Car bracket?

10.1" capacitive, $269 for 8GB, $296 for 16GB, HDMI output, webcam...
fokinel
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:39 pm
Location: YYC

Car bracket?

Post by fokinel »

Hi guys,

I'm waiting for my 101 16 to arrive, but til then keep trolling through forums to find interesting and/or useful accessories and apps. I might be using my 101 in the car, and happened upon this:
http://www.amazon.ca/Car-Holder-Archos- ... B004AQM896
coffee cup holder. It says 'Archos holder', but is apparent from the pictures that it would hold a lot of things. Has anyone used it? Or seen alternatives?

Cheers
wes_s
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by wes_s »

Got this from radio shack for my droid x but it fits the 101 too. It was about $ 20
Image
Image
Hexidecimal
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by Hexidecimal »

Do you know the brand or model of that mount? I'd be interested in one.
wes_s
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by wes_s »

Sorry, I don't remember the brand, just where I got it.
Hexidecimal
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by Hexidecimal »

Darn, oh well, can't seem to find that one on the radioshack website. It's exactly what I'm looking for though. The search continues.
aamon17
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:30 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by aamon17 »

supergman25
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:09 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by supergman25 »

^^^^i ordered one pretty much identical the other day. when my 101 comes and the bracket comes i will test!

im prayin it works out exactly how i want it...cuz it will be perfect for my car.
aamon17
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:30 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by aamon17 »

The Sears bracket is perfect & adjusts even wider if needed for another device, such as my Viewsonic G-tablet.
fokinel
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:39 pm
Location: YYC

Re: Car bracket?

Post by fokinel »

Thanks for the feedback guys. Wes_s - do you have any problems with visibility and blind spots with that on the dash? Thats one of the reasons I was looking at a coffee cup mount over a windshield mount.

PS - nice pictures - looks like Hwy2 south of Calgary :)

Cheers
/f
wes_s
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by wes_s »

I don't use the 101 up there much, at least not until I can get Copilot running right. It doesn't block too much but it is pretty huge so I wouldn't want it anwhere else on the dash.

It's actually 58 in Southern California on my way into work in Bakersfield.
termn8er
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by termn8er »

What about a car adapter for the lighter?
AndroidGuru
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by AndroidGuru »

wes_s wrote:Got this from radio shack for my droid x but it fits the 101 too. It was about $ 20
Image
Image

Wowza! Is that legal? lol. Looks as if you wouldn't be able to see anything!
termn8er
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by termn8er »

Does anyone have an A/C adapter for the car? I take long trips an would love to use it for them, but need the A/C to make it. To bad it doesn't charge from the mini usb as I have this for my BB phone.
675 Trip
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by 675 Trip »

wes_s wrote:I don't use the 101 up there much, at least not until I can get Copilot running right. It doesn't block too much but it is pretty huge so I wouldn't want it anwhere else on the dash.

It's actually 58 in Southern California on my way into work in Bakersfield.
I got CoPilot working in portrait with bt Gps puck. Cuts off a little of the bottom edge times.

Latest 8.2. 0.368 I think.

I still like google maps better when I have battery on phone for hotspot
dcrow
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:35 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by dcrow »

termn8er,

Image
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00305 ... ss_product
+
Image
http://www.madvapes.com/2-amp-Car-to-US ... _2358.html
=
Should be a 10$ (+S&H) proper 2 amp dc car charger for the 101. I haven't recieved these yet to test, but it should work.

[UPDATE]
Link to cable fixed...
Last edited by dcrow on Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
soulhunt79
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:41 am

Re: Car bracket?

Post by soulhunt79 »

dcrow wrote:termn8er,

Image
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003GS ... 0YQUZ2NYD5

Should be a 10$ (+S&H) proper 2 amp dc car charger for the 101. I haven't recieved these yet to test, but it should work.
That link is showing some kensington ipod charger for me.
tomt92
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:01 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by tomt92 »

soulhunt79 wrote:
dcrow wrote:termn8er,

Image
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003GS ... 0YQUZ2NYD5

Should be a 10$ (+S&H) proper 2 amp dc car charger for the 101. I haven't recieved these yet to test, but it should work.
That link is showing some kensington ipod charger for me.
Its the old adapters for some cell phones, external drives and oddly enough blue cigs... LOL.. I suspect that the 2amp rating on the power adapter is just to fully charge the device... I plugged it into a Johnston battery and te device started to charge even though the Max output was 1.5amp ad not 2..

Legeal wise I know in my as long as you are not using it to watch videos you should be fine.. I would just keep it low so the drivers view is not obsturcted... strange fact fuzzy dice are illeagle because they obstruction the drivers view...
wes_s
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by wes_s »

Got copilot running :)
Image
frankws
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:24 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by frankws »

I also ordered a couple of those 2 amp usb adapters.
The 101 requires a 2 amp to properly charge the battery.
http://www.madvapes.com/2-amp-Car-to-US ... _2358.html
I also ordered a couple cables like those pictured from
http://www.newmp3technology.com/a101+accessories.html
dcrow
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:35 pm

Re: Car bracket?

Post by dcrow »

OOps... I had meant this link http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00305 ... ss_product for amazons version of the cable

And BTW.. It works great!!!
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 101 Internet Tablet”