archos 9 boot help

Archos 9" tablet pc
Post Reply
dmxplayainc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 1:41 am

archos 9 boot help

Post by dmxplayainc »

i need to download the operating system and then boot my pc tablet from my thumb drive and dont know where to get it from , my wife dropped it and some error message comes up saying i need to back up my info and press f1 but it wont go pass that ... i have been told i have to re-install the operational system ... please somebody help me and guide me in how to do it ... thanks
this is the message that comes up when i try to restart it ...

SMART failure predicted on hard drive
Warning : immediately back up your data en replace
your hard drive . failure may be imminent
press F1 to continue ......
migge
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by migge »

seems your hdd is broken.
maybe you should first try and see how far the device boots.
just connect a usb-keyboard to your a9 and press F1 to see what happens.


if that doesn't help, you will need a new hdd, swap your old one for the replacement hdd and the install a new operating ssystem.
steveb625
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by steveb625 »

Agreed your HD is broken. Good time to install a Solid State Drive (SSD). Upgrade to Win7 HP while your're at it.
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6
dmxplayainc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 1:41 am

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by dmxplayainc »

i connected a usb keyboard and hit f1 , it said that it cant be repair ;to contact system provider or replace it ...... can you guys point me in the right direction on where to get one for a decent price .... thank you in advance ... also was wondering which other tables Hd work on the archos 9 .....
dmxplayainc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 1:41 am

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by dmxplayainc »

i found a SATA 100GB 2.5 HDD i dont know if its compatible ....
les-bart
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:07 pm
Location: Norway

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by les-bart »

SATA is definitely not compatible. It must be PATA. Also 2.5 inch will not fit. You need 1.8
steveb625
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: archos 9 boot help

Post by steveb625 »

Search eBay for 1.8 Zif PATA. Standard HDDs are fairly cheap while SSDs are pricey. There's a Runcore 1.8 Zif PATA for $175. Search Archosfans for 'swap HDD' to get more info.
SteveB
A9 Win7HP
A32 A70-8v6 UD1.6
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 9”