Page 1 of 2

Marketplace

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:54 pm
by yellowpenguin
Hi please someone put me out of my misery. I downloaded marketplace to my Archos and rebooted. Now it just says it cannot open file. I am stuck and getting very frustrated.

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:02 am
by czesiu
well, clean install will probably help...

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:06 am
by mpar
More info needed. Was the file downloaded directly from the internet or transferred from a computer? Which version of the marketplace was downloaded? Is the file in the download directory?

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:08 am
by yellowpenguin
I downloaded it from comp via usb, and have tried putting it in various placs and it still says cannot open. gApps4Archos.apk

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:11 am
by mpar
Do you have gApps4Archos.apk or gApps4Archos2.apk

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:12 am
by yellowpenguin
gApps4Archos.apk

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:13 am
by Sylke
I downloaded it from comp via usb, and have tried putting it in various placs and it still says cannot open. gApps4Archos.apk
Did you install it or just downloaded?

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:14 am
by mpar
Are you using 2.1 or 2.2

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:17 am
by yellowpenguin
I have just tried gApps4Archos2.apk and I have 2.2 and its still saying cannot open file

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:18 am
by mpar
The file is in the download directory?

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:19 am
by yellowpenguin
Well theres a thing I do not appear to have a download directory on my Archos 101 ???

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:23 am
by mpar
Did you get the file from this location http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=42067

There is a program in applications called " files " & a directory called " download " in files

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:28 am
by yellowpenguin
Yes thats where I got it from. Still cant find the download files. How do I do a complete system reset ?. Thank you for helping me.

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:31 am
by mpar
If everything else is working ok there should not be a need for a reset.

Did you find the application " files "

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:33 am
by yellowpenguin
I have files on screen front which has network, android, music, video and thats it

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:34 am
by yellowpenguin
Many things do not seem right on mine, thats why I figured if I knew how to do a factory reset I could start over with a bit of luck.

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:41 am
by mpar
Everything worked ok in 2.1?

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:43 am
by yellowpenguin
Yes except I had not tried to get marketplace at that point as only had my 101 for a few days

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:48 am
by mpar
When you upgraded to 2.2 did the Archos work like it did in 2.1

Re: Marketplace

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:49 am
by yellowpenguin
Yes