ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

10.1" capacitive, $269 for 8GB, $296 for 16GB, HDMI output, webcam...
Post Reply
Tunker
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:34 am

ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Tunker »

I noticed that the Archos spinoff company Arnova are (or will be?) selling a 10" tablet running Gingerbread 2.3. It appears the specs are identical to the Archos 101. Does this mean we may get an official 2.3 for the 101???

http://arnovatech.com/products/g2/arn_1 ... us&lang=en
Todd6677
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Todd6677 »

Mmmmmmm... no.

For whatever it's worth, it was never stated the 101 would be upgradable to Gingerbread.

The 101 is what it is for now. A froyo Tablet.

T'would be cool if they did, but I'm not counting on it.
Ach
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:29 am

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Ach »

Its possible, but its not definite. I really don't see why we couldn't though... I mean Arnova is supposed to be the low end brand when compared to the Archos brand soooo...
adzman808
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by adzman808 »

does the anova have more ram than the 101?

that MIGHT be the problem....
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Harfainx »

Same amount of RAM (I believe).

The problem is the different CPU.

I could be wrong, but I'm fairly certain that the different CPU is the biggest difference between the two.
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by exelletor »

They say that G2 has 512MB. And because it's Rockchip based, it's not that easy to provide us with an update.
Tunker
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:34 am

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Tunker »

Harfainx wrote:Same amount of RAM (I believe).

The problem is the different CPU.

I could be wrong, but I'm fairly certain that the different CPU is the biggest difference between the two.
In the link I provided above the specs state that the processor is an ARM Cortex A8 1 GHz. That is the same as the Archos 101.
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Harfainx »

The chip isn't specified there though. ARM Cortex A8 is the technology in the processor, but it's not the actual system on chip. ARM is the company that designs the actual processor core , but they have very little to do with the customizations and optimizations of the SoC.

For example, both the NVidia Tegra 2 and the TI OMAP 4460 are both built on the ARM Cortex A9, but vastly different in actual build.

If I remember correctly, the Archos Gen8 lineup runs the TI OMAP 3630 processor, while the new ARNOVA devices are running Rockchip 2918 processors.
Tunker
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:34 am

Re: ARNOVA 10" G2 Gingerbread 2.3 > Archos 101

Post by Tunker »

Harfainx wrote:The chip isn't specified there though. ARM Cortex A8 is the technology in the processor, but it's not the actual system on chip. ARM is the company that designs the actual processor core , but they have very little to do with the customizations and optimizations of the SoC.

For example, both the NVidia Tegra 2 and the TI OMAP 4460 are both built on the ARM Cortex A9, but vastly different in actual build.

If I remember correctly, the Archos Gen8 lineup runs the TI OMAP 3630 processor, while the new ARNOVA devices are running Rockchip 2918 processors.
I see. Thanks for the explanation!
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 101 Internet Tablet”