Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

General Gen8 Archos Tablet discussions
Post Reply
medmike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:04 pm

Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by medmike »

Member "Ardatdat" has froyo 2.2.1 rooted with overclock to 1200 and 512 swap on a 70IT .Can someone with more computer knowledge take a look-see and let us know?
Thanks
MarcusMarcus
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 973
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by MarcusMarcus »

Where's the link? I'm to lazy to search that website.
Archos 70S
Samsung GalaxyS WiFi 5.0
The Doge
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:22 pm

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by The Doge »

Darkseider
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:48 pm

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by Darkseider »

The unit has the SDE firmware running and the system is being booted using a custom kernel off of the SD card NOT system memory. It is far slower to boot as well as run basic tasks due to the fact that it is solely running off the SD Card.
medmike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:04 pm

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by medmike »

Bummer.....
deet
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by deet »

Darkseider wrote:The unit has the SDE firmware running and the system is being booted using a custom kernel off of the SD card NOT system memory. It is far slower to boot as well as run basic tasks due to the fact that it is solely running off the SD Card.
How does a class 6 SDHC card compare to the built-in flash memory?

If it is as bad as you imply then this approach is futile and we still need at least a temp root for the existing Archos firmware.
A80S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES.1.1
Darkseider
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:48 pm

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by Darkseider »

deet wrote:
Darkseider wrote:The unit has the SDE firmware running and the system is being booted using a custom kernel off of the SD card NOT system memory. It is far slower to boot as well as run basic tasks due to the fact that it is solely running off the SD Card.
How does a class 6 SDHC card compare to the built-in flash memory?

If it is as bad as you imply then this approach is futile and we still need at least a temp root for the existing Archos firmware.
It has nothing to do with the Class 6 speed as much as it does with the EXT3 filesystem.. VFAT is pretty quick unfortunately it cannot be used on the SD because Android needs to use a Linux file system due to the fact that it is Linux and uses linux file permissions and structure.
Harfainx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Nomad

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by Harfainx »

Anything that you see with root will be based on the SDE. So don't get your hopes up about having root without installing the SDE.

The nice thing about the SDE though is that it runs in a sandbox mode, so it makes your device nearly unbrickable.
sdho
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Root over at xda forum! with oc to 1200!

Post by sdho »

guess, I'll let the root process mature first just like the Market installer :P ...Thx ArchosFans and XDA
Post Reply

Return to “General Archos Gen8: Archos 28, 32, 43, 70 and 101 Internet Tablets”