Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

7", $179 for 2GB, $186 for 8GB in the USA, 149Ôé¼ in Europe
romulus86
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:18 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by romulus86 »

I don't know if anyone else is having this problem. The tablet is waking up from suspend mode, even if the tablet is locked. I hadn't had that happen since the earliest firmware.
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

I hope you quickly fix the SD card issue.
I already liked the beta 3. My 2GB HT however only had a tiny appspace and i had te switch back to the other alternative FW (not sure which it was, think the 28-one.

You are doing a great job! keep it up...
specialb
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by specialb »

I'm trying to fix the font and sdcard problem with lefeu's rom framework as it seems to work much better than the one on beta 3 with this rom, but I'm having problems figuring what files are related with those problems. Any idea will be appreciated.
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.
chriscsh
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:18 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by chriscsh »

specialb wrote:I'm trying to fix the font and sdcard problem with lefeu's rom framework as it seems to work much better than the one on beta 3 with this rom, but I'm having problems figuring what files are related with those problems. Any idea will be appreciated.
for the sdcard problem,
do you try to replace the lib\vold file from the stock rom?
this use the old method to mount the sdcard
and it work for me on the 1.6 rom :D
specialb
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by specialb »

Yeah, I used vold.conf based on original firmware. The issue is coming from the framework.

Anyway, I have fallen victim of the "/ht rom devs curse", as my tablet as died as the ones of kornyone and lakehousetech did. So good luck to all the people working in customs roms. I will be out of Archos products for a good long time.
aka MaDMaLKaV everywhere else.
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

What a shame !

You did good work on the Eclair so far and I hoped that you could get it to overall working end (including video).
But, of course, this is not just a cheap device we are playing with.

So wish you all and perhaps we can still share your experience when you stay in the forum to assist.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

With beta 5 you can install fbreader and many other apps, that you cannot with beta 3.

The problem ist the SD-Card.

Hearing that another Archos died is very sad but i hope we can all still work together on improving this firmware.

@chriscsh

I hope you could help improve this firmware with your great knowledge about the correct sd-card mounting. It would be great.
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

SOLUTION FOR SCARD!

Post by RobertAsticles »

Heureka! I finally found it.

1. Install 2.1beta3 on your archos7

2. format your internal and sdcard using windows (don't know about linux!)

3. install 2.1beta5

4. format internal memory with windows

5. run market to install es file explorer

6. select folder "flash"

7. create a new folder "sdcard" in this folder

8. be happy to have a working sdcard again.

....

now we have a almost perfect 2.1 ... and please reupload the 2.1beta5

... and we only need someone like may who gives us 230mb appspace...
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

As i am comming from the 'himself 0.28', i already should have the 'larger' partition for the appspace.
I assume it would be something like detecting the larger partition already exists and use that one instead of the original tiny one for the appspace. Maybe this logic could be borrowed from himselfs edition.
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

And robert...:
Great you researched and found it!
maxitron
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:13 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by maxitron »

Hi, I'm new in the forum.

I hope not to disturb anyone. I'm also new with this android. I think I've achieved the mod of the firmware with more memory. I am not responsible for any problems using this modified version of specialb.
I'm starting to look at this firmware, but I have little time and intelligence to learn.
I hope that together we can improve this firmware and device.
This version that I modified works good for me, although I have not been able to fill the memory with many programs to see if there really are 230mb.
If you want you can try and comment, will be much appreciated.

Also comment that with the program, in the market, Qqplayer I can watch video, but slowed down images. I read this in the forum, i don't remenber where, and it's true.

Here the link: 7htv1b5_230mb

Sorry do not know English, I used the Google translator.

Greetings and read us.
lefeudedieu
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by lefeudedieu »

Hi,

You must encode in this format with Allok encoder :

MP4/320x240QVGA

The MP4 video work very fine
lefeudedieu
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by lefeudedieu »

specialb wrote:Yeah, I used vold.conf based on original firmware. The issue is coming from the framework.

Anyway, I have fallen victim of the "/ht rom devs curse", as my tablet as died as the ones of kornyone and lakehousetech did. So good luck to all the people working in customs roms. I will be out of Archos products for a good long time.
Have you tested this hardware method for RK2808 APAD ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqSydpZumno

You have nothing to lose now that he is BRICK
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

I have tested the B5 (230MB) version and it works realy nice.
It is fast!

Just one real issue: appspace 0MB. I have the 2GB edition, maybe that is the problem...
And can not update the firmware anymore by putting a update.bin on the SD.

I will try a bit more and get back...
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

theike wrote:And can not update the firmware anymore by putting a update.bin on the SD.
Is the flash card being recognised by Windows ?
If so just format and you will have sufficient application memory.

If not...

...Try doing the "Restore" with the RKAndroid method here.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
archospapyo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by archospapyo »

Hello,

It's always the 2.1b5 but with increased app space to 315mo
I take no responsibility if this rom bricks your tablet.

http://www.mediafire.com/?d92q26bqhdcfm10

It's possible to unroot this?
Root checker no found root!!!
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

There is a problem with the 230mb version:

for some (unknown) reason you cannot use the 230mb of appspace. After about 30-40mb of mem you cannot install apps that would need lots of memory like txtr, aldiko2 or kindle.

There is a easy way to test, if you have a lot of appspace, witch is to download fora app and the wordnet dictionary (would need about 30mb phone mem). if it does install, the space extension would have worked.

Has someone already tested the 315mb version? Does this work correctly?
theike
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 am

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by theike »

Yep, i have the 315MB version running.

Almost all apps i can find in the appstore do install and start, just 2 issues:
- Also the large app install issue (no space to install the app, even for 6MB apps)
- Of course some apps are slow, but that is hardware based

General impression:
It's fast, good response speed.
I can't get google translate or voice search to work. can't access sound system... (sound recording itself works). My SD was an issue, but works now. As soon as i connect my computer i get a corrupted SD on disconnect... Eject and reinstert: all ok again.

I also hoped the activation system from beta3 was included (slide lock button short in 'power off' position to activate). Maybe a nice feature request.

Due to the omproved response i stay with this version. I had to use RKAndroid to load it as the 230 MB did not have the update.bin support from SD. I have the A7HT 2GB edition btw...

All in all: Thanks for your rom!
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by RobertAsticles »

"Also the large app install issue (no space to install the app, even for 6MB apps)"

what do you mean by it?

On my device txtr and aldiko 2.1 install correctly, if i install them first (or at least very early).
Later, when some appspace (about 20-30mb) are used, i cannot install them any more.

and...

has someone with an 8mb achos 7 tried the 315mb version? Does it run?
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Android 2.1 beta 5 *REMOVED*

Post by asgarond »

I did this yesterday but I had some problems with flash memory and SD-card.
Both were not visible in the device. For the SD-card it told my "damaged Sd-Card" and I tried to format the flash in Windows but it wouldn't let me.

So I am still at the Beta 5 with 230 MB which in my opinion is plenty.
But I am not able to install Aldiko 2.0 Premium as well as some other programs which worked with the 1.5. Still strange.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 7 Home Tablet”