What Launcher are you using and why?

10.1" capacitive, $269 for 8GB, $296 for 16GB, HDMI output, webcam...
Post Reply
pete917
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:22 pm

What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by pete917 »

I've been looking for a new launcher for my A101. I find the stock one a bit limited and jerky in its scrolling.

I was wondering what aftermarket ones you had tried and what you thought about them?

I just tried go launcher and it was smooth and had some great functions. Problem is it only seems to work in Portrait.

I look forward to your thoughts
norm258
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:38 am

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by norm258 »

I've tried a few and have settled on VT Launcher - its designed for a tablet in mind and is pretty nice and easy.
2ndaccord
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 7:07 am

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by 2ndaccord »

I personally use Launcher pro and love it. It is very fast and it has great widgets that can be skinned to your liking. Way better that the stock launcher.
pete917
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:22 pm

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by pete917 »

Thanks guys.
my02vr6
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by my02vr6 »

norm258 wrote:I've tried a few and have settled on VT Launcher - its designed for a tablet in mind and is pretty nice and easy.
I use this one, I've tried launcher pro but wasn't impressed.
2ndaccord wrote:I personally use Launcher pro and love it. It is very fast and it has great widgets that can be skinned to your liking. Way better that the stock launcher.
You have to pay for full usage of launcher pro, including resizing widgets. VT launcher does this for free. I've heard ADW launcher does this for free also. There are a ton of options in VT launcher that I never found in pro. VTL also has side bars and a bar on the bottom for apps, so you don't have to load up your home screen with apps, and they are available on each screen.
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by warlock257 »

norm258 wrote:I've tried a few and have settled on VT Launcher - its designed for a tablet in mind and is pretty nice and easy.
couldnt find it in the market. where did you get it?
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by warlock257 »

nevermind, I found it

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1046302

seems pretty cool so far
pete917
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:22 pm

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by pete917 »

just got go launcher working and configured landscape. very nice and very, very smooth. i wonder why the stock launcher couldnt
be as good.

going to try a few more for fun.
Hellman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:38 am

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by Hellman »

Stock launcher. 'Cause I'm cheap and lazy. :)
pete917
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:22 pm

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by pete917 »

Ive now installed VTL and Go. Both very good. I have to say though I think Go has the edge. A little slicker tan VTL and both much, much slicker than stock. Also go is free and has loads of free themes....

Mind you, VTL is free if you get it via XDA.
ChrisH
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:20 pm
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by ChrisH »

Been using Zeam but got VTL so I'll give that a try. Zeam is ok but hardly brilliant although better than stock...
8Gb Archos 101
my02vr6
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am

Re: What Launcher are you using and why?

Post by my02vr6 »

pete917 wrote:Mind you, VTL is free if you get it via XDA.
I got it straight from their website, and it was free, too. I just googled it since I couldn't find any of the launchers in the market either.
A7-160gb/A7o-8gb
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 101 Internet Tablet”