Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

2.8", $79 for 4GB
Post Reply
joidberg
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:13 pm

Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

Post by joidberg »

Hello. I've just opened my new Archos 28 internet tablet 8GB. On the first screen that says "Press the center of the first cross", I press the cross and nothing happens. Also the rest of the screen seems to be unresponsive. Any suggestions? Thank you very much in advance.
gondel
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:03 am

Re: Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

Post by gondel »

It certainly sounds like a hardware problem, but it is easy to check. If you get out of the screen calibration program, does anything work ?
When you say the rest of the screen seems unresponsive, do you mean sluggish or no response ?
joidberg
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

Post by joidberg »

I can't calibrate. When I touch the screen to calibrate it nothing happens.
Also I tried the System recovery if there was anything that could be done there.
Here are the steps from the user guide
- Press and hold the power button until the ARCHOS banner is displayed and then release it.
- Press the power button twice (like a mouse double-click) while the banner is still displaying.
- A white Recovery screen should appear within a couple of seconds.
- To move from one option to another, press the power button. To select the highlighted item, hold down on the power button.

When I try to move from the first option (which is No) to the third option (Repair) and I press the power button, a message comes up: the system will now reboot and the device just reboots with nothing else happening.

When I say that the whole screen doesn't respond what I mean, for instance when you press for a little while the power button and a message comes up with the airplane mode etc, I can't choose that either. When I press the screen, nothing happens.
Thanks again.
gondel
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:03 am

Re: Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

Post by gondel »

It sounds as if you have simply had bad luck and received an unhealthy unit.
It is time to go back to the shop or ship it back to the vendor.
emac25
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:16 am

Re: Screen doesn't work (right of the box)

Post by emac25 »

This is how I solved the problem with the touch panel as of this time….
The first solution, the additional cable from Archos website or manual

Attach this cable to the archos, wait for a 10 seconds then the touch screen would work. If the cable won’t work attach a wired mouse.

The second solution is a female to female usb. (If you don’t have the additional cable from the website or the manual.)


Attached the cable that comes with your archos then the female to female usb adaptor, wait for a few seconds then the touch panel would work again. If it doesn’t work attach the wired mouse wait for a few seconds until the archos recognizes the wired mouse.

I hope this works to all archos.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 28 Internet Tablet”