[Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-2 - Updated

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

[Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-2 - Updated

Post by wewewi »

Hi 'ev!

This a new ROM for the A5it I've cooked for the A5it. At loooong last. ***NEW VERSION -RC2***
It's not an OpenAOS official release; but there is SO MUCH improvemement over the last FroYo 2.2.1 "Alpha5" I think it would be an understatement to call it simply "Alpha5+"; and I dont call the shots for them anyway.
But lets be clear; it wouldnt have been possible without their support and patience.
..As far as I know, they are still accepting donations.
The "wmod" thing is more kindova joke ;-)

All thanks to dm8tbr, BuBU, Illiphant, av500, furies, sephhi, and OpenAOS!

changelog over the -RC1;
  • Added full root access (make sure you've enabled 'unknown applications' in Settings or it wont work)
  • GPS fixed
  • Updated various system apps
  • Added SpareParts+ , fixes compatibility mode for legacy apps
  • New Protips widget ;-)

changelog over the last Alpha5;
  • MP3 support
  • GPS support
  • Adobe Flash 10.2 support improved;
  • Accelerometer Calibrated; works perfectly laying "flat" on a table (mazes games) and still kinda fairly for Racing Games; Planes games are still not so great.
  • Black Status bar and Notifications Panel; Honeycomb style softbuttons
  • 1gb space for applications
  • In-App downloads support (an app requiring data download "to SD" now works)
  • Blur effect on shutdown sequence removed; too buggy
  • Physical SD card support removed; (it was buggy for HDD units anyway)
[*]First of all check the 'allow unknown sources' box in Settings--Manage Applications

[*]If you get an "Errror 25 while installing the market via Arctools, "disable the SD card" in Settings.

[*]In Spare Parts+, uncheck "Compatibility mode" then Reboot

ImageImage

Here's the ROM; right above the pictures. (linking is a lil favor I'm doing for a friend ;-) )-- PLEASE DO NOT RELINK THE MEGAUPLOAD SOURCE DIRECTLY -- I'd like to know of many users downloads it.

Installation;
  • Boot your Multi-Booted Archos under Donut; connect it to your PC in MSC mode;
  • Transfer the wmod-rc2.img at root of your Archos, then edit the menu.lst:
  • On the Froyo line, change your old image name ex.:"openaos-froyo-alpha5a_20110119.img" for "wmod-rc2.img" (or rename the .img so it matches whatever is in your menu.lst)
  • Save the file.
  • Unmount safely
Last edited by wewewi on Thu May 12, 2011 6:20 pm, edited 11 times in total.
srawat_itpro
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Bangalore, India

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by srawat_itpro »

Man you did it :badgrin:

But that means that we all would be after you until there is a stable release :evil:

Just Kidding :lol:

Thanks a lot for your hardwork and patience in bringing this out.. =D> =D> =D>

Would like to try as soon as I reach home 8)

Rgds
Sandy
A5A 32 GB (GMH)
migge
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by migge »

same here!!
thanks for the work.
really looking forward to test the improved image (and hopefully get mp3 support).
8)
hamunguia
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:53 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by hamunguia »

I really appreciate your effort, but if there is not an easy way to run this firmware, its useless for me and for many more.
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by wewewi »

I really appreciate your comment, but if one-click installs is all you can do, whatever you may have to say is useless for me and many more.

Do yourself a favor; next time, buy Apple! (Or Fisher Price)
hamunguia
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:53 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by hamunguia »

Wewewi, my apology to you. Was not my intention to discourage. Even so, I think what I write is true.

Keep working, you're doing a great job, someday I hope there will be an .aos file and everybody will be happy.
TheKonig
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:07 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by TheKonig »

Is it my problem or headphones don't really work?
sephhi
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:30 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by sephhi »

This looks great. I will def test it out over the weekend. =D>
Guitaroomasta
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:49 am

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by Guitaroomasta »

Great job on the release wewewi, this looks very, very promising. I don't want to be "that guy" but is it possible to compile a ROM that has support for Physical SD cards? (Even if I have to do it myself *gulps*) I have a 16GB non-HDD A5it and I use the external SD card extensively, and I would love to have support for it.

