Why does my 70b IT run on Froyo?

7" capacitive, $199 for 8GB, $249 for 250GB (with free shipping), HDMI output, webcam...
Post Reply
Morty
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:10 am

Why does my 70b IT run on Froyo?

Post by Morty »

Why does my new Archos 70b IT run on Froyo 2.2.1? Where is Android 3.x Honeycomb as stated by Archos?

According to Settings I'm on firmware 2.4.32 now.
Will Archos update 2.4.81 get me to Honeycomb? Or will it just bring some battery drain problems I've just read about or something similar I don't want to see?

TIA!
paulus3476
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: Lincs,UK

Re: Why does my 70b IT run on Froyo?

Post by paulus3476 »

The 70b is not even officially released yet, the firmware will come soon, in the meantime you could update to 2.4.8.1 - it's been great for batterylife on my devices
exelletor
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:36 pm

Re: Why does my 70b IT run on Froyo?

Post by exelletor »

Download the following firmware:

update.archos.com/9/gen8v2avx9/gen8v2avx9_3.2.77/firmware_archos_it3.aos

It's released a few hours ago.

If it doesn't work, you got what you paid for. :)
nathany
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Why does my 70b IT run on Froyo?

Post by nathany »

Just tried updating my 70b (250GB) and it failed. Looking at the support area on the Archos site it looks like they may have released 3 variations on the 70b internet tablet, with only one supporting Honeycomb. There appear to be:

70b Internet Tablet 8GB (Honeycomb)
70b Internet Tablet 8GB (Froyo)
70b Internet Tablet 250GB (Froyo)

I suspect the 'froyo' editions are some sort of hybrid that will not be updated to Honeycomb... I may be wrong but it looks that way at the moment, particularly because they do not acknowledge the existence of a 250GB 70b - the specs on the site only list the 8B model.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 70 Internet Tablet”