[Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB ?

7", $179 for 2GB, $186 for 8GB in the USA, 149Ôé¼ in Europe
dlewis
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dlewis »

@asgarond

I just purchased the V1/A70HB from TigerDirect. As you've obviously had some experience playing around with various ROMS, can you tell me what the exact configuration you have? Thanks!
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

My one is the Archos 7 HT V1 70HB with 8 GB Flash Memory and 8 GB SD-card.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
dr.dave
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dr.dave »

I think he meant what rom and what tweaks or extras and apps u are using
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

Ok, I have installed the speciallb Beta 5 with 230 MB and the following programs.
first number is the version number, second is the amount of application memory needed [in MB].

ADWLauncher Ex 3 / 1.27
Aldiko 1.2.13 / 1.81
AndroZIP 1.2 / 0.7
App Center 1.5.6 / 0.99
AppBrain App Market 5.51 / 1.84
Applanet 2.8.0.3 / 2.63
Black Glass AWD Theme 1.7 / 2.18
ConvertPad - Unit converter 1.5.1 / 1.15
Miren Browser 1.2 / 3.22
Moon+ Reader (Ad) 1.2.17 / 2.89
Opera Mini 5.1.1 / 1.73
Pocket Geometry 1.0 / 0.18
RealCalc 1.6.0 / 0.304
Remote RDP Lite 3.0.3 / 0.564
Remote Web Desktop 4.7.5 / 3.20
Root Explorer 2.14.2 / 0.416
SlideME 4.0 / 1.29
Wifi Buddy 0.9.3-beta / 0.116
Wifi Manager 1.8.2 / 0.516
World Newspaper 1.3 / 1.96
xScope 6 6.43 / 0.94
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: Noob-Thread - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB ?

Post by asgarond »

Gehat wrote: I have installed v0.28, it works very fine. But you said, Aldiko 2.0 is running. I can't install Aldiko 2.0, so I have installed the older version - but without DRM. Is there a way to install Aldiko 2.0 on Archos 7 HT v1 with yar v028?


I tried that today and you are right. I wasn't able to install it.
Removed my entry from above. Sorry.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
dlewis
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dlewis »

Thanks for the detailed listing ... :)

So the "speciallb Beta 5 with 230 MB" is the best option for now? How "bad" are the video artifacts?
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by RobertAsticles »

forget video with the 2.1betas.

qqplayer is very slow on this device.
Some people say that (certain) mp4s are running, but none of mine are.

If you truly need the video capability than choose the 0.28 version. For people like me who primarely use the archos as an advanced ebook reader, take the 2.1beta 5 (230 or 315 mb version)
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

dlewis wrote: How "bad" are the video artifacts?


I would call it "unendurable". couldn't watch it for a whole movie.
So for everyone who want to use it as a movie-player there ist no other way than the 1.5 (cupcake) based ROMs.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

RobertAsticles wrote:If you truly need the video capability than choose the 0.28 version. For people like me who primarely use the archos as an advanced ebook reader, take the 2.1beta 5 (230 or 315 mb version)


/sign

Robert is absolutely right. :D
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
dlewis
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dlewis »

@RobertAsticles, @asgarond

Need video = Himself (V 0.28)
EBook only = speciallb (Beta 5 with 230 MB)

Thanks ... this is exactly the information I need.
dr.dave
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dr.dave »

hi all.dont want to hijack this thread but i was looking at the apps agasarond has installed and was wondering how u get some of those.i managed to install v.28 and the market apk for v.28 and have market working but most of those apps are not in the market.tried using appbrain but it just links me to my market which doesnt have the apps,i would like to try that browser.thanx
RobertAsticles
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by RobertAsticles »

It has to do with your firmware version.

Market checks the required API Level of the programs. If a program, let's say programmed for Android 2.1 then it won't show for devices with 1.5 or 1.6. If Android 2.2 (FoYo) is needed, it wouldn't even show on our beloved 2.1beta5 Custom rom, that is used (and needed) for apps like aldiko 2, txtr,...

If you want to install those apps, than you will have to install the 2.1beta5 firmware - but you will loose video support. It's your choice.
dr.dave
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by dr.dave »

thanx so much for the info,i kinda thought that but now i know.now we need a dual boot system for this unit haha.i bought 2 of these,1 for me to play on and 1 for the girlfreind to read and check her facbook at nite sovideo isnt that important,gonna try the 230 mb today and see the dif in 0.28.thanx for the reply
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

I would recommend to go directly for the 315MB version.
I tried that out and it is my new favourite now. It seems to be a bit smoother. But, of course, that can be a subjective impression.

But I managed to install a couple of apps that weren't possible before.
This calls up a new problem. The iMPlayer that I installed with the beta 5 230MB wouldn't let me install it. Same for the flash.apk.

Now, did someone try to install a lot more apps than before to get over the normal app space of 30-50 megs ?
With my installed programs from above I have around 30 MB installed with the beta 5 230MB.

Now I have around 41 MB with the beta 5 315 MB.

So if I get to the point soon where I cannot install a single app anymore .....

20 minutes later....

