Archos 5 Android multi-boot: Boot Menu

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
jimobrien
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Archos 5 Android multi-boot: Boot Menu

Post by jimobrien »

Hi ArchosFans,

There is not a lot of good threads on the multi-boot Menu setup on archosfans.com and IÔÇÖd like to start a thread helping out people like me with some knowledge, but canÔÇÖt quite get it working the way I want it.

I am new to posting in forums but I'm eager to learn. I have limited experience with ubuntu and linux in general. I am a college student but I have good knowledge of how this all works. I have installed the Archos Developer Driver on my Archos before, but I recently changed back to the original firmware and I'm now having problems like random restarts and freezing.

I have a Archos 5 Android 7502 160GB version and I am looking for information on what exactly the bootloader is and how it works.

If I'm not mistaken the Developer Edition Firmware provides a Boot Menu aka ÔÇ£bootloaderÔÇØ which can be edited in windows or linux through the menu.lst file.

Basically, I want to be able to have the Developer Edition Firmware installed with the Menu.lst set up so that I can boot into either Angstrom, the original firmware (firmware_archos5.aos), the alpha 5 froyo from openAOS (froyo_alpha5.img), or a .img file of another linux distro for testing.

I have started some of the code as follows:

Code: Select all

Donut 1.6|/dev/sda1|/firmware_archos5.aos|/init|0
FroYo|/dev/sda1|/openaos-froyo-alpha5a_20110119.img|/init|0
Angstrom Linux|/dev/sda1|/rootfs.img|/sbin/init|1
Ubuntu Netbook Test|/dev/sda1|/ubuntu-9.04-netbook-remix-i386.img|/init|1
Am I doing this right?

Should I root before doing the multi-boot setup? Or will it root itself?

Web Sources:

Easy ROOT:
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=30884

OpenAOS wiki for setting up multi boot:
http://dev.openaos.org/wiki/SettingUpMultiRootGen7