easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk way!

Archos Android Tablet available now 8GB ($189), 16GB ($229), 32GB ($258), 160GB ($310), 500GB ($349)
macr0t0r
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:55 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by macr0t0r »

Press and hold. Eventually your finger will "pick it up" and you can drag it to the trash on the right.
- Jim (A5 8GB)
eurokiwi
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by eurokiwi »

Thanks for the reply...

But already tried that...the power control widget is stuck behind the AMC and touching anywhere near it just opens thr AMC (even if its nowhere really near
the AMC)...I also tried recalabrating the screen)....at a loss....I either open AMC or the add icon menu....starting to rip my nighty
sweetypie
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 3016
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Sweetyland

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by sweetypie »

Press and hold the AMC, not the power control, and drag it to the trash. Move the power control widget somewhere else. Then re-instate the AMC on the home screen.
eurokiwi
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by eurokiwi »

well, 20 mins later....and the prize for the idiot goes to.....

I had to delete the AMC shortcut, then I could access the power control widget, delete it, and then reinstall the
AMC shortcut....

Learning curve...
sweetypie
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 3016
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Sweetyland

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by sweetypie »

Don't mention it...
eurokiwi
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by eurokiwi »

I will

It┬┤s great that people take time to help other newbies out

Warm fuzzies all round
slq554
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:16 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by slq554 »

Hi I'm definitely a newbie here. Can anyone tell me if market works if you update to the latest firmware?

Thanks
butterflygirl
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by butterflygirl »

slq554 wrote:Hi I'm definitely a newbie here. Can anyone tell me if market works if you update to the latest firmware?

Thanks


market works on latest firmware
calie69
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:06 am

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by calie69 »

Thank you so much i now have google market on my archos 5 it. so f**kn happy
Jellen
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by Jellen »

I'm trying to install the Market on my IT5 with latest official firmware with 3D support.

After the firmware upgrade I did a factory reset.
After reboot I start with screen calibration and continue.
I then configure my WIFI connection, I'm connected and have internet access.

I then copy the market hack to my internal storage via USB.
I install program.

Reboot

Again screen calibration, ....
Wifi is connected and I try to sign in.
But I always get error that there is no data connection available. (while I can open the browser and surf...)

GPS is enabled, sync is enabled, wifi enabled...
Tried a few new installs but it's the same thing each time.

What am I doing wrong?
Kind regards
Jellen
jschall
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Mont Saint Hilaire, Qu├®bec

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by jschall »

Jellen, you have to sign in to your Google account, THEN go back to the Market installation program and proceed to complete installation of the Google apps.
- Jeff
JeffL
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:37 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by JeffL »

I just installed the market "hack" three days ago. I've had my archos for 5 months now (I know I know I'm late on the hack party) but anyway, since doing so, my wifi seems much much more difficult to find networks and connect. I've also noticed that my bluetooth headphones get kicked off when i can establish a wifi connection. Any ideas for why this might be happening?
julz2k
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:59 am

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by julz2k »

I installed the apk on my Archos 5it, but I had the latest firmware installed (2.0.38) After rebooting, my Archos is stuck in a loop--The application setup wizard (process com.android.setupwizard) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

Any one know how I can get out of the loop? I tried the reset button, but that didn't seem to help (course, I might have been doing it wrong. Power off, hold button, power on, release button)

Help!! :x
sweetypie
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 3016
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Sweetyland

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by sweetypie »

Power off.
Press AND HOLD vol down button.
Press and release (as usual) power on button - KEEP HOLDING VOL DOWN BUTTON until white screen shows.
julz2k
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:59 am

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by julz2k »

THANK YOU, sweetypie! That worked!

And my Archos thanks you! =D>
sweetypie
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 3016
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Location: Sweetyland

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by sweetypie »

You're both very welcome :D
fragglerok
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by fragglerok »

anyone know why some apps dont show, i can see things like the sonisphere app on my phone ( an x10 running adroid 1.6) but they dont show up on the archos, even after getting the google marketplace running
jschall
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Mont Saint Hilaire, Qu├®bec

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by jschall »

I don't know why we can't find it, but luckily we don't need the Google Market to get that fabulous Sonisphere app:
http://uk.sonispherefestivals.com/infor ... le-apps-2/
- Jeff
fragglerok
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by fragglerok »

one hitch the link doesnt work, just brings up a page saying phone not supported, and the other way they suggest is to look in the marketplace
jschall
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Mont Saint Hilaire, Qu├®bec

Re: easy market install on donut 1.7.xx firmware: the apk wa

Post by jschall »

@fragglerok, the link works fine, I just used it in xScope to download, install, "purchase" and run the app, just to prove the point.

But as to your original valid point, it just doesn't show up in our version of the Google Market. Dunno why.
- Jeff
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 Internet Tablet with Android”