Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
Post Reply
cajl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Location: La varenne / France
Contact:

Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by cajl »

Hi

i have this !
it is the same of Archos 5IT but without GPS !
Image
http://www.jbmm.fr/2011/02/14/larchos-48-it-cest-quoi/
CORSE' WEB
SvenC
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by SvenC »

With Android 2.x or with 1.6?
cajl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Location: La varenne / France
Contact:

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by cajl »

the same ....
1.6
CORSE' WEB
Just_Gerald
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Woodstock, ON Canada

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by Just_Gerald »

screen looks smaller too.
Archos5ituserEpic
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:58 pm

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by Archos5ituserEpic »

Archos 4.8 looks gay.
enthalpy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 9:53 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by enthalpy »

Just_Gerald wrote:screen looks smaller too.
To me, the screens look exactly the same size. And when I measure the diagonal of the glass portion of my A5A, I get ~ 4.8 inches, not 5.0 inches. The wiki agrees,
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... th_Android

(When I measure only the part that has pixels that light up, I get ~ 4.7 inches.)

I think they just decided to issue this new model, with the new Gen 8 model number scheme (32, 43, 48, 70, 101). Too bad they didn't use the new Android.
A5A 16GB,BT kbd,DVRdock..A101 RMA'd
mplant1999
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by mplant1999 »

Just_Gerald wrote:screen looks smaller too.
I think that this is just perspective - the 48 in the photo is further away and the photographer was shooting down at an angle from in front of, and above, the 5...
A43IT A5IT Transformer Playbook
mplant1999
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by mplant1999 »

Archos5ituserEpic wrote:Archos 4.8 looks gay.
How old are you? 12?
A43IT A5IT Transformer Playbook
sanvara
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:29 am

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by sanvara »

Hope you didn't pay too much for the 48. Amazon just had the Archos 5 500GB on sale for $240.
ms07.guf
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:11 am

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by ms07.guf »

Hello
why a new renamed device without GPS ?!?!?!?

I do not understand ARCHOS strategy: they left out A5 500GB from cathalog and introduced A48 500GB !!!!!

same Android, same resistive screen, same size, but without GPS !!!

I think that a A5 500Gb V2 could have been a best choice !!

could you explain me this strategy and if there are other differences ?
Why European store do not sell it?
please I would like to buy an over 250GB device !
mplant1999
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by mplant1999 »

ms07.guf wrote:Hello
why a new renamed device without GPS ?!?!?!?

I do not understand ARCHOS strategy: they left out A5 500GB from cathalog and introduced A48 500GB !!!!!

same Android, same resistive screen, same size, but without GPS !!!

I think that a A5 500Gb V2 could have been a best choice !!

could you explain me this strategy and if there are other differences ?
Why European store do not sell it?
please I would like to buy an over 250GB device !
I'm guessing that they have units left to sell/lots of components and are selling without the GPS because of the HD based A5 units' troubles with GPS in the past.
A43IT A5IT Transformer Playbook
infra1
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:40 pm

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by infra1 »

Well on the other side of the discussion, this actually gives them an excuse to create firmware updates/fixes that are for the 48, but somehow spill over to the A5A due to their hardware similarities.... all conjecture, but very possible and likely.
mplant1999
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by mplant1999 »

infra1 wrote:Well on the other side of the discussion, this actually gives them an excuse to create firmware updates/fixes that are for the 48, but somehow spill over to the A5A due to their hardware similarities.... all conjecture, but very possible and likely.
Had they released the 48 with Android 2.x I would agree. As they haven't, I am not optimisitc.
A43IT A5IT Transformer Playbook
enthalpy
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 9:53 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by enthalpy »

mplant1999 wrote:
infra1 wrote:Well on the other side of the discussion, this actually gives them an excuse to create firmware updates/fixes that are for the 48, but somehow spill over to the A5A due to their hardware similarities.... all conjecture, but very possible and likely.
Had they released the 48 with Android 2.x I would agree. As they haven't, I am not optimisitc.
I agree too, but I appreciate Infra giving us some hope. An update is unlikely, but I would really appreciate one.
A5A 16GB,BT kbd,DVRdock..A101 RMA'd
Dominick_7
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: Archos 4.8 IT 500 GO

Post by Dominick_7 »

enthalpy wrote:
Just_Gerald wrote:screen looks smaller too.
To me, the screens look exactly the same size. And when I measure the diagonal of the glass portion of my A5A, I get ~ 4.8 inches, not 5.0 inches. The wiki agrees,
http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?ti ... th_Android

(When I measure only the part that has pixels that light up, I get ~ 4.7 inches.)

I think they just decided to issue this new model, with the new Gen 8 model number scheme (32, 43, 48, 70, 101). Too bad they didn't use the new Android.
Are you saying it's 4.7 on both with regard to the part that has pixels or it's 4.7 only on the Archos 48, where as it's 4.8 inches in regards to the part that has pixels on the IT5 ? In other words, are you saying the 48 in regards to the part that has pixels is smaller than the IT5?

One thing I've noticed is if one compares the Archos 43 with IT 5 as in here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/Charbax#p/s ... Vp1Y2LzXLM

specifically in places like at 2 minutes and 50 seconds you can see the IT5 looks better has inkier blacks where as the Archos 43 has more so creamy blacks EVEN THOUGH the 43 has a smaller screen with higher resolution.. What I'm also wondering is if the Archos 48 has the better quality screen of the IT5 or has a crappier looking screen like the generation 8s like the Archos 43?
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”