new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

60GB, 120GB, 250GB and 30GB with HSDPA
theman101
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:15 pm

new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by theman101 »

I was just looking at what photo formats the archos 5 supports, and i noticed they updated it revealing new stats and usb device support.
http://www.archos.com/products/imt/arch ... al&lang=en
Luke
Asheboy
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Asheboy »

Ohh. I hate the possible word. Nice one for noticing.
kb
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:19 am

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by kb »

It's always been possible to attach USB keyboard and mouse, etc., to the 605. All the plumbing is there at the Linux level. The problem is that the Archos software chose not to support them. I use a USB keyboard under Qtopia on my 604wifi and it works just fine.
system16
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:26 am

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by system16 »

wow, archos actually put up proper tech specs for this one. nice to know the actual speed of the processor.

128mb of ram doesnt really sound enough though. in comparison the ipod touch has 512.

i wonder if the processor is the version with open gl support. might make up for rhe lack of ram in some tasks. anyone know?
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charbax »

system16 wrote:128mb of ram doesnt really sound enough though. in comparison the ipod touch has 512.
The iPod Touch has 128mb as well.

Not sure it means much on embedded devices. I think other places there are some types of fast access memory controllers and stuff that matter more, and of course the processor, cause you don't want to multi-task too much on embedded devices, you'd rather quickly resume applications in their previous state and have as little amount of processes running at the same time. But on the other hand, each process gets full optimized processing and hardware acceleration while it's running, and the user notices no difference. Full screen applications are actually more user friendly, no need for the applications to be in windows.
theman101
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:15 pm

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by theman101 »

does anyone know why it needs two processors? would one be dedicated to a specific task?
Luke
HellFury
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by HellFury »

theman101 wrote:does anyone know why it needs two processors? would one be dedicated to a specific task?
Let me give you a few examples of multi-processing:

Play music & Browse the web (no lag in browsing)
Play a video & play the audio file of that video (so the video process can be used for higher resolution calculations)

Normally a processor would share the processing power of 1 processor, so it could calculate 1/2 of a dual core processor could handle.
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charbax »

theman101 wrote:does anyone know why it needs two processors? would one be dedicated to a specific task?
For example, when you are listening to music while you browse, the music part is taken care of by the DSP processor and the browsing part is taken care of the ARM processor.

ARM is for interfaces and for rendering websites. The DSP is for playing much more hardware intensive things but also much more specific things such as video playback, audio playback, flash video playback, video recording, video outputs and more stuff like that.
Chengbin
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Chengbin »

The processor in Archos 5 is a dual core?

I personally think 128MB of RAM on the Archos 5 isn't enough. It should be 256MB to allow more tabs and other stuff like flash. (I'm not saying that the current A 5 is not fast enough). I don't think 128MB is enough for HD decoding as well.
Gr.9 tech lover
Charles
Archos Expert
Archos Expert
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:45 am
Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charles »

I think the processor is limited to a 128MB of memory usage.

I have read that about the Q5 / P5, I think it's the same for the Archos 5.

Edit : The Archos 5 has a Cortex processor + DSP. It isn't dual-core.
theman101
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:15 pm

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by theman101 »

the iPod touch has only one processor, and of can do all that exept hd
Luke
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charbax »

theman101 wrote:the iPod touch has only one processor, and of can do all that exept hd
Nah, the ipod touch can't even play video formats at DVD resolution and full DVD quality bitrates, it can't play DivX, can't play flash video formats, it can't record and output video to TV in the same quality using component and HDMI, it can't upscale DVD resolution video to HDTV and much more that the ipod touch can't do.
Chengbin
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Chengbin »

I believe the iPod Touch's hardware is capable of decoding divx and xvid formats at DVD resolution and good bitrates (2M/s), I think Apple just don't want to.

What do you mean by full DVD quality bitrate? If you're talking about 9.8Mbps, then the Archos can't even do that (except MPEG 2). I'm not sure about the Archos 5, but my 404 can't decode XVID at 9.8Mbps. The limit is around 6.5Mbps, which is still very impressive for a small player.
Gr.9 tech lover
Crlrhxphn
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Location: new york

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Crlrhxphn »

He probably means the bitrates that it takes to make a video dvd quality and if you use divx or h.264 you can achieve dvd quality videos around 1500 bits a second without seeing a difference between the dvd and converted video. In almost all ways it can improve on the picture quality while making it 1/3 the size of the dvd. Dont forget that the 5 is 4 times as powerfull as the 404. I personally plan on getting a blu-ray drive and starting to convert from that.
Chengbin
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Chengbin »

Crlrhxphn wrote:He probably means the bitrates that it takes to make a video dvd quality and if you use divx or h.264 you can achieve dvd quality videos around 1500 bits a second without seeing a difference between the dvd and converted video. In almost all ways it can improve on the picture quality while making it 1/3 the size of the dvd. Dont forget that the 5 is 4 times as powerfull as the 404. I personally plan on getting a blu-ray drive and starting to convert from that.
It is the GPU that is doing the decoding, not the CPU.
Gr.9 tech lover
system16
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:26 am

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by system16 »

Yeah some websites say that the ipod touch has 512mb of ram while others say 128mb. Wikipedia quotes apple as having said 128 so I think it must have 128mb.
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charbax »

I have used this Fellowes Stowaway foldable full sized USB keyboard since I bought it for my PMA400 in 2004:

Image

It still works great. But I would find it useful if there was a more compact design available since then such as:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The idea is to have a foldable USB keyboard that when folded is compact enough to fit in the other pocket. My Fellowes Foldable USB Keyboard is compact enough when folded, but when folded up, it folds into a brick that is slightly larger then the Archos 5 250GB. It'd be better if there was a thinner and more compact full sized foldable USB keyboard..

I wonder if Stowaway has a USB version without that PDA stand thing of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvMQphEFaE0
Typhoeus
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:39 pm

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Typhoeus »

If you have the money, there are virtual laser keyboards.
Image
Pretty cool and definitely an eye catcher.
Charbax
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by Charbax »

Yup good idea, I made a video of the Celluon laser keyboard: http://techvideoblog.com/cebit/celluon-cl-800bt/

It actually works pretty fine, and you can use it also as a mouse pad, which is pretty cool. But your fingers can get irritated depending on the table surface you are typing on..
system16
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:26 am

Re: new specs reveal keybord/mouse support

Post by system16 »

Liking the look of some of those fold out keyboards and it would be nice if archos put support in for usb keyboards.

But with all the talk about additional keyboards, new docks, emulators and all the other add-ons, we have to remember what the archos was built for. At some point you may as well just give up and get a laptop :P
Post Reply

Return to “Archos 5 and Archos 5G (without Android)”