Delete files

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

I have the original Archos 5 and have recently bought the Archos 48. Now on the Archos 5 I was able to delete a video by using the icon in the top right hand corner. This gave me the option to Delete and Rename. I cannot find this on the 48 and ask if anyone knows how to do this.
Thanks
Dave
bouncer219
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:54 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by bouncer219 »

I have exactly the same problem as Dave, cannot find a way of deleting a video. Can anybody help us?
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

The only way to delete a video file is to do it via the PC. I have contacted a friend and his Archos 48 is exactly the same. This appears to have been yet another oversite by Archos. This is in addition to the battery problem.
Dave.
DaniJem
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by DaniJem »

I have not that problem in my A48IT...... icon on the top right hand corner: - File Management: Rename / Delete.
sorry my english...
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

That is what I had on the Archos but it is most certainly not on my 48. I have downloaded the latest firmware in the hope that there was a fix, but no such luck.
Dave
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

A Question for DaniJem.
How did you get your video files onto the 48? Did you use 'record' or 'copy and paste'. I used 'copy and paste' with all of mine as the videos were either moved from my PC or the Archos 5 and I am now wondering if the file management option is only activated when the direct record option has been used.
Thanks
Dave
DaniJem
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by DaniJem »

I conect the Archos to the PC with USB cable and copy and paste the videos.... as any external device.
sorry my english...
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

Thanks for the info. So that rules out my theory. The question is still why no File management in the menu? It's not just my Archos, there are at least 2 others with the same problem. Would'nt it be nice if one of the Forum menbers was a Techie from Archos.
Ah well, back to the drawing board.
Thanks
Dave
Last edited by rras2102 on Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
bouncer219
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:54 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by bouncer219 »

My files were recoded directly from a camcorder, so I don't think the problem lies with the way they were put onto the 48. I will try the PC route.
jamie41
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1019
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by jamie41 »

All these posts, and not one of you has yet stated what app you're using, where you're expecting to see this File Management thing in the "top right hand corner"?

Come on, give me something to try on your behalf.

What is the app where you're expecting to do File Management on the video files?
DaniJem
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by DaniJem »

what app???
NO app......... I (and We, I suppose) am talking about delete a video of the videos list when you select the menu on top of the screen.
sorry my english...
jamie41
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1019
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:36 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by jamie41 »

DaniJem wrote:what app???
NO app......... I (and We, I suppose) am talking about delete a video of the videos list when you select the menu on top of the screen.
The screen? What screen? Do you mean the homescreen? At the top right of the homescreen is the "Menu" button, which, when pressed, leads to "settings" etc.

The only place where there would be a list of videos would be inside some video app or other.

How do you get to this videos list? Step by step, after switching on the device.
bouncer219
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:54 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by bouncer219 »

Thanks Dave. I deleted my video files easily by connecting to the PC.
Agj_h
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Delete files

Post by Agj_h »

btw - perhaps a little known fact here.....you do not get all of the menu options available to you until the device has been registered. This includes the ones being mentioned in this thread.....
Andrew
500gb a5a
G9 80 16gb 4.0.28
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

This is mainly for BOUNCER.
I have now found how to get the DELETE in the menu. Here's how.

To allow this option, you must register your device and then download the free pack plug-in from your account. To do this:
Log in to your account
Select manage products
Click on the picture of your device
Select ÔÇ£moreÔÇØ located next to the plug-in section
Select ÔÇ£generate plug-inÔÇØ, followed by ÔÇ£download aos fileÔÇØ and follow the instructions provided to install the file.

This does work and for the life of me I cannot understand why we should have to do this but I assure you that it does work. Any problems then give me a shout
Discuss
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by Discuss »

Thanks rras2102 for this information. I'm new to tablets, and had not downloaded that plugin for my archos 48, and was scratching my head over this deletion of video files. Problem sorted now. Thanks again.

Do you happen to know how to confirm if the HD Cinema plugin (Cinema HiDef) plugin has installed correctly. My Archos 48 seemed to be doing something during what I think was the installation process, but there was no indication of a successful installation...how can I confirm this? I emailed Archos support but did not get a 'proper' answer from them that I could understand, and they ignored my request for clarification. :(

Many thanks

Alan
rras2102
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by rras2102 »

Hi Alan. I have no idea of how to do that but I do have a suggestion that may help. The best person to talk to is The Returns Coordinator at Southampton. His name is Matt Longhurst and he can be contacted by telephone on 02380 711 779. I always found him to be very helpfull.
Dave
Agj_h
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Delete files

Post by Agj_h »

Discuss wrote:Thanks rras2102 for this information. I'm new to tablets, and had not downloaded that plugin for my archos 48, and was scratching my head over this deletion of video files. Problem sorted now. Thanks again.

Do you happen to know how to confirm if the HD Cinema plugin (Cinema HiDef) plugin has installed correctly. My Archos 48 seemed to be doing something during what I think was the installation process, but there was no indication of a successful installation...how can I confirm this? I emailed Archos support but did not get a 'proper' answer from them that I could understand, and they ignored my request for clarification. :(

Many thanks

Alan
Go to settings/about then scroll down. under 'plugins' should be a list of all installed plugin's
Andrew
500gb a5a
G9 80 16gb 4.0.28
evil jo
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:06 am

Re: Delete files

Post by evil jo »

I solved this in a simple way using the info from the other advice on the forum

Archos site log in........manage products........select device (archos 48).......select plug in download on the right of screen (aos)....... download and just save file (don't open).......connect archos via usb.......go to your documents download.......right click file.......send to archos 48 (which should be on the list).......disconnect archos 48.......file should show as ready to install...... install........ file management is installed.

Good luck...hope it works for you as well
macmonroe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Delete files

Post by macmonroe »

Hi folks,
that is the way it goes. Go on Archos Register yourself and then your product. After that click on your archos and go to download. There download G7 free plugin and then copy it on your archos. After that click with your fiel manager or archos on this package. After a short installation you are registerd and can copy everything and delete.
What went wrong is the playing of HD Videos. My other Archos which i registeres 2 years ago online has got this video plugin and all HD videos play. I contacted Archos and wait on their reaply. In the plugins which are listed on the archos is the HD video plugin availabke but does not work properly.
Anybody else had this problem already?

macmonroe
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”