GPS. Hope it works.

Discuss the best USB, Bluetooth, WiFi (etc..) accessories and peripherals
goodevilgenius
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:13 pm

GPS. Hope it works.

Post by goodevilgenius »

I ordered a bluetooth GPS receiver yesterday that I plan to use with my A101 (It was $19 yesterday; it's $26 today). I've heard a couple people mention on here that this can work. Any suggestions by anyone on what my next step should be? Should I use Google Maps, or is there a better mapping application that I can use?
Stapel
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:00 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by Stapel »

Gps bt receiver works. Just tried it here with navigation from google apps. Only jou need to ser location on in settings and select the gps bt .. costed me an hour to figure that out

Cheers
blazingwolf
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:16 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by blazingwolf »

Google maps requires data to update the maps so if you plan to go some where and don't tether to your phone then you will need a stand alone GPS program.
Follow me on mytabletlife.com.
EvolvedFire
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by EvolvedFire »

Ok, I have Gps working using a bluetooth reciever i bought on ebay for £5

You need a bluetooth gps program, Theres plenty in the app store, im using one called bluegps, theres also one called something like "gps mouse"? but that only connects you 10 mins at a time in the free version (PRess reconnect every 10 mins)

You pair the devices, and it comes up with "paired not connected" <- the gps program sorts connecting them out

Gps works in the maps, worked in navigation for me as well (Other say it doesnt)

Erm, Maps and navi dont store them offline, so i paid for Navdroyd which does store offline

Any questions Ask here or PM me
Rambler358
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:06 am
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by Rambler358 »

Doesn't the A101 have a internal GPS?
CrunchyDoodle
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 5:26 am
Location: Southern California

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by CrunchyDoodle »

No. That's the older models.

Bye. 8)

PS. I went to Arlington Elementary and North High a million years ago.
Rambler358 wrote:Doesn't the A101 have a internal GPS?
jasdjensen
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:41 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by jasdjensen »

Just tested the bluetooth gps and it works with bluetooth and froyo. Now to get tethering working.
675 Trip
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by 675 Trip »

I tested bluetooth gps output on my nexus and froyo gps native on the A101 last night and it worked great.

I just received my external BT gps puck ($25) but would have paid the 1.50 for the program to use my phone if I thought it would work (early testing on eclair wasn't good)
iWantAndroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:06 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by iWantAndroid »

jasdjensen wrote:Just tested the bluetooth gps and it works with bluetooth and froyo. Now to get tethering working.
What Bluetooth GPS receiver are you using?

CoPilot (for USA) is like $5.00 last time I looked.
Last edited by iWantAndroid on Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jasdjensen
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:41 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by jasdjensen »

Is there a way to cache google maps for about 100 miles or so or is there a different program that I can use for maps that caches maps?

(And I'm using a Holux M100)
iWantAndroid
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:06 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by iWantAndroid »

jasdjensen wrote:
(And I'm using a Holux M100)

I've heard great things about CoPilot from Android Phone Users and it's only $5 for USA Maps. (your mileage may vary)
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by warlock257 »

I was looking at other mapping apps the other day. Came up with one, simply called "maps" and one called "MapDroyd". They are both on appslib.

Not having my 101 yet, or a gps receiver, I can't test them
675 Trip
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by 675 Trip »

I figured it was time to spend $5 on copilot.

Every time I tried purchasing through A101, it wouldn't complete the authorization

I purchased it on my phone because website says you can transfer it from one android to another by deactivating the first.

I didn't start (or complete) the reg on my phone and tried to do it on the tablet. I got trial expired messages.

my phone started giving low memory warning so I deleted copilot through applications (not market because I didn't want to cancel order) it canceled it anyway.

I went back to tablet and tried again and still no luck, so I bought it on phone (no refund now) installed it all the way, dl'd small local map and then tried to deactivate - can't greyed out.

I contact support re: can't deactivate and their professional response is - we don't support archos tablets, here's a link to the 3 supported devices - bubbye - paraphrased.

I have read elsewhere that they are a little retarded on their licensing and it takes days to activate a purchase, so I am hoping that is the answer and once it is fully active, I can deactivate it and install on tablet.

Has anyone been successful installing on A101 tablet?
apensity
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by apensity »

Does anyone have a link to a receiver? I tried to look them up but only see things around $100+.
2Vision, 2-28's and a 101 Quad 1366
supergman25
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:09 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by supergman25 »

MarcusMarcus
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 973
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by MarcusMarcus »

Here is the one I got
http://www.amazon.com/Holux-Channel-Wir ... 217&sr=8-1
It was $42. Be aware of the ones that people say they got for around $20. They do work but they seem to take longer to get the initial location when first turning them on and seem to have trouble getting signal inside buildings or outside around big buildings. The one I have gets the signal quickly, even when inside my house. My stand alone tomtom gps wont even get a signal at all inside my house.
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0
jasdjensen
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:41 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by jasdjensen »

I have a holux m100 and it seems to work fine in every situaion I've tried.
KB3MMX
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:53 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by KB3MMX »

Is there any way to use the GPS data from my HTC Droid Incredible if I tether the two?
jasdjensen
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:41 pm

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by jasdjensen »

I would say that using the gps signal from a phone to your tablet isn't going to work. The way that bluetooth GPS works is to transmit an NMEA (if I remember correctly) signal with a certain protocol.

Unless you find a program for your phone to emulate that, it ain't gonna work.
Last edited by jasdjensen on Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
gottahavit
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:35 am

Re: GPS. Hope it works.

Post by gottahavit »

Yes this works and has been discussed in depth on other threads. There are apps for android and windows mobile which let you use them as bluetooth GPS devices. I personally use my Omnia 2 for both data and GPS.
Post Reply

Return to “Gen8 Accessories”