I am at 68 MB now. So I was wrong, but some of the bigger apps still can't be installed as they tell me "not enough memory".
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

Actual programs installed on my Beta 6:

Name Version - MB

ADWLauncher Ex 3 - 1.27
Aldiko 2 - 13.98
App Center 1.5.6 - 0.99
AppBrain App Market 5.51 - 1.84
Applanet 2.8.0.3 - 2.63
Black Glass AWD Theme 1.7 - 2.18
ConvertPad - Unit converter 1.5.1 - 1.15
Opera Mini 5.1.1 - 1.73
PlayerPro 1.21 - 2.59
Pocket Geometry 1.0 - 0.18
Quick System Info 1.61 - 0.89
RealCalc 1.6.0 - 0.304
ROM Manager 3.0.1.4 - 2.00 (removed again as there are no button to operate in recovery mode)
Root Explorer 2.14.2 - 0.416
SlideME 4.0 - 1.29
Teamviewer 6.0.140 - 1.89
Titanium Backup 3.7.4 - 2.34
Tunein Radio 1.5 - 2.82
Wifi Manager 1.8.2 - 0.516
World Newspaper 1.3 - 1.96
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
twopossums
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:48 am

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by twopossums »

Ok please don't flame me here but I just got a Archos 7 v2 8gb and I'm confused about these firmwares. I come from IOS so Android is totally new to me. I've jailbroken all of my iPhones, and Modded my Xbox, Playstation and PSP so I'm not a total newb but I'm a little lost here.

I'm looking at the chart and it looks like in order to get flash to work (and I assume this means YouTube) I have to give up my ability to play videos??? This sounds crazy to me. Is that right? If so what else do I gain from flashing my Archos? I know its in the forum here somewhere but I'm not making heads or tails of it.

Right now I'm pretty happy with it. I just want to be able to read comics with ACV, books with Adiko, watch some videos and surf the net a bit so I guess I don't really have to flash a new firmware but when I read my newsfeeds and a youtube video pops up it'd be nice to be able to watch it.

Thank you
AkoZ
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:20 am

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by AkoZ »

just received a hacked HTablet 7OHB, 8Go, with dominionv03, then it seems to crash a bit too many times ..
i 'm very pleased to readabout your works all on those firmwares, but i figured that the higher the firmware, the better it should be..
then of course to the limits of the poor proc,
you indicate the cyanogen as the latest FW,
but why in conclusion do you just select the himself and specialbb as the best ones ?
--> i've read that android v3 need quite a better engine than the home tablet could use...
is there advantages to a newer android version or not = cyanogen is experimental but unusable too... ?

ok, in fact trying is somewhere judging, also i'll make my own opinion on the next FW i'll install .. ;)


--> the "brick" of the tablet is due to a fail connection to load in ROM ? or is there about any other bad simple way to brick by soft ?

thank you all for your precisions, next to try, and read about ;)
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

twopossums wrote:I'm looking at the chart and it looks like in order to get flash to work (and I assume this means YouTube) I have to give up my ability to play videos??? This sounds crazy to me. Is that right? If so what else do I gain from flashing my Archos? I know its in the forum here somewhere but I'm not making heads or tails of it.



I will not flame anyone here, nor did I read about any threads where this happened. So just lean back, relax and watch the discussion :D .

All of these custom ROMs are, of course, to improve the abilities of the device. The standard ROM being delivered with the device (1.5) is capable of nearly everything (music, WIFI, video) but
- Google market place
- more space for applications
- apps above 1.5
- root rights

So if your stress is on video you will have to stay at the original ROM or take one of the modded 1.5s.

If you want to work with a lot of apps (over 20 MB) then you must take a custom ROM.

If you want to use apps higher than 1.5 you have to take a modded ROM higher than 1.5. But then you loose the video ability, as the dsp ddriver seems to be encrypted and has not been able to be compiled for the higher versions.
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
asgarond
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Northern Germany, M├╝nster

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by asgarond »

AkoZ wrote:but why in conclusion do you just select the himself and specialbb as the best ones ?
--> i've read that android v3 need quite a better engine than the home tablet could use...
is there advantages to a newer android version or not = cyanogen is experimental but unusable too... ?


The higher the version number of the Android is the more abilities it offers. Clear so far. But this is of course stressing the CPU a bit more, partly over limits.
Imagine installing Windows 7 on the old Pentium II 700 MHz. Our HT V1 only has 600 MHz. V2 is 800 MHz and the A7 IT has 1 GHz.
The 2.2 and 2.3 customs are more or lesss still experimental. Good looking but not as smooth as the 2.1 let alone the 1.5. That was my impression.
The 1.6 was a good alternative, but is still experimental.

The cyanogen 2.3 was also a choice. But it is a bit slower and I found it somehow hard to work with the software-buttons and the very small task bar.

So to be on the safe side you have the "riped out" 1.5s (KnightDominion and Himself) and the "getting better and better" 2.1 on the base of speciallb (still no video).
Archos 70.5 IT 8GB Froyo FW 2.3.26
CdnBison
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:19 am

Re: [Noob-Thread] - Which custom ROM to take for V1 / A70HB

Post by CdnBison »

Just want to say, as a new owner of one of these, thanks so much for the chart. Video was one of the main reasons I got this (travelling with kid) so it is really important to keep that functionality. I likely would have gone for one of the 2.x ROMs without this.

Currently running Himself's ROM, and am very happy with the functionality. Ideally, this will convince the Mrs. that we should get a better one, with more functionality later this summer (i.e. Gen9 ;-)
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 7 Home Tablet”