Anyone got working sound in Angstrom on A5 IMT?

Special Developer Edition Firmwares and Hacking on Archos 5 IT, 5/7 IMT, 605/705, with Android, ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux
Post Reply
Jabberwock
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:38 pm

Anyone got working sound in Angstrom on A5 IMT?

Post by Jabberwock »

I apologize for spawning too many topics, but I hoped more people would see this if I asked the question directly.

Did anyone got sound working in Angstrom on A5 IMT outside MPlayer and Quasar? Using gstreamer in particular?

I have fought with this setup for so long that it gets really frustrating to be stumped on the most trivial Linux problem: no sound... I have installed gstreamer and most plugins I could see as related, but still nothing happens. That is:

- if I try to use OSS, it seems to work... That is when I use gst-launch audiotestsrc ! osssink no error is thrown, the correct stream is sent out, etc... The only problem is that nothing can be heard, beside an occassional "pop" of the speaker/headphone.
- Alsa reports that that it cannot found the device '' (i.e. empty string). aplay -l reports that no soundcards are present (although lsmod reports correct one). Could it be related to the fact that I don't see either /dev/snd or /dev/sound?
- Pulseaudio claims the device is blocked, as if another program is using the card. Don't know what to do with that, either.
- ESD just reports a generic error.

Please tell me that someone has managed to get around that! I am so close to what I wanted to do...

If I, by miracle, manage to get gstreamer play any sounds, there is still a question of configuring the default sink. I can install gstreamer-properties, but cannot use it, as it complains about "No D-BUS daemon running". I did not find any info how can I configure gstreamer in any other way...
Jabberwock
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Anyone got working sound in Angstrom on A5 IMT?

Post by Jabberwock »

Well, it seems it is nearly impossible to run Gstreamer on that hardware:

http://gstreamer-devel.966125.n4.nabble ... 66622.html
wewewi
Archos User
Archos User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:16 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Anyone got working sound in Angstrom on A5 IMT?

Post by wewewi »

Why do you want to listen to UPnP shared music over Angstrom so bad?

Isnt doing it on Android/Donut enough for you?
Jabberwock
Archos Novice
Archos Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Anyone got working sound in Angstrom on A5 IMT?

Post by Jabberwock »

I've got Archos 5 IMT, which does not have Android at all... And since I've got my Android phone, it is barely used. On the other hand, I need a new UPnP player in my house, so I thought I would put Archos to a good use.

Archos itself can see UPnP shares, but does not report as renderer, so it cannot be controlled from outside, and the location it should be in would make using the interface very uncomfortable (not to mention it was not very convenient from the start).

So I've spent so many hours on this that if they were paid I could buy four players :) But I don't mind, I've learned quite a bit in the process...
Post Reply

Return to “Open Development”