Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

7", $179 for 2GB, $186 for 8GB in the USA, 149Ôé¼ in Europe
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

RobertAsticles wrote:BTW i found the reason why audio files are listed 2x in the player:

It happens when you store audiofiles on the sd-card. If you store them on the internal memory, this error doesn't happen.
It's because the sd-card exists twice, as "/sdcard" and as "/flash/sdcard", therefore the system sees the files 2x, but cannot realize, that it would be the dame location. Being a archos specific, there is probably no way around.

Storing audio internally avoids the problem.

Good night,

Robert
Hi Robert, found that out too the other day.
Now that I tried out the new Beta 6 the problem is gone. Ejecting the sd-card is also possible now.

This one is really looking good. And it's rooted.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
BAH0
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:00 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by BAH0 »

archospapyo wrote: I modified the firmware job of Specialb.(thanks for this)
The name is 7HTv1 2.1 update6.
Full rooted Image whits Sdcard fixed with 230mo apps space.
Thank you VERY MUCH for your work!
My 7HTv1 running smooths and fast, even better then with original firmware!

I'm really appreciate your effort!
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

y6jes1 wrote:@asgarond will this version allow me to install apps that are over 5mb? What are the differences from beta 5?
Aldiko 2 has about 14 MB and can be installed with the Beta 6 (is running).

Actual programs installed on my Beta 6:

Name Version - MB

ADWLauncher Ex 3 - 1.27
Aldiko 2 - 13.98
App Center 1.5.6 - 0.99
AppBrain App Market 5.51 - 1.84
Applanet 2.8.0.3 - 2.63
Black Glass AWD Theme 1.7 - 2.18
ConvertPad - Unit converter 1.5.1 - 1.15
Opera Mini 5.1.1 - 1.73
PlayerPro 1.21 - 2.59
Pocket Geometry 1.0 - 0.18
Quick System Info 1.61 - 0.89
RealCalc 1.6.0 - 0.304
ROM Manager 3.0.1.4 - 2.00
Root Explorer 2.14.2 - 0.416
SlideME 4.0 - 1.29
Teamviewer 6.0.140 - 1.89
Titanium Backup 3.7.4 - 2.34
Tunein Radio 1.5 - 2.82
Wifi Manager 1.8.2 - 0.516
World Newspaper 1.3 - 1.96

For the differences:
It fixed some problems with the sd-card and now is rooted. These are at least the points I registered. There might be more.
Last edited by asgarond on Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
specialb
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by specialb »

You are making good progress people :)

Thanks for the sugestions on how to fix my unit but nothing worked :/

I will suggest to open new thread for beta 6 to keep things ordered and clean .
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.
tosic
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Ukraine, Odessa
Contact:

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by tosic »

demo test android 2.1b6 on archos 7th v1
thanks for good job

I yesterday testing custom rom and create video review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r_vuC4P-pc first boot

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWfxB0tClnI attempt play video.
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

nice vidos tosic,

but what have you done to your archos? broken it open? added some usb ports? installed new processor ;)
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

Hi tosic,

what is even more insteresting to me is the two micro switches you added to the device.

Image

These seem to be for "Back" and "Menu". How did you implement those ?
Did you use the FCC circuit diagram of the device that had been linked in an other thread here in the forum ?
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
tosic
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Ukraine, Odessa
Contact:

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by tosic »

its android car pc :) for me

I dismounted, resolder the Archos.
found an old tape machine. took out the interior:)

put the tablet. added audio amplifier.
brought to the front 2 buttons and a microphone. (sleep and power) - clone top switch (in left: power, in right sleep)


https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/9 ... directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/w ... directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/6 ... directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/K ... directlink

All the standard, only added in hopes of cooling overclock.

its my first try. lacking 3g, gps ....

more photo find in me albom https://picasaweb.google.com/1006230480 ... ULLDevNull
SerpensAlatus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by SerpensAlatus »

Hi,

i testet the Firmware and found some issues. Maybe the are known.

