Page 2 of 2

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:05 pm
by czesiu
mothy wrote:
czesiu wrote:
mothy wrote:

do you already have the sdk installed?

If so go to your sdk folder\usb driver folder and open that file in notepad.
I did.
I have Android Composite ADB Interface in device manager but nothing is displayed after 'adb devices'
Well we are in the same boat then, I guess Ill wait for the apk complied for me.
hah, why did you write that it works ?! :D

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:11 pm
by voidunknown
Worked perfectly for me. It's actually pretty easy to do.

Just installed Flash 10.1 from the market, now I'm on my way to complete android bliss.

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:20 pm
by kenyu73
voidunknown wrote:Worked perfectly for me. It's actually pretty easy to do.

Just installed Flash 10.1 from the market, now I'm on my way to complete android bliss.
Did this work on Windows or Linux/iOS, etc?

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:30 pm
by czesiu
nz wrote: or on Windows:

Code: Select all

echo 0x0e79 >> "%USERPROFILE%\.android\adb_usb.ini"
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.p ... 94#p251294

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:30 pm
by voidunknown
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit

I used the Archos 5 IT drivers with no modification, as suggested in the first post.

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:41 pm
by oomatter
ADB wasn't working for me so I just got the z4root app from xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953 and temp rooted my A70.

Then I used root explorer to copy all the apks from the google apps into the /data/test/froyo/system/app
folder.

I rebooted and everything seems to be working fine. No computer needed. I'm downloading an app off the market as I type this.

Ok, not perfect, little bit of force closing, but the app installed fine.

Downloading flash now :)

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:58 pm
by czesiu
another problem - I have FCs from market all the time...
any ideas?

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:06 pm
by elmerohueso
jondaviskorn wrote:seems like alot of **** to do will this be the only way of doing it or will someone come up with a simpler way
Putting the Google Apps on the Archos is a hack. It is not something supported by Archos. By definition, hacking is not meant to be easy, but the non-programmers/hackers think that it is because the programmers/hackers provide simpler ways for others to do it (eg. providing an APK that does all the work). So yeah, it is a lot of work, and someone will have to do all that work.
If you want an easier way to do it you can either 1) wait patiently to reap the rewards of someone else's hard work, or 2) learn programming for the Android and help create an easier way (which others will of course benefit from).

Sorry to go off, and this isn't just directed at you, but I deal with people all day who just want to hit an Easy button to get things done.

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:55 pm
by SFO
Anybody has a mirror for market.rar files? Can't download ffrom dl.free.fr

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:56 pm
by czesiu
czesiu wrote:another problem - I have FCs from market all the time...
any ideas?
FC after each installation from the market to be precise :(

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:58 pm
by kenyu73
The market.rar download contains the 2.1 gApps it looks. This is why the Market is FC'ing. If you look at the dates of those files, they're like 2008. Maybe it's just a glitch or maybe the person who made these has a computer with a bad time (=.. i dunno

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:13 am
by asphxia
fixed.

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:32 am
by digibucc
kenyu73 wrote:The market.rar download contains the 2.1 gApps it looks. This is why the Market is FC'ing. If you look at the dates of those files, they're like 2008. Maybe it's just a glitch or maybe the person who made these has a computer with a bad time (=.. i dunno
i used method 2, not the one in this thread - but i just copied my vending.apk out of my 2.2 evo into my A70, now it works with froyo no crashes.

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:05 am
by pcm2a
Can you upload the apk file that we need to stop the crashes?

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:22 am
by accountessa
I used digibucc's suggestion (vending). Works great...thank you!

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:12 am
by digibucc
pcm2a wrote:Can you upload the apk file that we need to stop the crashes?
digibucc wrote:the market force closes because it is actually the eclair version hacked for froyo, replacing the vending.apk with a froyo version fixes the crashes.

i copied the vending.apk out of my 2.2 Evo and followed the directions again, this time only copying that specific apk after deleting the existing one. now browsing downloading installing from the market no crashes, so a new vending.apk is your solution.

well whaddaya know , it seems some nice fella uploaded the proper vending.apk here:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7d7j8z

definitely wasn't me, just replace the one from your existing "market" folder. it should be 900+kb(new) vs 600+kb(old)
the quote was from the other thread.

@accountessa

no problem! I am just happy i actually figured out something useful for everyone!

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:21 am
by Sylph
Thanks for the market.rar and vending file. It was kinda funny how only the outdated adb.exe from archos works with the device, and i have to use only the adb.exe. Having the other files from the archos adb site on the adb folder actually makes it not work. I also used the device driver from android sdk, using the tips someone mentioned (Adding the 5-6 lines for archos).

The bat file is silly though, all that lines can be cut to one line "for /r %%i in (*.apk) do adb push %%i /data/test/froyo/system/app"

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:11 am
by Gerke
oomatter wrote:ADB wasn't working for me so I just got the z4root app from xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953 and temp rooted my A70.

Then I used root explorer to copy all the apks from the google apps into the /data/test/froyo/system/app
folder.

I rebooted and everything seems to be working fine. No computer needed. I'm downloading an app off the market as I type this.

Ok, not perfect, little bit of force closing, but the app installed fine.

Downloading flash now :)
You are fantastic, it now works, and with the earlier mentioned vending.apk, it now is stable, no crashes anymore =D> \:D/

Re: 1st solution for the market on Froyo

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:24 am
by june99
logichoops wrote:im using Windows 7 64 bit and cant get the driver to work, my PC sees the device but drivers wont install
Try to install them again or to update them:
I found this page via Google, it's a french page but still understandable :)
www.pilotes-driver.fr
Good luck and CU 8)