Archos 70 Screwdriver

General Gen8 Archos Tablet discussions
Post Reply
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Hi guys,

As my screen is broke, no warranty or receipt, I'm in need to break open the Archos myself.

There was a thread that stated which and were to get the correct screwdriver from, (Perhaps Ebay) but after searching I can't seem to find it.

Any ideas, or links to the correct one please?

Regards,
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by Harfainx »

I may be wrong, but I think it's a T5 torx screwdriver. They're pretty common in computer repair kits.

Like I said, I may be wrong as I haven't opened mine up in a while... but something like this should work for you:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/986111 ... RGKGWRW4T0
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Thanks Harfainx and Jamie41 for the PM :)
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Screw drivers have arrived!

Though opened my device, changed the screen, plugged it all back in and now it doesn't start up, no green LED or anything, poo.

I did accidently touch the circuit, and felt as though I had a small electric shock, could that have tripped it?!
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Connected it to the charger and its all working fine now. Perhaps it needed a current???
defenderbob
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by defenderbob »

SWDT wrote:Connected it to the charger and its all working fine now. Perhaps it needed a current???
if you unplug it, will it still work?

Maybe you dischanged it when you hit a contact?
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Hi there,

Yep it works if un-plugged, though the LED isn't always on, so perhaps a problem there to investigate.

Though my touchscreen problem is sorted so thats good lol
Todd6677
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by Todd6677 »

Where did you get the new screen from?

That would be good nfo to know just in case something ever happened.
SWDT
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Archos 70 Screwdriver

Post by SWDT »

Sorry, I was having a touchscreen problem that seemed to be causing by something pressing on the digitizer.

I simply lifted the entire touchscreen unit out and replaced it, my problem is solved somehow. :shock:
Post Reply

Return to “General Archos Gen8: Archos 28, 32, 43, 70 and 101 Internet Tablets”