- Calibration did not wort. Everytime i try to calibrate the Screen, it says failed
- I want to run Skype. Only for chatting. Skype tries to log in and nothing happens
- I also wanted to run a VNC Server for remotecontrolling the Pad. It says: Cant start Server.

Maybe its a problem of the Firmware, or a general Problem of the pad?

Regards
Volker

(sorry, my english is not very good)
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

SerpensAlatus wrote: - Calibration did not wort. Everytime i try to calibrate the Screen, it says failed
- I want to run Skype. Only for chatting. Skype tries to log in and nothing happens
- I also wanted to run a VNC Server for remotecontrolling the Pad. It says: Cant start Server.

Regards
Volker
Hi Volker,

calibration did not work for me either. But I had no problem with it so far.
Installed Skype this afternoon. Login is still running (for 20 minutes now). So this does not seem to work.
If you just want chatting, try the IM+. This seems to work.
VNC needs some extra work in the rooted area I think. Haven't figured that out yet.
If I do perhaps I can send you a pn (in German - ist vielleicht leichter :) )
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
SerpensAlatus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by SerpensAlatus »

Ty Asgarond,

I need skype because most of my friends are registered there. ;)

Okey, so i have to wait until it works.

PN h├Ârt sich gut an, danke! :)

Regards
Volker
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

Sorry, if I didn't put myself clear.
IM+ is a collection of different instant messengers. It also contains Skype
Android market wrote: All popular messengers in one window. No SMS charges!
Chat with IM+ All-in-One instant messenger on Skype, Facebook, AIM, MSN, Yahoo!, ICQ, Jabber, Google Talk and MySpace IM in real-time. No cost per message, IM+ doesn't use SMS to send messages.
Skype and MSN group chat - invite your friends and enjoy group conversations. Share your Geo location with you buddies through status message.
Just try that out.

Image
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
SerpensAlatus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by SerpensAlatus »

Ah, ok!

Will try that. TY!

Another Question: How about the runtime with one accu charge? Is there a different to the v1.5?

Regards
Volker
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

Some more minor issues not yet listed:
- Sound seems to be broken.
At least: from Google point of view. Voice search and translator just fail to start.
- Memory management or application states
For some reason the device locks up faster as with YAR. When switching a lot between apps (and sometimes kill some apps) the device either locks up or is unhandleable slow (requires reset to get operational again). I have not yet identified a particular app that triggers this.
- pattern lock does not always kick in... after reactivate from screen off/locked state

General opinion:
Best firmware available at the moment! Keep up the good work!
Almost everything i downloaded seems to work. Skype is already mentioned and work around available... And the device is responsive.

Wishlist:
- The 'activate' mechanism from beta 3 (move switch to 'power off' state briefly to enable backlight/screen)
- Set the backlight power lower than 'full on' by default (battery loves it more then)

Kind regards, Michael
tosic
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Ukraine, Odessa
Contact:

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by tosic »

sometimes think that 2.1 will not run good,
last chance to stay at 1.6 ..

I was expecting a 2.1 in the hope that the GPS will work on USB .... but these functions carved all (
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

I'm testing the 2.1b6 now and i realized that unfortunately the 230mb appspace cannot be fully used.
Quick System Info PRO shows me 184mb free, but i cannot install even smaller apps neither as apk nor through the market.
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

RobertAsticles wrote:I'm testing the 2.1b6 now and i realized that unfortunately the 230mb appspace cannot be fully used.
Quick System Info PRO shows me 184mb free, but i cannot install even smaller apps neither as apk nor through the market.
I am at 176 MB now. It already started to show me the "Not enough memory"-message, but I could still install some smaller apps. Perhaps it is a problem of the RAM that is getting filled up and isn't able to open bigger .apk files anymore.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
wangtwo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by wangtwo »

I tried beta6 and can not mount my microSD card.

Can somebody tell me the correct way to mount it?

Thank you.
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

create a folder called "sdcard" on your internal drive.
That's it.
wangtwo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by wangtwo »

Thank you
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 7 Home Tablet”