UrukDroid 1.6

Open Development of Android, dual-booting other Linux OS and other hacks
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

Released on 1/2/12
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=895599
ÔÇó[CHANGE] Incorporated changes from Archos firmware 2.4.19, 2.4.65, 2.4.80 and 2.4.81
ÔÇó[CHANGE] Updated superuser apk and binaries
ÔÇó[FIX] Fixed some library linking
ÔÇó[NEW] Changed top bar button size to 32px permanently
ÔÇó[NEW] New overclock module from milestone-overclock to change CPU voltage and max frequencies on the fly
ÔÇó[CHANGE] Added overclock support to CPUGovernor service
ÔÇó[FIX] Restored proper busybox binary
ÔÇó[NEW] New patches on kernel from December update from Archos git
ÔÇó[NEW] Full iptables support (with NAT, conntrack etc) - so everything is now possible (redirect, proxies etc)
ÔÇó[NEW] Full kernel timing for power consumption monitoring
ÔÇó[NEW] Recompiled WiFi? and HDMI drivers
ÔÇó[NEW] Added python 2.7, iotop (for watching i/o operations), PowerTOP (for power consumption monitoring - but it's not as useful as on x86)
ÔÇó[NEW] Added ntfs-3g support - full read/write support for NTFS file systems (need to be used manually, vold does not use it)
ÔÇó[CHANGE] Added UrukDroid? Rescue Menu - Repair submenu with disabling overclocking (for those who made their device unbootable with overclocking) and Dalvik cache cleaner
ÔÇó[NEW] New feature in cpugovernor script (genconf, current)
ÔÇó[CHANGE] New features in update subsystem
scripts now tries to keep /data/.tmp directory cleaner,
for those with disk shortage /data/.tmp can be now symlink to directory on sdcard
updater now checks if you have enough free space in /data/.tmp before it begin installation
update process now can be during bootup (better one) if you have enough free space on rootfs, or on running system (not so nice - this is default behavior until UD 1.6 release)
ÔÇó[CHANGE] restoring backup in Rescue Menu now erases partition before restore (until now it was just overwriting)
ÔÇó[FIX] added (again ) xbox pad kernel support (was missed out in new kernel compilation)
ÔÇó[FIX] fixes scp/sftp-server (on some configuration refused to start child processes)


Haven't tried it out yet, but planning to soon. I'm sure its great like all of Sauron's work.
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
steveb625
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by steveb625 »

Currently running Urukdroid 1.6RC7 on my A70-8 and it is running well. RC7 is about the same as the final version according to $aur0n. Have it OC to 1100000 with max_vsel=68. Running better that it ever has. Still no iPad but it works. Testing with Angry Birds is smooth. Flash playback is pretty good but it seems to be browser dependent. When I install 1.6 final it will be a full format to gain back the memory currently taken by the other OS files.
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

steveb625 wrote:Have it OC to 1100000 with max_vsel=68.
Any noticeable difference in battery life?
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
steveb625
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by steveb625 »

It did not "kill" the battery life. I haven't noticed a real difference. At least it shuts off now unlike the updates between 4.19 and 4.81. I can run tunein radio by the stock browser all day at work. The screen stays on all day. Its about drained after 8 hours. I had the tunein app which would work with the screen off but it broke and it will not reinstall.
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

Up and running with UD 1.6 after a full wipe. With overclock to 1.1ghz Quadrant peaked at 1834, linpack around 17. Pretty nice.
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
CweLe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by CweLe »

Am i the only one having random crashes? First i installed it with biggest partitions it crashed a lot, then after full wipe installed with defaut sizes it randomly reboots. I have 250gig A70H

Quick question, if i wanna use for instance iGO with UD where should i put maps, with stock rom u put it on root/igo but if for ud it has to be on ext partitions then its too small.
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

I would think /sdcard/igo is the directory you want, but haven't used that app.

As far as reboots... I have had very very few with previous versions of UD and none with 1.6 so far. I did end up scrapping overclock due to some apps not running correctly.

Are you copying the existing data partition during installation?
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
CweLe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by CweLe »

I have tried "sd card" folder but no luck, in stock android it works on root, i took igo as example just need to know where to put data ive seen many apps packaged with "sd" files that should be extracted to root

I dont remember whether im copying data partition i choose the recomended option on that, i just install uruk and market with gappinstaller maybe market is the issue or some of gapp apps will reinstall tonight..
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

For what its worth, I install the market with Arctools thats on Appslib. Its probably not related to your problem.

Just to be clear, root is /, on board storage (where i think your folder should go) is /sdcard, and the external sdcard is /sdcard/sdcard. If you've tried /sdcard/igo, then im really not sure.

If you continue to have issues, write down all the options you select during install and post to XDA where the experts can help you out.
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
CweLe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by CweLe »

Ive tried another APP from root works just fine, ive reinstalled urukdroid 1.6 many times and have reboot issues, will do it last time now and post my results...

Edit ok installed fresh uruk 1.6, did HIDE SOFT BUTTONS, copied few video files for test, played one for 1min and it got frozen...im definitely going back to stock :(
FZelle
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by FZelle »

How do you think $auron will be able to help guys with the A70HD when no one stays long enough to help him find the solution?
CweLe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by CweLe »

FZelle wrote:How do you think $auron will be able to help guys with the A70HD when no one stays long enough to help him find the solution?
Soon as i get more posts on xda ill help him :) im new to android and im back to uruk again without stock rom, i get few reboots a day...
FZelle
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by FZelle »

There is one post in the normal forum, there you can start.
CweLe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by CweLe »

Thanks for the info, will do ASAP...
Yogin
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by Yogin »

Has anyone tried with firmware 2.4.82 ?
aaaaaaa
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by aaaaaaa »

Today I upgraded Urukdroid from 1.6.2 to 1.6.3 and found firmware version changed from 2.4.81 to 2.4.82. One particular difference now felt is that wifi seems more stable in power save mode.
mcmacpl
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:43 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by mcmacpl »

I recently installed UrukDroid 1.6 and in general feeling is very good.
But I have strange problem. I cannot enable overclock.
I have set corresponding entry in /etc/uruk.conf/cpugovernor file, but after rebooting overclocking is not enabled.
If I look into /lib/modules, I cannot see any overclock.ko module. Should it be there at all? Or maybe somewhere else?
I did not find any other user reporting such issue...
ponghclub
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 3:20 am
Location: New york city

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by ponghclub »

Hey. Newbee here....how to install urukdroid 1.6 please give direction....thanks
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by frank »

A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
effeesse
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:09 am

Re: UrukDroid 1.6

Post by effeesse »

urukdroided today, seems really ok so far.
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Hacking and Open Development”