gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

General Gen8 Archos Tablet discussions
Luvmyarchos
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:02 am

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by Luvmyarchos »

soldierblue wrote:Would this still work on 2.1?
gAppsInstaller_v3 is meant for froyo 2.2. There is a different appinstaller for 2.1.

-Luvmyarchos
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

soldierblue wrote:Would this still work on 2.1?
You'd have to make your own zip files with 2.1 compatible files
mrkniceguy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:14 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by mrkniceguy »

Dude, you rule! This worked flawlessly for me! I was using the market with the graphic bug so I just wiped and started fresh. Installation went well and the market fix to show apps like LauncherPro worked. It even let me see the Team Coco app, which I had been side loading from my HTC Hero.

Only issue I have is a strange one. I'm trying to get Spark 360 (used to be Open Spark) to work. It requires a market authentication, which fails, and then I can't use the app. It's a killer app (works on my Hero to connect me to Xbox friends and send messages and such) and would be great to get to work. Any ideas?
A70IT 8GB - HTC EVO 4G
mrkniceguy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:14 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by mrkniceguy »

A70IT 8GB - HTC EVO 4G
JDea
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:34 am

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by JDea »

This is good news, hopefully xda developers will get crackin on rooting the archos now since its becoming more popular and available as well.
mrkniceguy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:14 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by mrkniceguy »

JDea wrote:This is good news, hopefully xda developers will get crackin on rooting the archos now since its becoming more popular and available as well.
I agree. I didn't realize they had finally added a Gen8 section. Bodes well for us. ;)
A70IT 8GB - HTC EVO 4G
m-p{3}
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: gAppsInstaller_v3 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by m-p{3} »

Works wonderfully for me. Thanks for making such an efficient and user-friendly package ! :D
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

gAppsInstaller_v4 released

* Stable market, no FCs or GUI defect
* Misc Market app crashes fixed (OSMonitor, WeatherBug, Autozone and others)

I'm using a different Vendor.apk file so you MIGHT have to RESET before applying v4 over v3. I actually didn't try it, so it may or may not work. I suggest starting with a fresh reset.
BGMArchos
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:48 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by BGMArchos »

kenyu73 wrote:gAppsInstaller_v4 released

* Stable market, no FCs or GUI defect
* Misc Market app crashes fixed (OSMonitor, WeatherBug, Autozone and others)

I'm using a different Vendor.apk file so you MIGHT have to RESET before applying v4 over v3. I actually didn't try it, so it may or may not work. I suggest starting with a fresh reset.
Wow you're super! I just did a reset and did the installation steps using gapps2Archos2.apk with a size of 10,489,722, I'm not sure of the version, but where can I find these other versions? Is it worth upgrading to the latest version?

Could you, please, post the versions: (A) locations; (B) dates; (C) size I think it will help keep track of the various APK files both on the net and on our computers / tablets.

Bert.
A70 8 | A70 250 | HTC EVO | IMX 51
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

BGMArchos wrote:
kenyu73 wrote:gAppsInstaller_v4 released

* Stable market, no FCs or GUI defect
* Misc Market app crashes fixed (OSMonitor, WeatherBug, Autozone and others)

I'm using a different Vendor.apk file so you MIGHT have to RESET before applying v4 over v3. I actually didn't try it, so it may or may not work. I suggest starting with a fresh reset.
Wow you're super! I just did a reset and did the installation steps using gapps2Archos2.apk with a size of 10,489,722, I'm not sure of the version, but where can I find these other versions? Is it worth upgrading to the latest version?

Could you, please, post the versions: (A) locations; (B) dates; (C) size I think it will help keep track of the various APK files both on the net and on our computers / tablets.

Bert.
Dont use the gApps4Archos tool. I have my tool download link in the original post. It is worth resetting and installing the market with my tool.
rjsison
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by rjsison »

Tried many ways to fix market and YouTube problems, this is the only way that worked. Thanks!
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by kenyu73 »

bump
frank
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by frank »

this one should get stickied imo.
A70 8gb Urukdroid 1.6
Nexus 7
loganss
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by loganss »

Thank you for this thread!!
Very easy to install and no tinkering with terminal emulators to get the youtube app to work.

Def should be a sticky thread.

Another great thing I like about this method is that it only installs the bare minimum Google apps if you select that option. I had no need for GMail and Voice Search. One less app to take up the already limited resources. If I do want these apps in the future, I can simply get it from the market. I also see some apps in the market search I didn't see with the other installer
A101-8GB | N1
warlock257
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: gAppsInstaller_v4 - NEW APK - Froyo

Post by warlock257 »

Works great with the new firmware
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

Post by kenyu73 »

bump: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7
sweetypie
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 3016
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Sweetyland

Re: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

Post by sweetypie »

Where do you read that version number? In Manage Applications all I see is version 1002207?

I can't see anything about a version number in the app itself.
axdavies
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Sun Prairie, WI

Re: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

Post by axdavies »

Can we install v5 over v4?
kenyu73
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

Post by kenyu73 »

axdavies wrote:Can we install v5 over v4?
No, sorry.
axdavies
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Sun Prairie, WI

Re: gAppsInstaller_v5 - Market 2.2.7

Post by axdavies »

deleted..
Locked

Return to “General Archos Gen8: Archos 28, 32, 43, 70 and 101 Internet Tablets”