Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Archos Intel based Laptops
Post Reply
Archos5Fan
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1915
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm

Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Post by Archos5Fan »

Hello,

Jaffar or anyone. Is the 10's HDD upgradeable by the user (set aside warranty issues for the moment)? Say, sometime in the future I want to install a 500GB drive and Windows 7. If the drive physically fits and uses the same connector would it be possible? Or is the HDD locked out by the firmwware. I hope not.
Archos5Fan
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1915
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Post by Archos5Fan »

Jaffar, anyone at Archos?
Jaffar
Archos Staff
Archos Staff
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:15 am
Location: Archos headquarters
Contact:

Re: Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Post by Jaffar »

yes, mine has a 500 gigs and 2 gigs RAM. Go ahead
roylovelock
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Location: essex uk
Contact:

Re: Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Post by roylovelock »

as this is a computer and not a media player archos have no control over the operating system so upgrading anything like hard drives, wifi cards, ram etc wont be a issue. the only issues you may have are whats already been documented by yourself regarding warrenty. my sammy nc10 is the same, the only thing i can upgrade without ruining the warrenty is the ram all else will void it.
roy
COYI
Archos5Fan
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1915
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm

Re: Is the 10's HDD upgradable (warranty issues aside)

Post by Archos5Fan »

Thank you very much for the responses!
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 10, Archos 10S and Archos 13”