Thanks again for all of the obviously hard work, it is much appreciated.
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by wewewi »

@TheKonig: The headphones issue is kernel-related; it works with Nicktime's custom 2.6.37.2 but its not ready for release yet.

@Guitaroomasta: You will have to wait for an official OpenAOS release to see this; and let me say it might be long ;-)
toast
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:47 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by toast »

First up, thank you very much for all the effort in putting together the rom =D>

I have it running alongside the stock 2.0.45 firmware on an 8GB A5IT. The rather major drawback is that wifi isn't working. When wifi is turned on, it will autosearch for networks then wifi switches off :?: Any suggestions for a solution would be very much appreciated!

PS - another one hoping for physical SD card support :-"

Once again - great work!
bled82
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by bled82 »

Is this pre-rooted and have market apk ? thanks in advance .
bled82
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by bled82 »

download link is broken for me not sure if anyone else has trouble . nm it was my works firewall here is the download link incase you had trouble like i did .

EDIT : Link corrected
Last edited by bled82 on Fri May 06, 2011 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by wewewi »

@Bled82 Sorry for the broken link; corrected.
Would you please edit you post and remove YOUR link?
thx

@Toast; Delete the img file on the Archos and put another one. You might also try re-downloading it.
Last edited by wewewi on Thu May 05, 2011 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
pcpal
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 3:57 am
Location: Elgin, IL
Contact:

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by pcpal »

Thanks wewewi. I put this on and booted back up within minutes. I will throughly test it and let know know what I think. I appreciate all the dev's work to help us bring something to this device that will make the purchase really pay off.
drellisdee
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:18 am

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by drellisdee »

Nice. What major issues still need work? I was gonna hold off for 3.0 but thats gonna be a while. What kernel are you using? Id love to get a dev tree of my own going on 2.6.37 . Do you have link available for source on github or gitorious? Also sdcard for my own personal use would be something I'd really want. Is it just issues with vold?
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by wewewi »

@drillisdee; Just the man I was waiting to hear from!

[A guy I will name only in PM for privacy considerations] was holding his breath for Honeycomb too, but finally decided to go for a new, clean build from the latest Cyanogen, and is willing to add the 5it to CM7 officially.
Some experienced hands like yours would be a blessing for him; dont be shy!

Here's the kernel stuff; http://dev.openaos.org/wiki/Gen7Linux2.6.37.2


For SD card support; in fact I was having trouble modifying the /sdcard -->/mnt_data symlink in init.rc and didnt know why changes didnt apply; tought it was conflicting with the Actual SD mount for some reason, so when I built my rom, I modified the symlink AND removed the SD mount command; to make sure things worked;
I found out like 3 days ago that it appears the init.rc is used only on a new build;
Modify the init.rc pre-build, and your changes will apply; do it after; it doesnt. weird.

Anyway; it wouldnt be hard to build a rom with actual SD support, but in order to keep things working for both HDD and Flash units, as long as we dont find out how to keep 'some form' of SD support for both models, I suppose we'll need to at least change the mount point and choose anything but /sdcard
Or bake 2 different roms every time. That's not very sexy ;-)

Drop by OpenAOS; I'll never say it enough; of course theres the timezone issue, but since your modified firmware, youre well-known;
I can assure you will get attention;
They will provide ;-)

Look especially for [These guys] (That's our 5it Big Three);
dm8tbr will provide everything he can, of course, but doesnt actually work on the project.


Take care. W.
lupo8888
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:15 am

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by lupo8888 »

Can we use headphones with this build?
naz2x
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:51 am

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by naz2x »

Does gps work in this build, i get force close with all gps apps >??

This device works fine with 2.2 phone spica :) wifi tethering.
Flash movies are spot on :), and wondering any way to get full screen ?
3DS supercard 2.
A5it 3d f/w.
pcpal
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 3:57 am
Location: Elgin, IL
Contact:

Re: [Multi-boot ROM] Wmod RC-1

Post by pcpal »

I had problems with the Market install and setup. Is there a way to reset and start again? Will a system reset do the trick?
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”