Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

10.1" capacitive, $269 for 8GB, $296 for 16GB, HDMI output, webcam...
Post Reply
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by jan.jonas »

I've created a little app based on Googles "Hello WebView Tutorial" (http://developer.android.com/guide/tuto ... bview.html) that uses a WebView to load a URL.

When I'm running this application on my Archos 101 Internet Tablet it seems that the WLAN proxy settings are ignored: In the system settings I've configured the tablet to use a WLAN proxy and I've a test URL that is only accessible when using the proxy. The default browser and the Dolphin HD Browser seem to use the proxy settings and load the the URL. Using my app I'm not able to load the URL.

Do I have to explicitly permit or force my application to use the proxy? Are there any special (Archos) permissions?
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
quanbao
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by quanbao »

There is a soft named ASProxy (paid soft) said that the Archos can access the internet using proxy if you use it (the soft).
Otherwise, i dont know how to use proxy in some "system" app such as Market, Youtube.
You can try to use Statis IP, configure everything of the network
techguy
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:51 am
Location: West Virginia, USA

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by techguy »

The above post some great options. But if you're operating on a proxy server not maintained by you, it's very likely that this is a server side issue more than on your Archos side. Is it possible it just needs that site added to the allowed sites for the proxy?
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by jan.jonas »

Hi,
thanks for your answers. I want to use my own proxy server and Archos support proxy settings for WLAN connections but my app ignores the proxy settings :cry:. Proxy settings are supported since Firmware 2.1.8.

Summarized: I maintain the proxy server and I want to force my app to use this proxy server to load content. I've a test URL that is only accessible when using the proxy server and I'm able to load this URL with the default browser and the Dolphin HD browser but not with the WebView in my app.
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by jan.jonas »

No ideas... ? :(
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
nz
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Archos SA, France
Contact:

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by nz »

jan.jonas wrote:No ideas... ? :(
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/varunsekhri/arc ... proxy.aspx

says:
However, if you are working with WebView control in your app then above will not work unless your code has following line in onCreate()

WebView.enablePlatformNotifications();
and also:

http://manojtk.blogspot.com/2011/01/and ... tting.html

does that help?
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Using Wifi/WLAN Proxy in my WebView

Post by jan.jonas »

It's working. Thanks :)
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 101 Internet Tablet”