Angry Birds Android Beta

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
richufc
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:49 pm

Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by richufc »

Apparently will work on 1.6 devices...so I tried it on my 5IT...and got a forced close :-(

Anyone else tried it? My Archos isn't on the newest firmware but the one before.
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by map002 »

it *is* a beta. Did you make the report to the developer? What did they tell you?

Michael
hauk
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:38 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by hauk »

Count yourself lucky; it doesn't even show up in the market on my Galaxy S.
nasimdejai
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by nasimdejai »

it's working flawlessly on my htc desire right now.as for my archos,getting force close message.
gschier
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:08 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by gschier »

doesn't show up on my market either (Archos 5 IT)
32GB A5A Owner
Thistle
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:27 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by Thistle »

Strange hauk, it shows up and plays fine on my galaxy s!
converted
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by converted »

.apk download link in this thread:

http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=36994

(doesn't work for me, either. I'm crossing my fingers that it will after some updates since some other devices are reporting the same problem)

(Also not in the market for me.)
nasimdejai
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by nasimdejai »

from what i can gather from the forum,i don't think A5A will be getting updates from archos especially with the new set of tablets coming out.A5A will be abandoned by archos!!!!!
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by map002 »

And that speculation about FW updates has what to do with this game?

Michael
converted
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by converted »

nasimdejai wrote:from what i can gather from the forum,i don't think A5A will be getting updates from archos especially with the new set of tablets coming out.A5A will be abandoned by archos!!!!!
I meant an Angry Birds update. ;-)

It's still beta, and we aren't the only device with this issue.
opamp
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 6:36 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by opamp »

Got Angry Birds beta to run on my Archos 5 IT like everyone else it forces a close or fails to open.
but on the XDA forums some user decided to keep trying to open and after the 10th time it ran. Once it is running it works beautifully with our great screen. I have also an Ipod touch version to compare with the two versions and you should use a stylus to control the sling shots instead of a finger.
hauk
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:38 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by hauk »

Thistle wrote:Strange hauk, it shows up and plays fine on my galaxy s!
Still nothing for me. I have the AT&T version, the Captivate. That's probably the problem.
gschier
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:08 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by gschier »

I got it working. Just kept starting it up and tapping everywhere. About the 20th try I did a long press while it was loading and it started working.

P.S. fullscreen mode was set to ON
32GB A5A Owner
Tyler27
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:20 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by Tyler27 »

where were u pressing?
Tyler
A5A 500gb
microbe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:24 pm

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by microbe »

Tyler27 wrote:where were u pressing?
anywhere on the screen, when the loading screen appears - working for me as well :)
converted
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by converted »

^^ No dice for me, but I'll keep trying. I can barely get fullscreen confirmed before it crashes sometimes.
richlondoner
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:14 pm
Location: London

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by richlondoner »

I got it working, three times now, firstly you have to enable the full screen bit (that show the Rovio), then it will crash... Then it will crash a couple of times after, but I have found that as soon as you get past the Rovio screen start tapping the screen quickly in a circular fashion around the main red character... seems to work after 3/4 attempts... Quite random...
zandoli
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by zandoli »

I got it working. Got to level 7 then stopped.
Quite addicting!
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1
converted
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by converted »

OK, I have it working now too.

Observations --

I couldn't ever get it to work with adw.launcher. I wouldn't have blamed it on adw, but after a few tries I kept having to use the power button to force a reboot because adw.launcher would become unresponsive. I switched back to the default home app, and got it working on my first try.

I'm curious if any of the other folks who have gotten it working were using adw or any home screen app other than default.

This time when it worked was the first time I ever saw the Rovio screen. I was wondering what you were talking about in the posts above. Every other time it went straight to the pic with the big red bird. I don't know if this is a coincidence or not.

I got it working doing exactly what was posted a couple of posts up -- tapping all around the big red bird.

Edit: Ah heck, I'm not going to get anything done at work now. ;-)
converted
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Angry Birds Android Beta

Post by converted »

After a bit more experimentation, I can say that on my A5A, and using the default home screen, anytime I see the Rovio screen it seems to work with no tapping. If I don't see the Rovio screen, the tapping doesn't seem to help.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”