Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
cneth
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by cneth »

Is there any way to defeat the scaling?

We've got an application that would love to use all 800x480 of the screen, but because the default system setup has the ro.sf.lcd_density set to 180 it causes everything to be scaled up...

I see that something in the system (Logcat says the name of the component is 'CompatibilityInfo') is deciding what scaling to apply (On top of the surface flinger scaling?)
Is there any way to tell CompatiblityInfo to scale down?

If /system were writeable I'd just fix the lcd_density, but alas, even with root, that's a no-go.
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by map002 »

Yeah, that's something only Archos can change on the stock Android build. Otherwise, the thinking seems to be, with a 190+ dpi screen, some UI elements would be hard to tap without a stylus. Sorry!

Michael
cneth
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by cneth »

Well, they added this magic permission for the screen size so I was hoping they had a similar hack that would let us defeat the scaling.

From my point of view, it's a bit unfortunate how they've gone about supporting a larger screen size, in part because they decided not to put hard buttons on the device so then they needed the giant ever present status bar affordance. It's a bit of a mess for an application developer.
map002
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 6598
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by map002 »

If I could float back in time about three years, I would sat the designers down and told them that one day, this device would have a different OS that would NEED hardware buttons and could they PLEASE find an unobtrusive way to incorporate them into their beautiful design?

I love this thing, but that's the first thing I'd change about it.

And apparently, Android 1.6 UI elements are optimized for 160 dpi, according to what I've read. Although I suspect that's changed in 2x as smaller 800x480 screens are popping up.

Now, when I originally answered your question, I was thinking you meant changing this in the OS. So to be clear, there may well be a way to change it in an app, but I don't know what that might be.

Michael
archosuser
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by archosuser »

Does the Archos 7 Home Tablet support full screen? (Current firmware for that is 1.0.15). If not, will there be a firmware update soon that will enable this?
sequitur
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:57 am

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by sequitur »

What's really annoying about this is that the Archos has no buttons. At first it seemed fine, with all the screen real estate and all. Now with full screen it seems annoying because I often opt not to go full screen because it's a hassle to back out. Also video apps like youtube get lost if you're not fast enough. So since this bothered me so much I got a Samsung Galaxy S which has no trackpad/ball and of course Swype and Swiftkey have no arrow buttons. I do notice how spacious the Archos is when I pick it up now.

Anyway for full screen apps you should recommend the Kindle solution. They have the absolute best full screen mode because a tap to the center of the screen brings up the status bar. If you want to post a snippet for Developing on Archos (Which I'm seriously thinking about getting started on) a snippet for that would be a great idea. I'm sure I can find how digging in the code, I'm just saying if you want to offer new devs something...

Eric
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by jan.jonas »

Hi,

is this feature supported on the Archos 101 tablet running Android 2.2?

Adding

Code: Select all

<permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN"></permission>
to the manifest.xml and using this simple Activity

Code: Select all

public class Fullscreen extends Activity {
    
    [...]    

    /** Called when the activity is first created. */
    @Override
    public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {

		getWindow().setFlags(WindowManager.LayoutParams.FLAG_FULLSCREEN,
				WindowManager.LayoutParams.FLAG_FULLSCREEN); 

    	super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
    	setContentView(R.layout.main);
    }

    [...]

}
did not work :(

My system:
Modell: Archos 101 Internet Tablet
Software-Version: 2.0.54 (Android 2.2.1)
Board Version: A101IT-V6
Boot Version: Unknown / 0.00.000000
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
nz
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Archos SA, France
Contact:

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by nz »

jan.jonas wrote:Hi,

is this feature supported on the Archos 101 tablet running Android 2.2?

Adding

Code: Select all

<permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN"></permission>
to the manifest.xml and using this simple Activity

Code: Select all

public class Fullscreen extends Activity {
    
    [...]    

    /** Called when the activity is first created. */
    @Override
    public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {

		getWindow().setFlags(WindowManager.LayoutParams.FLAG_FULLSCREEN,
				WindowManager.LayoutParams.FLAG_FULLSCREEN); 

    	super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
    	setContentView(R.layout.main);
    }

    [...]

}
did not work :(

My system:
Modell: Archos 101 Internet Tablet
Software-Version: 2.0.54 (Android 2.2.1)
Board Version: A101IT-V6
Boot Version: Unknown / 0.00.000000
this:

<uses-permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN" />

should work
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by jan.jonas »

Hi,

thanks for your answer.

I also tried

Code: Select all

<uses-permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN" />
but the app does not turn off the softkeys.

Here you can find my very simple hello-world-app (as Eclipse project):
http://test.janjonas.net/fullscreen.zip
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
nz
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Archos SA, France
Contact:

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by nz »

jan.jonas wrote:Hi,

thanks for your answer.

I also tried

Code: Select all

<uses-permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN" />
but the app does not turn off the softkeys.

Here you can find my very simple hello-world-app (as Eclipse project):
http://test.janjonas.net/fullscreen.zip
ok, so it seems you need to use:

<uses-permission android:name="archos.permission.FULLSCREEN.FULL" />
jan.jonas
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by jan.jonas »

Thanks, it works!
Web: http://www.janjonas.net
nz
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Archos SA, France
Contact:

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by nz »

jan.jonas wrote:Thanks, it works!
I hope I see it in appslib soon :)
cowon
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:17 pm

Re: Archos A5 IT full screen support for APKs

Post by cowon »

Several apps only take up a small fraction of the screen. Is there any way to force/stretch them to fill the screen?
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”