Wi Fi Widget

7" capacitive, $199 for 8GB, $249 for 250GB (with free shipping), HDMI output, webcam...
Post Reply
TonyAbbott
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm

Wi Fi Widget

Post by TonyAbbott »

Hi All,

I stupidly uninstalled the Wi Fi widget from my tablet - it was in the downloaded section.
Of course now I can't connet to anything to re-download it.

Any ideas on how I can get wi fi back on my tablet.

thanks
DugyC
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by DugyC »

Press the Menu button (the stripes) and select Settings, Wireless and Networks (I think) and turn on WiFi...

...though I suspect this is not the answer you're looking for as it's too obvious.
TonyAbbott
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by TonyAbbott »

Thanks for the reply, but I've tried that, and when I enable it I get "Error".
I assume this is because the underlying app has been deleted.
I even managed to download another app via my PC and xfer that to the tablet. When I run that I get Error as well.
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by viking »

I dont see any app for wifi on my froyo a70, whether under downloaded or all.
What happens when you toggle wifi in the settings menu? Download widget directly to a70 that google sez is compatible maybe
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
TonyAbbott
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by TonyAbbott »

Thanks for the reply.

When I try starting Wi-fi from the settings or when I download and run a Wi-Fi app I just get "Error" shown with know additional information at all.
TonyAbbott
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by TonyAbbott »

Just resolved it.

I managed to download another wi-fi app, then switch on/off (not reboot), then activate the new wi-fi app, and it seems to work.

Thanks very much for all your efforts.
viking
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1795
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Honolulu

Re: Wi Fi Widget

Post by viking »

if we are talking the original froyo gen 8 a70, not those 70b or whatever which i dont know about... it is simple. There are occasional hiccups getting wifi turned on, especially when woken from sleep. Error is not uncommon, so just go into wifi settings from settings. Just going there gets mine unstuck, unless you actually need to change the settings. Other wifi widgets are a dime a dozen, and often better.

So to be sure, uninstall that wifi app. Reboot. Go to settings. Click wifi settings.
a101g9 a70g8 an10g2 sg42 sg5 voy115
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 70 Internet Tablet”