Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
torrentman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by torrentman »

Hello,

I know this topic has been covered a lot in the 605 and open development. I have trawled through a lot of those posts but I have not been able to find the answer to my question. I would really appreciate it if someone would be able to answer or point me to the right thread.

I have 2 archos 605 units and a spare IDE 2.5" hard drive. I recently dropped one unit and damaged the hard drive. I have the latest firmware on both units. Is there any way I can use my spare IDE hard drive to get the damaged unit up and running again?

Thanks.
Junior
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by Junior »

nope
torrentman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by torrentman »

Junior thanks for replying. At least now I won't kill myself trying to find a way.
migge
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by migge »

you can take a look at the following site.
might help, but it costs some $$
torrentman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by torrentman »

Which site migge?
migge
Archos Guru
Archos Guru
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by migge »

torrentman wrote:Which site migge?

sorry man, forgot to post the link.
there it is:

http://archosharddrives.com/


just read about that site some time ago here in the archos forum (a5 it section).
torrentman
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Archos 605 HDD Replacement (another one - sorry)

Post by torrentman »

Thanks. I was aware of this site. I believe it is run by someone who is on this forum. The prices look lower than what I recall seeing previously and very reasonable based on what actual hard drives cost.

Unfortunately it is still more than I would want to pay on something thats now 4-5 years old. I was hoping there was a way to use the extra HDD I had.

Anyway thanks for the info guys. I really appreciate it.
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”