Since you didn't have your tablet, it probably saved it into a list that might have disappeared when you added your tablet? :/
scottmcp432
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:42 am
Location: Midland, Texas
Contact:

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by scottmcp432 »

Thank you Sylph for the fix you posted previously regarding the protected apps on the market.So simple and now I have all the apps I was looking for but could not find.
My most used and favorite apps:
Setcpu
z4root
ATK Froyo(superior to standard ATK in my opinion)
Memory booster lite (consumes battery at high rate though)
Yahoo messenger for Android(with voice and video chat plug-in)
:D
A101,A5IMT,MBP,iPhone4,AsusG53JW
drs
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:29 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by drs »

Not mentioned so far...

Used to read web content offline (especially magazine articles):

Everpaper and Instafetch. I'm currently evaluating which of these I like better. Everpaper fails in the sync once in a while but I like its display slightly better. They are clones of the popular Instapaper app on the Iphone.

I'd like to hear about any other Everpaper clones on android that work well on Archos gen 8.
rock70
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:52 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by rock70 »

REAVER117 wrote:
bkgarrison wrote:
REAVER117 wrote:z4root will only provide a temorary root. That's really all I need right now, just enough to use SetCPU and LCD Density Changer. I will be crossing my fingers for a Cyanogen ROM.

What does the LCD Density changer allow you to do?

I realize it requires root, does it act like increasing the resolution on windows, making icons and such smaller?
Yes, it basically zooms out by changing what the OS believes the dpi for the display is. The 70 feels a lot less like a giant phone and more like a tablet with a lower dpi.
Hi - sounds interesting. Can anyone post pics of their screen after using LCD Density?
Sylph
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:33 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by Sylph »

I kinda felt the lcd density changer as semi pointless, when you use a launcher like launcherpro. I tested setting it to 120, 140 and didn't really like it too much.
JohnK
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:39 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by JohnK »

Okay, now that I have it working again. Pocket Legends!!! I used to play PK with my Samsung Moment but Pocket Legends is awesome on the 70! Only minor flaw is the "3d" sound goes tweaky everyonce in awhile and will blare out at you full volume.
tECHNGRO
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:35 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by tECHNGRO »

I have officially added Wordfued to my list of essential apps. I absolutely LOVE Scrabble type games, and this one is excellent. I hardly ever "buy" apps, but I might even let a few bucks slip grudgingly from my cold curmudgeonly hands to the developer. :)
tester482
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by tester482 »

z4root
setcpu 1000 mhz back!!!

zeam launcher
aldiko
perfect viewer
google apps (market, gmail, youtube, earth...)
dropbox ,2 gb online data storage ,very useful, please if you register it use my link : https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTEwM ... rc=global0


dolphin browser HD
Appbrain
winamp
Apptosd
Wifi Buddy
sanyasi420
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:04 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by sanyasi420 »

I am not able to find the Google Maps on the gAppsInstaller_v4 market, on my a70. Any idea why or where I can find it?
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by viking »

did u do all the steps on the xda market instructions, including the clear cache etc post processing? Don't do the final optional reset tho. The initial load just gives you a few apps, then you bootstrap thousands. I went entirely thru just the reference subcategory last night of about a thousand apps - took hours. Archos applib has quite a lot also, but it's google map is ver3 rather than new v5.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
sanyasi420
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:04 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by sanyasi420 »

hmm I did do a reset, thinking it would be a better, updated one ... does it help if i uninstall/install again

thanks Viking
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by viking »

I dunno... maybe someone else?
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
nekogami13
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:16 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by nekogami13 »

Any suggestion for a podcast app?
maineyak
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by maineyak »

For podcasts, I use the version of BeyondPod from the appslib, it's free and works really well, video player is a little wonky if you go to home directly from it, but just make sure to back out of it first and you should be golden. I didn't try getting it from the market, because it looks like the newest version from the Google market is more limited unless you pay for it.
martin_t
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by martin_t »

Podcasting/catching:

Doggcatcher
or MyPOD (though that became un-registerable for me after the Froyo update).
reddevilvs
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:03 am

Re: Essential Apps for your Archos...Post yours

Post by reddevilvs »

Sylph wrote:That's a common problem that require fixing. I just explained it in the thread titled "Missing apps in market, how to find?" near this thread.

I'll quote myself:
A solution was posted at some places here. It involves the following:

- Settings -> Apps -> manage applications -> Running -> Market
- Clear Cache
- Force Stop
- Back -> Google Service Framework
- Clear Data
- Force Stop
- Try running market. It should give you an error. That's fine and what it should do. Reboot the device

Protected apps will still be missing from the market, but the rest should hopefully be available for you.

This solution works for many people, including me.

Ah yeah, here's the video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7l-nySib ... _embedded#!
THANKS ! I just did the fix you listed and I can now see Launcer Pro ! I still cant see TV.Com but maybe thats one of the Protected Apps from Android.. I was able to go too TV.com via the WEb and save it as a favorite and now I can acess it from there!
What are some other Apps that people were missing before the above fix I was wondering? THANks ! Krissy....
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Apps”