Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
Post Reply
axdavies
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Sun Prairie, WI

Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by axdavies »

Firmware changes

Version 2.0.15 - June 3rd, 2010

Display: add accelerated 3D openGL support
Fullscreen: add statusbar notification when an application is requesting fullscreen with ability to enable fullscreen for this application. Fullscreen enabling/disabling can be performed through power menu (on long power button press).
Archos media center: faster display
Thinkfree: v2.0 with full edit features
Thinkfree: can now be un-installed by user. Note that sometimes during this process an invalid shortcut might remain on the home screen. If this happens this shortcut can be removed by a long press and drag towards tray trash icon.
Display: add transparency to notification tray background

Version 1.9.10 - June 3rd, 2010

Video: fix some MJPG files not playing correctly
Audio: add support for .M4B files
Audio: improve speaker sound quality
Tethering: fix user password support and do not filter devices pretending not to be phones (e.g. Windows Mobile)
Internationalization: add Hebrew glyphs in font and corresponding virtual keyboard layout
Location: fix location manager sometimes preventing device suspend
System: better management of background applications under high memory pressure
Guren
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 11:21 am
Location: ─░stanbul, Turkey

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Guren »

Games are fast! Archos did a great job. One program crashed but i do not remember which one :D

Games are working fluent in 3d. I can't believe my eyes :D
shitepoke
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:41 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by shitepoke »

WOOT!

I am downloading now!
Archos 5IT
srawat_itpro
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:56 pm
Location: Bangalore, India

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by srawat_itpro »

Whoa I gotta go run home and test this out. Thanks for the update.

Rgds
Sandy
A5A 32 GB (GMH)
Farsquidge
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1163
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Farsquidge »

Hmmm... having a problem over here in the UAE, the firmware and 3D zip file downloads from the site are both corrupt.

Firmware gives an error on the A5A and the zip won't extract.
I am sure its a problem over here as have had this before with Etisalat.

Ho Hum, will have to be patient.. :-(
605Wi, A5IMT, A5IT, A7o 8GB:2.4.82
jeremiah_mn
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:51 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by jeremiah_mn »

What are these new 3d games they speak of?

So far it actually feels slower than it did before the update.
StevenR
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:14 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by StevenR »

I am at work without my Archos. Is it still Android 1.6 Donut?
perrin21
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Uk

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by perrin21 »

Has this affected the market hack
tiny.cc/68BQe
jeremiah_mn
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:51 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by jeremiah_mn »

market hack seems to be fine after update..


I just played wave blazer light. Previously was unplayable slow, now works great.

Were they giving us some games with this update? That's kind of what I felt like from their page description saying "New 3D games" like they were providing us with some?
Guren
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 11:21 am
Location: ─░stanbul, Turkey

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Guren »

it seems to be working and it is donut 1.6 based. i can see basic flash on websites.

yes there is 4 game demos. and they are all fast.
jeremiah_mn
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:51 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by jeremiah_mn »

Where do you get these game demos?

Apps lib doesn't seem to work through bluetooth tethering? Says network unavailable, but I can connect to anything else fine.
DJBoxer
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by DJBoxer »

jeremiah_mn wrote:Where do you get these game demos?

Apps lib doesn't seem to work through bluetooth tethering? Says network unavailable, but I can connect to anything else fine.
For the game demos just click on the link for 3D Games on the update page to get to the Zip file.

DJ
DannyDan
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by DannyDan »

Hurray! FINALLY OpenGL and Fullscreen support!!!

Danny
HW_90
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by HW_90 »

still no 2.1 though :(
jeremiah_mn
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:51 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by jeremiah_mn »

sweet, thanks DJ...
songpb
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:17 am

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by songpb »

why we are not moving to 2.x yet
oorthe
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:45 am

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by oorthe »

Now on Version 1.7.99.....do i have to install 1.9.10 first or can i go directly to 2.0.15?

ThnX.
Gabriel1964
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:56 pm

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Gabriel1964 »

Very Nice!!!!! Just installed Speed Forge 3D demo from the market. Last Time I tried it it was unplayable - now it is awesome!!!!!

And I am not a games palyer lol
Just_Gerald
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Woodstock, ON Canada

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Just_Gerald »

songpb wrote:why we are not moving to 2.x yet
Because the bang for buck just isn't there. for the few improvments that 2.x bring, the time was much better spent on the OpenGL and basic flash support. This I feel puts the Archos slightly ahead of the IPod now (just need to get more game support) the 'glitzy' 2.x stuff will improve it some more, but i think they did the right thing by focusing on the groundwork.

Of course, 2.x better come out in another month...teehee
Crlrhxphn
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Location: new york

Re: Firmware 2.0.15 released - Report Bugs Here

Post by Crlrhxphn »

I already had the games on my archos for testing so this will be a good day.
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”